We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Great Ocean View”
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Palace Resort
Ranked #83 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 27 May 2013

Overall, we really liked this resort. Granted, it does need to be updated, but the view of the ocean from our room (20th floor) was great and trumped the need for updating. One thing we did not like about this hotel was the fact you had to access the elevators from the lobby. You have to take one elevator in the parking garage to the lobby, then use 1 of 3 elevators to get to your room. Our last day it was starting to get busy and it took awhile to get an elevator to use. The common areas of the hotel are in need of upgrading, but it was ok for the price we paid. I liked the fact you could walk right out to the beach as well. The breakfast buffet was always good and the staff was always helpful and friendly. The bed right next to the window was an issue with the sun coming in very early and waking us up, but is was a beautful view. I was a little scared when I saw some of the prior reviews, but please don't let them keep you from trying is resort. Please try it and make your own opinion.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the better the view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,224)
There are newer reviews for The Palace Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

586 - 592 of 1,224 reviews

Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have come here for several years. The staff this time was excellent. I stayed on the 22nd floor, so had the hot tub up there and coin-op laundry, and not as much road noise....and an excellent view of the beach and midway in the distance.

Room Tip: I recommend the 2 bedroom suite with the separate living room/kitchen area. 2 bathrooms and 3 or mor...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rapidrobert49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Our view of the ocean from our room was breathtaking. To hear the waves crashing on the shoreline was so mesmerizing to me. To think that we were mere steps from such majestic beauty even while in our own suite was such a blessing to us.

This more than made up for the minor cons. The biggest of these was the state of the refrigerator in the unit. I'm not sure at what point it was became fist beaten but to find it in such a state when we came in to stay took a little of the wind out of my sails. Not that I was expecting absolute perfection but to find it in such an aweful state made me wonder who had been in that suite before. Though I'm not snobby, it just really put my mind in a place to wonder about the people who'd do such a thing to a refrigerator... and to know that they'd stayed there before us...

Simply changing out the refrigerator before we got there would have improved my opinion of the suite greatly from my current perception of it.

I have to say though, even considering this we greatly enjoyed our stay. The view of the ocean, the overall state of the suite, and the price of our accommodation balanced out well.

I wouldn't recommend it to the hoity toity people who'd be expecting a 5 start kinda thing. But to those of us who are looking for a good deal on a nice stay I'd highly recommend it.

We do plan to come back next year to visit The Palace and our own little spot on the ocean. :)

Room Tip: Higher rooms give a more spectacular view of the ocean
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I needed a break and wanted something nice at the beach, and calm. I got the rejuvenation that I longed for at The Palace. We had a very nice room on the beach, facing the ocean. There is nothing like waking up in the morning with the sounds of the beach at you balcony, and seeing dolphins playing in the ocean, really! I can't wait to go back. NM

Room Tip: Higher floors have beautiful panoramic views 24/7.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narne1861
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Ok, so where do I start? We booked 6 nights here and based on the reviews on TA, I definitely asked to see the room first. The staff at the front desk (and everyone in SC) is so damn friendly which was a great change from DC people. They will make you keys for as many rooms as you want to see.

Anyways, so you'll see in my pictures the first room where we spent two horrible nights (room was 2003). Fyi, this hotel is all privately owned condos. The hotel basically rents them out to visitors but the decor/furniture/maintenance is all done and maintained by the condo owner. However, you can complain about something not working or broken and the hotel people will fix it or move you. Anyways, so our room seemed fine but it wasn't until night that we hated our lives. The bed was a full (even though I booked a queen) and was the absolute worst mattress I have ever slept on. It is time for that owner to get a new mattress. There were bugs and hair all over the room. Cleanliness is definitely not this hotel's cup of tea. Everything else in the room is fine/functional, but nothing at all has the 'wow' factor. The view of the ocean is great, but it's hard to enjoy with a 4x4 balcony.

So after 2 nights from hell, we asked to change rooms. We saw 2 before we laid eyes on the one we loved. The first was one with a king size bed in a bedroom but it smelled soooooooooooo bad. What owner thought putting carpet all around was a good idea at a beach resort? So when we saw 2205 our jaws dropped. EVERYTHING in that room is brand spanking new and upgraded. Just see the pictures. My words won't do it justice. The owners really took care of decorating this room and picking out the best things. My only complaint of this room is that there was no dresser or somewhere to put your clothes other than the closet. There were about 6 hangers, so make sure you bring a bunch more if you think you'll need to put your clothes somewhere. So definitely ask to book 2205. You will not be disappointed.

Everything in the hotel looked like it could use a total makeover. The pool was freezing when we were there. There are 2 pools. One that is by itself and one that's near the hot tubs and kiddie pool. The one by itself was always so cold. And if it was a windy day, forget about it. It seems you were in this bad tunnel that caught the wind the worst. There was also a hot tub in the hotel on our floor (22nd) which I thought was weird, but hey whatever. I didn't use the hot tub or the other pool so I have no comments on it.

The beach is great. Not dirty, not crowded (at least when we went). But my advice, bring chairs/umbrella with you. They have chairs/umbrellas that can be rented for $30/day (insane!!). Or bring a towel and just lay out.

Lastly, the breakfast buffet that the hotel boasts is just average. It's nice that it's free, but it's not like OMG I'm in love with it or anything. They basically serve the exact same thing everyday. Three choices of juice (from a machine), coffee, Fruit Loops, Raisin Bran, some type of canned fruit (peaches, pineapple, etc.), jelly, butter, scrambled eggs, biscuits, gravy, some type of potato (either cubed or hash browns), and a meat or two (which are always pork products - bacon, sausage, etc.). The biscuits were definitely scrumptious and the breakfast is great for being free and will tide you over until lunch and sometimes even dinner.

Room Tip: You will LOVE 2205. Definitely ask to stay there. And definitely definitely definitely ask to see th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Baskooota77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

I previously stayed at the Landmark hotel (right beside The Palace) and there was no comparison. The room was far superior....furnishings did not look like they were from the '70s at The Palace! Considering the amount of traffic coming in and out of the hotel, the room was pretty clean. The view was AMAZING and access to the beach was convenient. When I was in my room, I heard nothing around us....except the ocean. It was a little piece of heaven!

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the elevator...I didn't ask for it but I got it and I really appreciated it!
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Great resort. Only 2 complaints: restaurant is not open in the evening and no room service.
Both are available in their sister property, The Landmark, where you also must go to get show tickets and golf info.
No guest services at the Palace.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2cgulls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,498 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#115 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
818 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,991 reviews
0.5 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#103 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,369 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#145 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £67 - £155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing