We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience”
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Martinsville, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Island Vista for the few time a couple of weeks ago, and it was a great experience. From the time we checked in until we left five days later, we had no complaints. There was some cable tv problems, but that was Time Warner, not the hotel. Everyone was friendly from housekeeping to maintenance to the front desk to the Crypress Room which had wonderful food. We only ate breakfast there, but the food and atmosphere were terrific. The ocean view made it just an enjoyable experience for breakfast. I told one of the maintenance people on the elevator how everything was well maintained in the hotel. The suite was very clean, and everything worked. We will definitely be staying at the Island Vista our next trip. We have been going to the beach for years, and this is by far the best place we have ever stayed. We are "picky" travelers, and we had no issues at all.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank revdtr316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,323 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    890
    273
    91
    49
    20
See reviews for
659
386
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

Our friends shared a 4 bedroom corner suite with 4 baths, full kitchen, dining room and living room and balcony view of the ocean.
We love October visits when it is less crowded. We were able to lounge in the morning and afternoon using the pools, lazy river and hot tubs then in the evening we enjoyed shows, shopping or dining.
The staff was extremely helpful and polite. We will be back for third, fourth and more times.

Room Tip: ocean view is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lorraine S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina, United States
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

The Island Vista is a beautiful hotel in a beautiful area that is convenient to everything. Our King Deluxe room was lovely and luxurious. We had great experiences in the bar and restaurant. We were celebrating my birthday and it was a lovely place to stay for that.

Only one thing put a damper on our stay. There were serious issues with our TV cable service throughout most of our stay. I understand that cable problems arise and that's not what was upsetting. The upsetting part was that we were lied to repeatedly about the situation by hotel staff. When we first reported the problem, we were told that the problem was city-wide (it was not). When I called again the next day, I was told there was nothing that could be done (there was). When I asked the front desk person if there was anyone else I could talk to about the problem, his response was ,"You can call Time-Warner". My husband got on the phone and finally they sent up a couple of (really nice) guys who unhooked our cable boxes and fixed the problem. It turns out that we could have had that done in the beginning, but no one suggested it. As I said, I understand that problems happen; it was the lying and run-around that upset us.

Although we had this one unpleasant experience, I'm sure we will stay at the hotel again.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your review. We are very happy to hear that you enjoyed our resort and the Cypress Room in general. That issue with Time Warner does need an answer, though. Time Warner was working in our area during your stay, and we were told that the work would take place primarily at night… it is my understanding that they were working on some sort of installation that has to do with their eventual conversion to 100% digital signal, and we did have many guests who experienced the same frustration. It also affected the local neighborhood, but I understand that it was our local area and not actually city-wide. I can tell you that it was a surprise to us, too, in that we were not informed in advance of the procedure, nor were we informed when the process had been completed. It would have been much better to have been able to inform our guests in advance.

In seeking solutions to the maintenance requests we received during those dates, we found that the cable could be disconnected from the digital converter, and plugged directly into the television, bypassing the problem. While the signal is not quite as sharp as a digital picture and a few of their channels are now only available via the digital converter, the rest are still there and functioned without interruption. I agree that this could have been done earlier, but I don’t think our staff realized at the time that this would bypass the problem or knew to suggest it. We’ve had trouble with the digital converter boxes for some time, but during those particular dates when they were working, I don’t think even our maintenance staff knew (at first) that the direct connection would work in that case. I believe that Time Warner has some work to do before they arrive at the right combination in that digital conversion, but in the meantime, we sincerely apologize for the inconvenience that you experienced.

Thank you again for choosing the Island Vista… we look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sevierville, Tennessee
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 October 2013

only spent two nights here but other than spotty tv service everything was perfect. We stayed in a corner suite and had a breathtaking view of the ocean,outstanding to wake up too. good location central to all

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srfoster_lpn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Although we were upgraded in room size, we got a blocked view of the beach. Yes, we could look straight ahead or left to see the ocean, but looking to the right we only saw a concrete tower. The kitchen faucet dripped and certainly was one of the cheapest fixtures one could purchase. The owner also chose a cheap shower head in the master bath. I needed a medical reference and called the front desk only to get no help at all. They said they would check the Internet and call me back. Never did. If you prefer to move your own luggage you will have to do it without the aid of a cart. The carts are only available to hotel employees who naturally charge to move your luggage. The only staff that was friendly were the housekeepers. Overall, it was disappointing to say the least. We have been going to Myrtle Beach for over 20 years and this was the worst stay we ever encountered.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saleswoman990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Thank you for your review. Recently in October, a guest was upgraded to our oceanfront 2-bedroom grand king suite, and although this room on the end of the building does have a partial block of the view to the south, it has such a spectacular view looking out and to the north that we usually receive no complaints. This suite is over 1200 square feet, and features a 172 square foot ocean-facing balcony, seating for 10 at the dining table, polished granite countertops, full size washer & dryers… the oceanfront king master bedroom overlooks the ocean with both picture window and glass sliding doors that access the balcony directly from the bedroom, and the bathroom features granite fixtures, corner glass shower, and a Jacuzzi garden tub. This is one of our most sought after suites. We do respond to maintenance requests immediately, but my search of that file did not reveal a request for a leaking kitchen faucet… we keep those on file to be sure of who responded, how quickly they responded, and to be sure that the issue was resolved, whatever it might have been. If a guest has any sort if issue, we encourage them to let us know… our goal is always to respond immediately.

A medical reference is a serious request, and our staff always asks if an ambulance is necessary and always immediately gives directions to our local hospital, which is just minutes away. We do try to help with every guest’s request, even one as sensitive as a medical referral. Our staff is sometimes very busy at the front desk, but can always find a way to help… in this case we apologize that they didn’t get back to you right away. Without a need for emergency assistance, we cannot be of much more service than to recommend the local pharmacies and “doctor’s care” satellite offices.

Our bell service is provided by the Island Vista for the comfort and convenience of our guests. Our bellman is happy to assist anyone who requests his help, and he does not charge our guests for this help. Often, he might receive a gratuity for the quick friendly service he provides, but it is in no way a requirement. Guest service is our top priority at the Island Vista.

Thank you for mentioning our housekeeping staff… it is always nice to share positive comments with those who work so hard to keep our standards high. Thank you again for choosing the Island Vista, and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Best place I've ever stayed! A++++++ service. My favorite is Sam in the Cyprus Room. He's awesome!!! The rooms are absolutely huge! I had a 2 bedroom 3 bathroom with hot tub for the price of a plan room in Tennessee

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pugsrule354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kentucky
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on a family vacation earlier this month. The room was spacious and clean, and we were happy to have the washer/dryer combo. I liked the layout of the room, with the balcony giving a great view from the living area.

The pools are great; I loved the lazy river, which has waterfalls and nice lighting. And the beach seems almost private, because there aren't many high rises in the area.

We didn't eat at the Cypress Room. Honestly, it seemed a little over priced and we just weren't feeling it this trip.

The only problem with this hotel is the parking garage. I know garages are needed in the area, but the spaces are itty bitty. It requires skill and a small car. I can't imagine parking an SUV in there. Yikes.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BabeinWoods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,152 reviews
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,142 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#29 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,866 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Property: Island Vista
Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing