We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceeded expectations! Don't believe the negative” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exceeded expectations! Don't believe the negative”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our stay was exceptional! The staff is friendly, the rooms are nice, the beach is clean and almost private! Being in commercial construction, it was noticeable they were in the midst of a major renovation. I say that to say this, these happen in phases and not everything is complete at once. It was not noticeable to the eye, ie. no one running around with material, or loud noises. Kudos to the management for keeping a handle on the project.
We would not stay anywhere else from now on when we come to MB! Ask about the discount attraction tickets especially mini golf!!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Toddbuildit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
August 22, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,495 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    679
    310
    172
    175
See reviews for
1,117
624
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

We had a 3 night stay that we got from Spirit Incentives for sitting through a time share presentation. First off I had heard nothing good about this outfit but was very well treated and had no problem getting a hotel for the weak i needed it. I paid a $77 upgrade for 3 nights at the Springmaid resort and it was worth every penny. Right from the speady pleasant check in to the instant check out the front desk was one of the best most efficient that I have ever had the pleasure of dealing with.The Resort is at the south end of the beach and is far enough away from the boardwalk and busy downtown to make it a quiet relaxing resort with its own pier that is free when you stay here. The resort was immaculate and the Palmetto building was very well done with all rooms facing the ocean. The only down thing to happen was caused by a guest not the resort. Someone threw live fish into the pool which shut it down for the day.I would not recommend going to myrtle beach in July unless you can handle 90 plus temperatures with high humidity. Over all our stay was very enjoyable. I would rate the resort a 3 to 3 1/2 star

Room Tip: all rooms face the ocean. get a king room they are nicer and larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 August 2012
August 22, 2012
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2012

This resort is decidedly mediocre. It's fine if you plan to spend very little time AT the resort or on the beach. But when we stayed, the lazy river was out of commission, the pools were never clean, the restaurant was closed, and our room had NOT been remodeled. I wish we'd paid a little more and stayed somewhere else. It felt like we were staying in the middle of hillbilly central, especially in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Candace M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am terribly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. We have only completed the first part of our renovation process and will continue with the rest this fall. We would also like to apologize about the lazy river being shut down. We have had other items in our lazy river that are not supposed to be there and we had to shut it down for 24 hours as stated by law. Thank you for sharing your comments and we hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a positive lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

I love this place I'm so going back now especially sense they upgraded the place look at the rooms and stuff online hope we go. Enforced ore summer ends

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lexi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Past Guest,

Hope to see you again soon! We have done a lot of upgrading and aren’t done yet!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach SC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2012

A nice family resort on the ocean at the south end of Myrtle Beach with a pier and 3 pools, one indoors. This resort is on the quiet south end of Myrtle Beach but yet close to a lot of restaurants and attractions, plus great shopping at the Market Commons, and Costal Grand Mall. They also have a game room for the kids and a mini golf course on sight. They have a small restaurant and a bar with daly drink specials at the entrance to the pier where you can have a drink and watch the tide roll in. This resort is family friendly and they also have rooms that except pets.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanMyrtleBeach1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Past Guest,

Thanks for the review! We are so glad that you enjoyed BARnacles at the Pier. We hope you can join us next time for one of our Trivia Nights or to enjoy one of our wonderful entertainers as you watch the tide roll in.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington, West Virginia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2012

I have NO complaints.....I and several members of my family have stayed here on several different occassions! The staff has always gone out of their way to accomodate us! The facilities are always clean and up to date. Several changes to the Springmaid were noted my last trip in June....rumor has it--new management? Our room was very nice, clean and everything appeared new...

Would definitely recommend this Resort to others!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mpenn10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Dear Past Guest,

It is so great to hear that you had a great stay with us. We have been under Charlestowne Hotels Management since 2011. We are very proud of our staff, best on the beach! Hope to see you and your family soon!

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landrum, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed here as part of a package. All over their website they go on & on about renovations. First impression = The receptionist was clearly having a bad day. Cranky she was. When we finally got to check in, the room certainly is no "wow" moment. We set the AC low, but the room never got comfortable cool. Very Cramped entryway with the microwave/fridge/closet area right across from the bathroom, as soon as you enter the door. Everything in that area seemed to be on top of each other. The bathroom had this silly shower curtain that not only did a poor job of keeping the water in the shower, it also clung to your body if you got too close. The body wash/shampoo/conditioner dispenser on the shower wall dispensed very thin, almost industrial smelling products. The floors became wicked slick because of all the water. The blowdryer on the wall worked, but the whole unit came off the wall when we touched it. The bathroom became a sauna when showering. The beds were lumpy. The linens for the bath & the beds seemed old. They state "private" balconies, but when you're out on yours, your neighbors are right on top of you. The indoor pool was freezing cold, and the skylight above it had large, broken holes in the glass. The lazy river was so tiny it was humerous. I believe this place really wants to be better than it is, but for $250.00 per night, it is no bargain at all. Next time, we'll look for a chain, or check it out a place in person. On the plus side, their location is a great one.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LaurieWSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hsimon, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 25 July 2012
Dear Past Guest,

After reading your review, I am terribly sorry that your stay was not to your satisfaction.
We do apologize about the beds appearing lumpy. We have recently replaced all of our mattresses and if there was one that is ‘lumpy’ we would have been grateful to have known so we could have replaced it. We do state private balconies because each room had their own balcony with two chairs. Our rooms are right next door to one another as our balconies, but there is a wall that separates each and every balcony so our guests have their own ‘private’ balcony. Thank you for sharing your comments with us and we hope that in the future you will give us another chance to leave a positive lasting impression.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing