We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a Home Away from Home”
Review of Island Vista

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Island Vista
Ranked #7 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rocky Mount, VA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like a Home Away from Home”
Reviewed 13 April 2010

We just returned from our stay at Island Vista Resort during spring break 2010. We have been staying there every year for the last 5 years and again, we were not disappointed. The staff is friendly and very helpful. The rooms are LARGE and very clean. The resturant food is delicious and well prepared. It is very convenient to everywhere we wanted to go at the beach. They have both indoor and outdoor pools, and are right on the beach. We took our grandaughter, and they have daily supervised activities for her. Overall experience was excellent, just as it has always been.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank davidsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    886
    273
    90
    48
    20
See reviews for
656
384
14
30
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (318)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wisconsin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 April 2010

The Island Vista is a wonderful place for families! The staff was very friendly.
The rooms were spacious and comfortable . We loved the tanning lawn as well as the access to the Beach. The grounds were well kept. We would definetely go back again!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Contenttravelers4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2010

We happened upon this place. My husband made an error when planning our vacation and we had to find a place to stay for one night.

There were a few negatives: (1) There was confusion when we pulled up before check-in. This was likely due to the fact that several other people were unloading their cars at the same time. (2) My husband also said the roof of the parking garage is a little low. We have a Subaru station wagon, and he hit the luggage rack on top of the car while driving in the parking garage. (3) The front desk ran out of towels for the pool. We were told it would be five minutes, and another guest told us they'd been out of towels for quite some time. She suggested using towels from our room.

Aside from things, our stay was wonderful. The hotel is right on the beach with a beautiful view. We saw dolphins when we were eating breakfast. The staff were pleasant and friendly. Our room was spacious. Our kids had a big room and their own bathroom, while my husband and I had a large room with our own bathroom (great when you have two kids). The pools were clean and we walked on the beach at night. My daughter and I swam in one of the outdoor pools, which was heated and then went into the hot tub. The staff were pleasant at both dinner and breakfast. I wish we'd been able to stay longer and we'll definitely return here. We'll also recommend it to others.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank njlibrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
asheville, nc
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

This hotel is lovely! Great service! The parking garage is a little tight and very little handicapped parking spaces.
We will be going back for sure!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NC
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2010

We had a wonderful week. The room decoration makes you feel like you are in your own apartment. The service was great. The pool area the best. The view the best. Everything was great. We are making plans to go again...

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goodsaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, NC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

First time to Myrtle Beach so took some getting used to. Island Vista is not a resort, but not just your average condo, self-appointed rental.

If you look closely, the building is a 1960's / 70's architecture that has been updated to modern standards. The rooms are beautifully furnished, great kitchens and are clean, smokefree and pleasant. The only giveaway are the small, curtained windows that in the past looked out to the open air balconies but now look to the enclosed air conditioned hallways.

As far as amenities, there's a restaurant onsite (didn't eat there), a pool bar and a very good, albeit small, pool complex was fantastic for the kids. Great beach & access makes it perfect for a spring, summer, early fall get-away.

Also, remeber that its a condo building not a hotel. The front desk was a little disorganized at check in and was swamped the day we were there with the number of rentals checking in with them.

Overall the condo was a good value (easter weekend = $195 / night with AAA for a two bedroom). If I had spent $150 per night I would have walked away with a better feeling about our vacation. Will likely go back there or similar properties.

Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank igolfchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burdy233
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2010

Had a very quiet, calm vacation. Clean, very nice staff, offered to help us beyond expectation. Very nice 2 bedroom ocean front, lots of room, clean. Offered us a bell hop to carry our luggage, many towels available for pool area. Booked another vacation for September before we left. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank burdy233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.4 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,707 reviews
5.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
0.8 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Caribbean Resort And Villas
Caribbean Resort And Villas
#25 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,097 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dayton House Resort
Dayton House Resort
#28 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,826 reviews
2.7 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Island Vista? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Island Vista

Property: Island Vista
Address: 6000 North Ocean Blvd., Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-2361 (Formerly Sea Island Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#10 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#11 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Island Vista 3.5*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Reopened in May 2006, Island Vista features brand new luxury 1,2,3 and 4-bedroom suites set in a quiet residential neighborhood. These new facilities compliment the long established traditions of Island Vista - from a warm reception by our familiar friendly staff to a relaxed, unhurried atmosphere. Featuring award-wining dining in the oceanfront Cypress Room, indoor/outdoor water amenities, exercise rooom, oceanfront pool bar and grill (seasonally). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Island Vista reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Island Vista Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing