We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“no need to leave the hotel, its all here.”
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #7 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 21 October 2009

I love the fact that you do not need to leave the hotel except to step onto the beach.Exceptional resturant, food and staff, its so nice to see the same staff every year.
Although it seems like a large hotel, its actually quite cosy, not crowded, lots of space for everyone. The swimming pools are really clean with no chemical smell. The beach is beautiful and quiet due to the fact it is surrounded by houses. Rooms and condos are really nice, comfortable and spotlessly clean. You can watch the sunrise from your bed.
I'm really looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fedra11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,374)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,131 - 1,137 of 1,374 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2009

This was one of the most rewarding and pleasant trips I have ever experianced, The Personal at the Island Vista were the most professional and pleasent that I have ever encountered, From the making of the initial plans for room to the pleasnt smiling greetings each and every time you can in contact with them was just a delight.
Ms Shelia Shurer did an amazing job putting together the accommodations, meals etc for the entire group.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank signalplatoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2009

Great stay after a mix up with our rooms! Great restaurant and ocean view was wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LovinVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2009

We stayed at the Island Vista in the beginning of October and it was the PERFECT time of year. The weather was amazing and there was no one there. The Island Vista was very nice, much nicer then other places we have stayed on the Grand Strand. It was clean and well updated, it didn't have that musty beach smell. We had a three bedroom condo and it was very spacious each bedroom had its own bath and the view from the balcony was beautiful. The property we very quiet, but I can see how the pool area would get a bit crowded during the high season. The Cypress room was great for breakfast, as for dinner, go so place else, there is very little in the way of atmosphere considering how much you're paying for the experience. The staff was very friendly, the housekeepers were thorough and there was never any sand in our room. The parking garage is tight, but big deal. My mother in law and I got massages from the in house service. Dusty was the name of the woman they sent and she was wonderful!

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerracj7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

Pros: Our room was spacious and clean. Hotel lobby and elevators were clean. Front desk staff was friendly. The food at the Cypress Room restaurant is very good. The hotel is located on a quiet stretch of the beach.

Cons: Much care is need maneuvering around the parking garage. If you like a firm bed, you might be a little uncomfortable sleeping.

  • Stayed: September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MelbaQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2009

The rooms are spacious and clean with a nice balcony view. Found the lobby area to be uninviting. Parking was never a problem. The beach area is nice, however the one thing that would keep us from coming back is the rude and unattentive lifeguard. There are apparently many beach rules, that are not known to an out of town traveler. The lifeguard was very rude in making us aware of these rules. She also was unattentive to those in the water, spending much more time walking among the umbrella and chairs that were set up. We watched her on numerous occassions for minutes just standing arround talking instead of monitoring the swimmers. It also seemed as though she enforced some rules inconsistantly.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank polyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2009

We were very pleased with the comfort and size of our room. The bathroom was very satisfactory also.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wjmck51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#5 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
2.6 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
3.1 mi away
Ocean 22 by Hilton Grand Vacations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £84 - £337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing