We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Beautiful View and Great Beach Area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sands Ocean Club Resort
Ranked #130 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Upstate, NY
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful View and Great Beach Area”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed at the Sands Ocean Club Resort 4/12/14 - 4/19/14 with my 3 Teenage Daughters and a Girlfriend and her teenage daughter for a total party of 6. We had Condo 627 which had a BEAUTIFUL view of the Ocean. Here are some good and bad points:

Good: Beautiful Beach, Outdoor Pool is nice, Loved when the bands played at Ocean Annie's right next to the Pool (great music for hours) and they had a little area where the kids could buy ice cream, hamburgers, ect. The location was very good as well as the drive to Broadway at the Beach was about 10 minutes.

Bad: On either side of the Resort there is public parking for Beach Access. This is bad as there were MANY people using the indoor pools that were not guest of the Resort. We know this as we had 4 teenage girls down chatting with people in the pool and again and again they were told by people in the pool that they had just walked in off of the beach to use the pool as it was chilly during the timeframe we were visiting. That is SCARY!! We kept a close eye on the kids because of this. Also, the indoor pool is filled with Ocean water, so it is always cloudy looking. The hallways, hallway carpeting and elevators are in need of some refurbishing.

I don't think I would stay here again only, but there were some Resorts close by that I will be looking into for next year as I did love the beach and the location of this Resort.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1Travelgirl08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for spending your vacation with us at Sands and thank you for the honest review

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you return to one of our Resorts very soon.

Yes, Ocean Annie's and River City Cafe are public venues and people who are not guests are welcome there.

May we suggest our Sand Dunes Resort and Spa on your next visit. It is located a few miles south. Very family friendly, Water Park on site, restaurants including a River City Cafe, Arcade, Spa and more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    224
    215
    137
    164
    187
See reviews for
386
212
25
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clemmons, North Carolina
Level Contributor
61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

Attended this hotel on a golf outing. Built in the late 1960's (I estimate), the best friend for this property is the ball of a wrecking ball.

Front Desk Staff - - surly, not rude but certainly not happy to see me and my $850.
Décor - Welcome to a time warp. Oh, they added ceramic to the lobby floor, but the dated nature and lack of cleanliness outweighs the improvement.
Rooms. NO service in the room - other than clean towels for FIVE days! Pathetic. Dingy, maintenance items galore, simply not maintained. Ours was a non smoking room - NOT. What a downer to have to walk in to that room each evening and smell the smoke.
Hallways - a disaster. Dirty filthy carpet, all white, scuffed up doors and walls, badly in need of paint and refinishing.
Already checked, you can get a much better room and hotel and golf package from Caribbean and many other resorts in Myrtle Beach.
River City Restaurant. Having a grill on site is great. BUT - the place is filthy, service is terrible. Spent the first 15 minutes listening to three employees talking about missing money from the till. As if it's any of the customers' business.! Likely this is a leased deal - owners of the building could do a lot better by getting rid of this lessee and finding a real operator for this captive customer base!

Room Tip: Go to a different hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for taking your time to give us feedback.

We are very sorry you did not enjoy your stay at our resort. We hope that the front desk was able to rectify your issues before you left.

We would be happy to welcome you back at our other properties the next time you would like to come play golf! Thank you again for expressing your issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Va
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

We just stayed a week on the 10th floor, updated room, great view. Could use new carpet, and updated furniture and linens, other than that rooms were clean, maid service came every day. Food in Windows Restaurant and River Cafe was very good! Awesome Burgers! We enjoyed the music and the time we stayed here! Band was great. Great song list and played to the crowd. Impressed with the fact that many of the staff here has been around for many years. They were friendly and helpful. We were apprehensive after reading some of these reviews but glad we took a chance. Some of the rooms could use a face lift though.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1spw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Thank you for your review.

We are happy to hear you enjoyed your vacation with us overall.

We appreciate your feedback and suggestions as we are always striving to improve our operations.

Please come again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rising Fawn, Georgia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

Old building that is poorly maintained and dirty. Our first room smelled bad, carpet was torn, black spots on the bed and our feet stuck to the tile floor. Terrible room. We were moved to another room that was better, but nothing special. Housekeeping is terrible and the employees are cell phone zombies. They walk around starring at their phones and hide in out of sight places to text, etc. Maid service was sporadic at best. One day no towels, one day no coffee and you were lucky to get a bar of soap or the terrible shampoo. One maid did not wash our coffee cups, just put them back on the shelf.

Room Tip: The Executive Tower is better, but not much.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dawg099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the hotel interior was not up to your standards. We also apologize for the housekeeping issues and the rudeness of employees on cell phones.

We strive at Sands to accommodate our guests and will certainly look into these issues.

We do continue to improve our resort and we hope you will return for a visit in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

Only live club on the beach, great golf packages, clean, some of the best burgers at the beach on premises, free afternoon hor'deuvres in a different bar.
Could use an update, but the price is right. Np doubt, we will return.

Room Tip: Great view from the sixteenth floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank wildbillnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for spending your vacation with us at Sands and thank you for the honest review

We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and we do hope you return to one of our Resorts very soon.

We will continue to update our property as it is an ongoing process.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, Rhode Island, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

In a short review: Very disapointed! They overbooked so we got a much smaller suite. The next day we finally got the one we booked, which had been booked many months before. The new room came with pass keys that didn't work, this had to be remedied several times that week, including a morning of waiting for them to install new locks. THEN, we discovered roaches! They sprayed twice to no avail. I would never stay there again! Sorry, but it was my only vacation and it was just one thing after another.

Room Tip: Don't book there at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Suzy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
We thank you for your review.

First may we apologize for the room switch on your first day. Glad this was resolved along with the room key issue.

We are so sorry you had a problem with insects. Will you please email us your room # so we can look into this and have it remedied.

We do hope you give Sands Resorts another chance. We strive to make each of our guests happy and want to provide an enjoyable vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Oceanfront room with a private balcony perfect for beach lovers. The room was a little dated but the restaurant was clean and had good food. Overall great experience and I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VickiinOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sands R, Sands Digital Marketing at Sands Ocean Club Resort, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Thank you for choosing Sands Resorts and we thank you for your review

We are pleased your enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you return in the very near future

You are right about the balcony, NOTHING like an ocean view.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#26 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,334 reviews
3.2 mi away
Cabana Shores Hotel
Cabana Shores Hotel
#73 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.2 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#18 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,050 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#25 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,727 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sands Beach Club Resort
Sands Beach Club Resort
#108 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
2.0 mi away
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
Sand Dunes Resort & Spa
#148 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sands Ocean Club Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sands Ocean Club Resort

Property: Sands Ocean Club Resort
Address: 9550 Shore Dr, Myrtle Beach, SC 29572-5132
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#76 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sands Ocean Club Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 450
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 1, 2, and 3 Bedroom Condos with all the amenities, including spectacular ocean views from your private balcony and a spacious beachfront deck with indoor and outdoor pools, a lazy river and hot tubs, Sands Ocean Resort has everything you need for a great vacation experience without leaving the property. We are also home of the famous Ocean Annie's Beach Bar located on our oceanfront pool deck. For guests looking to explore Myrtle Beach's popular attractions, restaurants and shopping, or tee it up for a round of championship golf, Sands Ocean Club is only a short distance away from it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sands Ocean Club Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sands Ocean Club Hotel Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Club Resort Myrtle Beach
Sands Ocean Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing