We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Needs TLC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #134 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Moosic
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Needs TLC”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We have stayed at the SOC for the past several years, sometimes in a timeshare and other times renting units that are privately owned. We have not had very many issues with the units we have stayed in but the resort itself needs to do something about the maintenance and upkeep. When something breaks it takes an awful long time to get fixed. We rent a unit for three months during the off season and were without wifi for three days. Also some of the equipment in the gym was in disrepair and notified the front desk on the second or third day we were there. It took over six weeks to get someone in to fix them. The elevator in the parking garage is always on the blink and hotel elevators are so so. This is an old resort that does need quite a bit of work. They have been doing work on the outside but now need to get to work on the inside.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the time it took to get the gym equipment fixed.

We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests in a timely manner and will certainly look into this maintenance issue.

We do continue to improve our resort and we hope you will return for a visit in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    228
    218
    141
    168
    195
See reviews for
398
218
26
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Texico
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at the Sands Ocean Club for a week, and enjoyed every minute of it! The views of the beach and ocean are breath taking! We walked the beach several times a day, and found so many nice shells! Our suite was clean, and had 2 balconies. Everything we needed was right there! Loved the hot tubs and heated pool too! And don't miss the Kareoke or the Spa!

Room Tip: We enjoyed South Tower!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay! We are also glad you got to enjoy the Spa, it's so nice to get a message while on vacation! Hope you come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

I LOVE the Sands Ocean Club. I have stayed in several of the units over the past few years. The best one is 1019 (but no ocean view), other nice ones are 433 and 830. I am sure there are many more. I understand that many of the units are "independently owned" and I have read the reviews below. If you don't like the unit you are in ask for another one!!! Some of the owners are very good and provide very nicely decorated condos, some of the units very tired.This is an excellent location, Ocean Annies is delightful, Sandals Bar is lots of fun, the breakfast buffet is great and good value, there is laundry on site (and even in some of the units) the staff is friendly, some of the units are truly wonderful. The resort is right on the Ocean, the pool and hot tub are right on site year round, and the fitness room is more than adequate. I agree the housekeeping is second class, but if you call the desk and advise - they will make things right. This resort can't be beat for location and amenities for the price you pay. When you make a reservation ask for an "A" grade unit!

Room Tip: Ask for an "A" grade unit. You will be pleasantly surprised!!! Best unit is 1019 (2 bedroo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MissONCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review! Yes, we agree some units are nicer than others, but that is because many of them are owned by a private owner. We are so glad you enjoy our resort and all of it's amenities. Please be sure to share with your friends as well! Thanks again and see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coshocton, Ohio
Level Contributor
147 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014

Was concerned upon seeing some bad reviews, but decided to take a chance. Bad move. First room we were given was so dirty refused to stay. Front desk did give us another room that had been updated, but after being in it for a night or two, things did not look that updated. (We stayed a week). Shower/tub unit had not been cleaned in months. Mold growing on the curtain up about three feet and climbing. Coffee spills on floor, dark, dark area in so called kitchenette. Tried to get ice and machines were turned off for winter. No luggage carts available other than when bellboy was on duty with his hand out. It has been years since we were at Myrtle.....I guess it will be years again before we go back.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RetiredOhioTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Woodstock, Connecticut
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

Without question, the dirtiest, old smelly place on earth!
Myself and 13 other golfing buddies made the trip to MB for a few days of golf and warmer weather.
The group had stayed at another one of the "Sands Resorts" and thought we would try another one of the chain.
BIG mistake-------- I guess we should have been tipped off by the stale smoke smell about a decade old!
Checked in and headed up to the room for a quick freshen up after the plane ride.
Walked in to a 1950's décor room the size of a large closet, with 2 dbl beds almost touching.
Not impressed but needing a shower headed into the bathroom where I was greeted by 2 scurrying cockroaches.
No shower for me! Called the desk and they said they would send housekeeping up to re-clean the room. Not even an apology!!
The rest of the stay was the same, SOOOOO my suggestion is don't waste your vacation time here. There are PLENTY of great high quality places to stay in MB at great prices.

Room Tip: Rooms are dirty--------stay away
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Digital Marketing Director at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback. We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. We hope that the front desk was able to rectify your issues before you left. We would be happy to welcome you back at our other properties the next time you would like to come play golf! Thank you again for expressing your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#21 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,382 reviews
6.4 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#139 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
683 reviews
9.3 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#71 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
197 reviews
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#27 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,796 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#77 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing