We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyable Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 July 2012

This is a really nice resort for families and just peace and quiet. The atmosphere is very relaxing and the rooms we stayed in (Live Oak) was remodeled. It is very affordable for the value of the resort.

Please be aware that this resort is at the southernmost part of Myrtle Beach and you will need to drive to Broadway at the Beach and Market Commons. Also, my husband and I were disappointed that there was no jacuzzis but keep that in mind. For younger couples this may not be your first choice but I highly recommend that you families should go to this resort.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Merc S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

It was great to see that you enjoyed the peace and quiet that our resort offers on the south end of Myrtle Beach. Sorry that we didn’t have a Jacuzzi for you but hopefully you found the heated pools OK! Thank you very much for taking time to share your comments. We hope to see you again when you return to the beach!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,200 - 2,206 of 2,778 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2012

Great location! It's located a bit outside the croudy city centre on a beautiful and clean white beach. Quiet and clean, but only a five minutes drive to the boarwalk in the city centre, 2 minutes drive to a couple of huge supermarkets and 15-20 minutes drive to the nearest outlet.

The rooms are big and are equipped with a tv, a little table with chairs, a big safe, a refridgerator and a coffeemaker. I think there was a microwave oven there as well.

There are several swimming pools there, but some of them are located inside. The pools are in my opinion unnecessary, considering the beautful and clean ocean side by side with the pools.

For those of you who are interested in fishing, there's a pier out in the ocean from the resort. You may rent fishing gear on the pier.

I'm not into surfing, but it looked like a nice surfing area. At least there were several surfers out in the ocean.

One Con however: The restaurant on the resort cloced 7 pm (19.00). We really couldn't figure out why. When we're on a vacation, we never dine before 7 pm. Perhaps the opening hours are adjusted through the seasons (we were there in mid-june). There was a nice restaurant just outside the resort though, so it didn't cause any trouble.

There's no doubt; we will return to Myrle Beach, and we will probably stay at Springmaid the next time as well!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fredrik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

We were happy that you enjoyed you time with us and also happy to learn that the amenities worked out well for you. Many people like the full size refrigerators and microwaves in every room! Our restaurant, Marlins, usually closes at 7 pm but Barnacles at the pier serves until 10 pm in June. Thank your positive comments and we hope to see you again!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Very clean resort. Nice rooms and grounds. Lacking on kids pools, but mine enjoyed the lazy rivers. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish8899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments about our resort. We were happy to see that you enjoyed the Lazy River (sorry we only have two kids pools!). It was nice to see that you would stay with us again. Call us when you’re ready to come to the beach for a return visit!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Well to start off I booked the trip on Bookit.com have used them before and was very please and the same goes this time.when we arrived early our room was ready and to my surprise we had been upgraded to the live oak building I had booked for the cypress building with no elevator but when we got there they had changed us which was great.It was great to be so close to the peir so you could go fish anytime.The rooms were clean and updated the housekeeping was very slow to come and clean the room but no big deal over all I would reccomend this hotel and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank happytravels35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

Thanks for staying with us at Springmaid Beach Resort and thank you for the great comments. We shared your comments with the housekeeping staff and they were pleased with the positive remarks. It’s great to see also, that you enjoyed our newly renovated rooms! Thanks again for staying with us!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

Love this place. Second time back. Everytime we come we have a good time. The kids loved the pools and we love everything there. One thing is the pier and of coarse waking up to see and walk the beach. The rooms we very nice and clean staff was nice and friendly they made sure we had clean towels, and if we needed anything for the room. Bed and pillows were soft and we had a good night rests. At the restaurant it was great. The buffet had everything you might want eat. The omlets is a treat that everyone should try. Anyone who comes will not be disappointed they will enjoy there stay at the springmaid resort.
Sonya D.

Room Tip: You will have plenty to see and do and the springmaid resort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sonya D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

We loved hosting you for a second time! We appreciate very much that you returned to Springmaid for another visit. It was great to see that you enjoyed all the amenities of the resort such as the renovated rooms, new bedding and linens and the great breadkfast buffet at Marlins! Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2012

It was a great place to stay. I will go back. The only thing is that the cell phone service is not good in the rooms or right out by the pool. Other then that the place was clean. The staff was nice. The room was always clean daily. The food down at the pier was good. We liked the swing down at the pier. Maybe they can add a few more.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Boshawnee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

Thank you for sharing your comments with us. We have shared your comments with the housekeeping staff and they were pleased with the positive remarks. We have also passed along your request for more swings on our pier. Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Our family which includes 2 small children recently spent some time at this resort. We used the hotels website to decide to stay there. It is a very nice oceanfront location,but that is where it ends. The beach and pier are lovely but anyone can enter the beach area at any time and enter the resort. We were approached on numerous occasions on the beach by strange people offering us drugs. Scary for a family resort. We were also approached by time share sales people who were very persistent and annoying while trying to enjoy the beach. The worst was one evening after spending some time away from the hotel we came back and were aaoing to park our car in the parking garage to keep it clean and were afraid to get out because of a group of scary looking individuals leaning against a wall. Not a place you would normally see people hanging out so we had to drive around until we felt safe. Perhaps we over reacted but I take no chances when it comes to my kids in a vacation town. Security was lacking for a resort of this size ans doesn't seem to scare off the people who should not be there. Food was pricey but good. We ate out to save money.Cheaper than Springmaid. Pier is beautiful but usually crowded with local fisherman who make you feel like you are in their way. So it's a nice place but we spoke to other famalies staying at other resorts who told us the were kid and family friendly so next time we will chose somewhere else. Sorry Springmaid but my famalies safety is more important then a nice view.

Room Tip: Try and get in upgraded building...the rest are very dated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank joseph m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 9 July 2012

Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am terribly sorry to hear that you felt that our resort was not safe. We do have security on property walking around all day and night; however, it is impossible to be everywhere at once. If we receive calls regarding suspicious behavior, we immediately dispatch security to that location to take care of the situation. I am also upset that you were approached by different individuals on the beach for different reasons. Our beach appears to be ours, but it is actually a public beach. If anyone who is on the beach in front of our property and is approached by individuals, we would have gladly contacted the local authorities had we been informed. As a mother myself, I completely understand that you will not take any chances with the safety of your family in a vacation town. Again, we sincerely apologize that you encountered this during your stay with us.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.6 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#6 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,756 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
1.1 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,005 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £89 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing