We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After Tax Season Break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort
Ranked #173 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Our stay at Sea Mist was great, the view from the balcony and the sound of the sea was so nice. The bed and breakfast package was great, food was good and the folks in the restrauant were so nice. I look forward to coming back later in the year.
Please heat up the whirlpool. It could be hotter.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a beach view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bettyboopanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,448)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,348 - 1,354 of 2,448 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were on the 7th floor overlooking the waterpark and it was a nice view of the waterpark below, the city streets and even some views of the ocean. If we were on a lower floor we probably wouldn't have been able to see the ocean. The waterpark below charges $3 to play which was a turnoff to us since we were already paying for a room. However, it was too windy to play down there anyway. The children enjoyed the Castle Playground the most. We did walk the block and a half to the beach one day but again, too windy to stay on the beach. One day we went to the indoor heated pool over at the Driftwood (we were staying in The Palms - both are Sea Mist buildings) and it was popular with a lot of people obviously. The children had a good time there. They even had a toddler pool where my 3 yr old could stand in it and it was only up to her hips, if that.

Our room on the 7th floor had two double beds in one room and a Murphy bed in the living room behind the sofa and one bathroom. It would have been nice to have Queen beds or even King sizes, and another bathroom, but for our family of 6 it was adequate as it was. It's very "economical" with plastic glassware and Corelle plates but the kitchen was fully stocked with necessities. No dishwasher. And while I certainly don't mind washing our dishes, a dishwasher in today's age would be nice. I'm still not sure what I think about requiring your tenants to wash their dishes because "it is not part of housekeepings' duties". I always have the image of the man on "Hotel Impossible" spit-washing his dishes...his reasoning as to why a hotel should NEVER tell their tenants to wash their own dishes. But again, I don't mind washing my own dishes. And no, I didn't spit-shine them. ;)

Overall, a nice place to stay for the family. I would consider staying there again, but considering all the other attractive and myriad choices of hotels/resorts all along that strip of Myrtle Beach, I would probably check out another hotel for more amenities/less "economy" atmosphere.

A good choice to stay, though, if you are considering it. We stayed in 62703 in the Palm Building if you want to request that room. And we stayed May 1-4. We originally planned to stay 2 nights/3 days, but added on another night the 2nd day just because it was a good rate and we wanted to see more of Myrtle Beach. :)

Also, we didn't use Room Service our entire stay, but each morning in front of our "do not disturb" sign, a bag of clean towels, tissue, and toiletries were on our door handle. That was a nice surprise to us and appreciated.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor room. The lower ones are more "pet-friendly".
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karla C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

I found the mangers special family package was the best deal for us. We were able to goto the waterpark located at the Sea Mist. It had a 3 story playground on premises an arcade and putt putt. The putt putt course is not the biggest, but it's something to do while at the beach with the kids and included in the family package. They also include family kingdom tickets for each night you are there which was worth the money. I thought the waterpark at the Sea Mist closed a little early for the end of April, I think the should have stayed open at least until 7:30 or something not close at 4:30. The elevators were a little slow and it seemed as if things might have been a little dated, but overall it was clean, the staff was nice and not far from the beach. I think the breakfast at the Tena's was dissappointing, it could have had a little more variety. We went for the beach so it was good from that aspect, if you are looking for nightlife it is definitely more for families than anything else. Overall good experience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 05traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013 via mobile

When we first got here everything was so confusing there are no signs to direct anything really. Office on one side parking deck in one building we were in another. Ocean front room was great until we noticed many things. The toilet back had urine all over it. The door to the patio was broken & VERY hard to close. It got chilly at night so we tried to turn the heater on and it smelt of burning rotting mess. The fridge was dirty hand prints all over. The shower also clogged which was gross. Nothing is complementary here so expect to be charged for everything. Paint chipping off of everything! Don't even get me started on the elevators that smell of last years rotting throw up. We spent 180 for 2 nights what a mess. We will never be back. Staff however we have no complaints about very friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kayris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

Stayed here for $63 night internet special. Room had kitchen with everything you need. Local stores..even walmart...just bring your family...pets were welcome..awesome stay..can't wait to go back. Local eater's were great..Lots of stuff for the kids as well as the adults. Para sailing was a total blast..right on the beach. You can't ask for any more.

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank everlastinggifts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We have been here before, we have enjoyed ourselves immensely then as well as now and will return in the future. Recent upgrades have been noted and contributed to our enjoyment of the property, especially the addition of the steam room and the Finnish sauna to the spa. Bedding and pillow upgrades contributed to a very restful sleep. Security around the premises was excellent and all the staff we interacted with were couteous, attentive and professional.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Tides and Driftwood buildings are the most recently renovated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daidz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We checked in on Wednesday night (5/1/13). After a long 13 hour drive from Pennsylvania we wanted to just fall asleep. Check in was a cinch. The lady at the desk was very nice. This was our first time staying @ The Sea Mist Resort. I was disappointed in the bed, location of our room, the towels, how low the shower head was & the convenience store. The bed was way too bouncy & felt springy. The sheets & blankets did not fit the bed. We had a king, the top cover was big enough but the middle blanket was a Full. There was 3 pillows on the bed, I would have expected 4. The location of our room was @ the very end where the maids would be, gathering their carts & cackling away with each other. The towels were small & most had permanent stains. The shower head was very low. My husband is 5'11 & I'm 5'6. It was even a little too low for me. The convenience store charges $4+ for a half gallon of orange juice & it tasted horrible. Had to dump it out. The staff was very nice, the price of the room was reasonable for May. The Tena's breakfast that we looked very forward to was not what we expected. If I were to come back, I would probably book a room with hard wood floors, more pillows, blankets that fit & not a room by the "trash", "linens" or ice machine.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristin2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
2.2 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
709 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Reef Myrtle Beach
The Reef Myrtle Beach
#164 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
3 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort

Address: 1200 South Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4540
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Top resorts Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £35 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 823
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
15 acres with 19 buildings and 800 units ranging from regular hotel rooms, to suites, cottages, penthouse, and apartments. Conveniently located at 1200 South Ocean Boulevard in Myrtle Beach close to all the local attractions, amusements, shopping outlets, and favorite restaurants. Specializes in family vacations, championship golf packages, Myrtle Beach adventures, and group travel. Has the largest selection of resort amenities in Myrtle Beach including the largest on-site water park with a 370 foot long, 7 foot wide lazy river, and a 3,000 square foot oceanfront children's activity pool. Multiple restaurants, tavern, arcade, underground walkway under Ocean Boulevard, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Mist Oceanfront Hotel
Sea Mist Myrtle Beach Sc
Sea Mist Resort Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach Sea Mist Resort
Sea Mist Motel Myrtle Beach
Hotel Sea Mist Oceanfront
Myrtle Beach Oceanfront Resort
Sea Mist Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach
Sea Mist Resort Sc
Sea Mist Hotel Myrtle Beach South Carolina

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing