We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spring break stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Ranked #39 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
GreenLeadersSilver level
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great spring break stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I highly recommend Springmaid Beach Resort & Conference Center for any type of visit to Myrtle Beach! This was our first time visiting the resort and the city and we will definitely be back. We got a Groupon discount with free breakfast for two each morning and it was a great deal. I'm glad I decided to get it. My 3 year old had a blast on the beach! The room was clean and well-maintained as well as the premises. There is fun for here for all ages with putt-putt and an arcade. I liked that we were far enough from the more touristy area, but still close enough to get around. The breakfast buffet was excellent and the wait staff are extremely friendly. Matter of fact - everyone that works there goes above and beyond to say hello or just asks how you are doing that day. Go - you won't be disappointed! We can't wait to go back already :)

Room Tip: We got the exact view in room L386 as is on the above photo Springmaid has listed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tlo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,159
    679
    310
    172
    176
See reviews for
1,118
624
48
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (793)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Georgia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at Springmaid while in Myrtle Beach for a family gathering. In full disclosure, we had a discount through Groupon Getaways, and that made this a good value. The full price would have been a little much.

Our room was in the newest-looking building in the complex (Palmetto building), so I can't vouch for the rooms in the other buildings. The room was spacious and clean, and the view of the ocean from our balcony would have been really nice had it not been grey and raining the whole time.

The room had a microwave and the largest hotel fridge I'd ever seen (nearly full size with a separate freezer), so there's lots of room to store snacks or leftovers.

The main problem we encountered was the shower. It was wheelchair accessible, with a detachable showerhead. The issue was there was no place above waist level to anchor the showerhead, so we had to hold it in one hand. Beyond that, even with the shower curtain drawn as far as it would go, water poured out onto the bathroom floor, basically flooding the bathroom with 1/8-1/4 inch of water. Fortunately, the sink was outside the bathroom, so we could brush our teeth without standing in the puddle.

The fitness room wasn't fancy, but it was larger than the average hotel fitness center, and the equipment all worked, which is lot more than I can say about most fitness centers.

For families, the plus side of this resort is the large number of on-site activities. There are several pools, two lazy rivers, and a mini-golf course, in addition to the easy access to the beach. Though the location isn't really near lots of other Myrtle Beach attractions, you wouldn't have to leave very often to find food or entertainment, so that might make it a great value.

A note about Marlin's/breakfast: If your breakfast isn't comped, pay for breakfast when you check in to get a discount. Also, be prepared for a crowd. We went toward the end of the breakfast time, and there was a crush of people (though we still didn't have trouble finding a place to sit). Pay or present your previously-purchased tickets first, then go through the buffet line. The food is abundant, I'll say that. We found the omelets to be overrated and the famous Ray to be a little unhappy, but there are lots of other options.

Room Tip: Bring your galoshes, or park under the building if it rains. Otherwise, you'll soak your feet i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Decat08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013 via mobile

This is a busy resort on a beach. It's not going to be absolutely perfect in terms of cosmetics. There are some ups and downs to this place, though. Registration could have used one or two more individuals to check guests in to help avoid a long line. It is a noisy hotel, and it is open to the outside and near an airport. I stayed in the live oaks building, and it was obvious when a plane was going by or when people to going up and down the halls laughing. The room itself seemed clean, comfortable and spacious. The bathroom was tiny, but it was nice to have a shower with water pressure!! Our toilet kept running and making noises throughout the day and night and it was really loud so we ended up sleeping with the door shut to try and muffle the noise a little bit.

It is really nice having your own balcony and a view of the ocean with the conveniences of the pools and restaurants right there.

Stayed April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This is an excellent place to stay and we look forward to our next visit. Friendly staff and beautiful location with clean rooms. Our favorite attraction is watching the sunrise. This was our second year spending Easter sunrise on the pier. We drove 5 hours and just got to stay one night but it was worth it.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Justtaynow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartsville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

My husband and I took a 3 day trip with grandchildren (ages 10 & 3) during spring break. Our room was clean and we had plenty of room. The kids loved the indoor pool and enjoyed playing putt-putt. The weather was cool but we did manage a couple of hours on the beach to "dig in the sand". Getting to the beach was very convenient. The kids loved walking on the pier and getting ice cream and we did all of this without getting in the car. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ethel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cary, North Carolina
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

Visiting MB for the first time . Clean and great view from the front door and balcony. Relaxing and quiet, this was the ticket for a quick getaway. Will definitely consider for a longer stay in the near future. Disappointed in the bar. Since it is a resort, would like a nice place to hang out in and drink, while taking in the spectacular view.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisHoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2013

This was a very family friendly, clean, resort. Our room was bigger than expected and we loved the balcony. Over all, an excellent resort. We loved the peir and the breakfast was incredible. I would highly reccomend this property for a week stay or a weekend get away. We were very happy with all involved.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SSTOPMRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donald H, Manager at DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront, responded to this review, 22 April 2013
Dear Past Guest,

We are thrilled to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed our resort. . We thrive to provide the best family accommodations on the south end of beach. We look forward in having you and the family back with us on your next visit to Myrtle Beach.

Sincerely,

SMB Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
1.4 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Myrtle Beach/Oceanfront
9.5 mi away
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
Marina Inn at Grande Dunes
#2 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,632 reviews
11.4 mi away
Royale Palms Condominiums by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Anderson Ocean Club & Spa, Oceana Resorts
4.2 mi away
Sheraton Myrtle Beach Convention Center Hotel
9.0 mi away
Marriott's OceanWatch Villas at Grande Dunes
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront

Property: DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront
Address: 3200 South Ocean Boulevard, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4860 (Formerly Springmaid Oceanfront Resort Myrtle Beach)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#29 Business Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#34 Romantic Hotel in Myrtle Beach
#38 Family Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront 4*
Number of rooms: 485
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently remodeled, the entire 27-acre, oceanfront resort feels fresh and new. Our location on the quieter southern end of the famous Ocean Boulevard feels more secluded, yet this family-friendly resort is just minutes from all the excitement of Myrtle Beach's most popular attractions, theaters, shopping, dining and golf. Spacious, designer-renovated rooms include all ocean view balconies, beautifully appointed fabric and furnishings, plush 5 Diamond Series mattresses and bedding, granite countertops, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker, safe and more. The resort features indoor/outdoor pools, Ocean Blue restaurant for all day dining, the beachfront Southern Tide Bar & Grill, 1068 ft Fishing Pier, 18-hole miniature golf course, fitness center, gift shop, tackle shop, and wireless internet. The resort offers more than 35,000 square feet of meeting and event spaces and is host to Myrtle Beach's largest oceanfront Conference Center. All guests enjoy complimentary access to Springmaid Pier. Fishing is available at a discounted rate. All rooms are air conditioned and non-smoking. We offer a limited number of pet-friendly accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your DoubleTree Resort by Hilton Myrtle Beach Oceanfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springmaid Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Springmaid Beach Resort And Conference Center
Springmaid Hotel
Springmaid Resort
Springmaid Beach Myrtle
Beach Springmaid

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing