We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location!”
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #7 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location!”
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

The location of this hotel was great. While larger hotel, had a homey feel. All customer service folk where very friendly and helpful. Big shout out to Gail! Room was spacious, would definitely advise getting oceanfront - worth it. The TV did not offer HBO, but something better. Guests can check out very new releases unlimited from the lobby- wished more hotels thought of that! Did go to breakfast one morning and the food was pretty good; had the sweet potato pancakes. The only two slights are the garage is tight entering and exiting and the exterior hotel walls looked like it could use some freshening up. Overall I would recommend staying and will add this to my selected locations when I'm in the area again.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank Valeria J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marc A, Manager at Island Vista, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you so much for your review and for your kind comments. Gail was happy to see her name mentioned and says “hello” to you! Our new free DVD rentals (and the free admissions to area attractions) have been especially popular additions to our amenities list, and thanks for saying so. I do want to mention that the power-wash of the entire exterior is in the works, but the weather just hasn’t cooperated yet this winter… it’s a major undertaking with the scaffolding descending from the roof, but that will be underway soon with better weather. We do recommend driving slowly with the headlights on in our parking decks for safety, but the good news is that they are integral parts of the building with direct access to the hallways and elevators rather than having to cross the street.

Thank you again for choosing the Island Vista as your host in Myrtle Beach. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    871
    268
    88
    47
    20
See reviews for
641
379
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (313)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Summerville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

My husband and I loved everything about this place! The parking garage is nice with an entrance to the main building on every floor. The property truly is ocean front and beautifully maintained. Our room was gorgeous! Fresh white bed linens, tastefully tropical drapes, a leaf motif ceiling fan and what looked like granite countertops. We loved the oversized chair with ottoman for evening snuggling. The shower had good water pressure too. The balcony was a nice size and had 2 chairs and a small side table. The room smelled fresh and looked very clean. The bed was comfy and linens felt like high quality. We stayed February 8th and liked it so much we're coming back this weekend, February 22! They have a really cool indoor pool that has stonework around it, like a cove! It has a lazy river in it and a basketball hoop, also has some water features that pour down from above. We'll definitely be trying that area out with our son this time! The resort is close to most of the main attractions in the area. I think most were within 15 minutes drive. We enjoyed medieval times, the carolina comedy club (adults only) and the fudruckers over there has THE BEST burgers and service! This time we'll hit the helicopter tour and ripleys aquarium! This beach area is still fun and lively even during winter months! Overall VERY satisfied.

Room Tip: We got the king bed room, but this time will stay in a double queen suite with our son. The pricing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank StaceyL83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eden, North Carolina
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We had a after Christmas vacation there, My wife and I, our two children, and all seven grandchildren ages from 2-14. We stayed in a three bedroom corner unit. Everything was excellent from front desk, maid service, clean, quiet design. Beds was very comfortable, kitchen was very spacious, easy access and excellent location. The only down side was parking spaces very tight to maneuver, and indoor swimming pools was a little cool, would have been nicer if 5 - 10 degrees warmer.
It was a little on the pricey side but worth it and if I can afford to will stay there again. Would absolutely recommend it if is within your budget.

Room Tip: The corner unit was at the end of the hall, the elevators in center of building. So it was a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harold g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We found the accommodations to be very clean, comfortable and convenient. The covered hallways to the condos were very convenient and we did not have to stand outside to gain access to our condo. The unit was clean when we arrived and very pleasant for our month long visit. Management and staff were courteous and helpful. The restaurant provided great food at reasonable prices. Will return again to this property.

Room Tip: Oceanfront rooms are the most attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilkesboro, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

This was our first visit to The Island Vista and it was one of the best hotel/condos we have stayed in visiting Myrtle Beach. For the past 15 years, we come annually to celebrate our anniversary and my husband's birthday. From the moment we entered the front desk the staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Our oceanfront condo was fabulous! Everything was extremely clean and spacious. The large balcony gives you a lot of room to enjoy the beautiful view of the beach and relaxing sounds of the ocean. The balcony can even be entered through the private master bedroom as well as the living area. Beds and pillows are extremely comfortable, a big plus! Very large master bathroom with more than enough counter space for your toiletries. Be sure to take advantage of The Cypress Room restaurant for breakfast. Chef prepared meals upscale their menu. However, prices are VERY reasonable! Their sweet potato pancakes are absolutely scrumptious as well as the banana nut. A generous portion of delicious fresh fruit is offered with their meals. You could not ask for a more attentive and courteous wait staff. And the picturesque ocean view while dining is breathtaking. Personally, I believe this is the best dining view in all of Myrtle Beach. Dinner is also served in the same gorgeous setting; however, we were not aware of the early closing hours until we went down one evening for dinner, disappointed, but another reason to return. Be sure to call ahead to see how late they are open. The beautiful architectural design of the indoor pool area is exquisite; coupled with outdoor pools; it is a wonderful summer haven for the entire family. Because of the location, price and amenities for everyone, I highly recommend The Island Vista.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank 5354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Can't say enough about this great place! Brought my girl friend here for her birthday and they made me look like a Rock Star by upgrading me to a 3 bedroom suite! Didn't use the the extra rooms but talk about the WOW Factor! I'm sure that upgrade will pay dividends as it planted a seed to bring the kids next trip! BTW the off season rates we AWSOME!!! Island Vista you ROCK!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank markf122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Easley, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

This was an excellent place to stay. All the staff was so helpful and the area is so nice and quite. We are an older couple who liked to stroll on the beach and sit out on the grounds which made it so enjoyable. The rooms were clean and the rooms made our stay feel like home. Truly an
exceptional condo to enjoy your vacation. Looking forward to our next visit.

Pat Bishop
Easley, South Carolina

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patti B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,667 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#19 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,062 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
1.7 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
4.0 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Property: Island Vista
Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing