We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“The location isn't worth it!!!”
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Palace Resort
Ranked #82 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This place is absolutely terrible. I'm convinced that anyone that rated this place good was either payed to do so, or just a member of the staff who got on to boost ratings. The elevator situation is completely awful, 3 of them for 23 floors is just awful, and the room? The worst I've ever seen!!! The bed was half made with only one pillow, the floor hasn't been mopped or swept in months, the room smells must and old, and all of light fixtures are either broke, or don't have lightbulbs it was all around terrible. To anyone out there that might read this....DO NOT GO TO THIS HOTEL!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank fibakismer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Palace Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide excellent customer service and the perfect vacation experience.

We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at The Palace Resort. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Palace Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Ebony W.
General Manager
The Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,233)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 1,233 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We were at the landmark for 3 days and then came to the Palace. Sooooooo much better! !! Super room. It is small but it is nice. We had a side view,still a great view. The only complaints: need more elevators, larger buffet room, and wish it wad closer to the boardwalk.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RBurke10006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Mrs. Burke

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Every comment that we receive is valuable in helping us evaluate and improve our quality of service. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with The Palace very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.


Ebony W.
General Manager
Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We rented from an owner, so we knew what we were getting before we arrived (we had a very nice room). This place is old, as you can see throughout, but it is kept up well enough. I was a little apprehensive about he elevators with the reviews I read, but we waited not more than 5 minutes at any time. We've stayed in many condos throughout Myrtle Beach, and realize that when you have 23 floors there is not going to be an instant elevator waiting each time you press the button! Staff was very kind, including the elevator attendant which helps in making the elevator process better. Since we rented from an owner, the breakfast was not included so I can't judge the food, but there is a descent pancake house across the street that we found served a good home cooked style breakfast. Pools were small and usually crowded, but always clean and free of sand in the morning. It appears that the pool area recently was upgraded with new pavers which were nice. Several styles of pool chairs...from plastic to metal (some a little rusty). It seemed like there was always a security guard in the parking garage. Parking was typical beach condo, tight parking, but plenty of spaces. Overall, for the money, this place was decent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
5  Thank roadtripfam7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking time to post a review about your experience with us on TripAdvisor. Every comment that we receive is valuable in helping us evaluate and improve our quality of service. I am sorry that you were not able to receive the free breakfast from the restaurant maybe next time you will book directly through the Palace. We offer free breakfast for 2 daily. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your visit, and we would like for you to know that we appreciate your business very much. From all of the staff here at the Palace Resort, we hope that you will book with The Palace very soon, and we can't wait to provide you with your next outstanding vacation in the Myrtle Beach area.


Ebony W.
General Manager
Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I will admit that I was scared after I made my reservation and started reading the negative reviews. I saw what the people had done that had good experiences and followed that. First of all, make your reservation directly through the Palace Resort website. Second, contact the resort if you have concerns or questions prior to your arrival. Third, ask for a higher floor. And finally fourth, do not pay for anything prior to seeing your room.
We had no issues whatsoever because we did all of these things. The staff was very accommodating, helpful and understanding. Yes, the elevators were at times slow, but in all fairness, we were on the 23rd floor and we understood that there are a lot of people below us. Whenever there was an issue with the speed of the elevators, the staff was on top of it and got people in the elevators to basically direct traffic. The longest we waited for an elevator was maybe 5 minutes tops.
We stayed in room 2310, which was a 1 bedroom corner suite. The housekeeping was there every day, but we understood they were there for basic necessities like towels and toilet paper. You are renting a condo from someone who owns that unit. It is your responsibility to keep it picked up and fairly clean. Housekeeping is there to do a thorough cleaning after you leave.
We would definitely stay at the palace again.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Kvknosp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a comment about your stay at the Palace, your comments are very much valued. We really appreciate your comments regarding our customer service and ongoing upgrades to the property. Our staff members take their roles very seriously and try, every day, to provide that quality customer service, that our guests expect. Thank you again, and we look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Myrtle Beach!

Ebony W.
General Manager
Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We stayed in a privately owned condo in the Palace resort and the condo was nice(it was privately owned) but I heard others complaining about the condos they rented from the resort itself. My main problem with the resort was waiting for the elevator. Sometimes we had to wait 45 minutes or more! The staff also use the elevators to move large housekeeping carts and equipment. The staff should have private elevators to use and stop using the guest elevators. Also my whole stay 1 hot tub was cold and another one was broken and no one seemed to care to fix either. Some of the staff(elevator operators and front desk) were extremely nice while other staff gave you dirty looks and never even said hello. My condo was great but I dont think I would stay here again after hearing all the complaints and witnessing alot of issues.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank blondeyBaltimore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Palace Resort for your family destination. Guest comments are valuable to us and let's us know where we may need improvement. We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was enjoyable. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. The front desk works really hard to meet the needs of all guest and provide the best customer service. I would like to apologize about your experience with the long wait time on the elevators. They are busy during our check in and check out times during the busy season. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Ebony Washington
General Manager
The Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I was looking at the reviews before our vacation wasn't sure what to expect. When we arrived we checked in no problems front desk courteous and helpful. Our room was on the 17th floor ocean front suite . The room was very clean pictures on internet portray it very well what the room looks like. We had a great view and the breakfast was good. The staff was friendly and helpful. The pools and hot tubs were clean. We were right on the beach .The parking garage was connected to the resort that was nice Close to attractions and shopping couple blocks from boardwalk. The elevators seem to be an issue we didn't have any problems we always got on only when we left we had to wait a little bit for an empty elevator to get all of our luggage on. We planning on staying at the Palace again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
4  Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Palace Resort and taking the time to share your experience! We are thrilled to see that your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit where we hope to exceed your expectations. We like to make sure that all guest needs are met and have a wonderful time during their stay. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon!

Ebony Washington
General Manager
The Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

our room/condo looked nothing like the pictures. There had at one point been some type of water leak in the room. Bathroom had black mold in and around the tub and sink area. Also mold under kitchen sink. The towel rack in the bathroom had fell off and was put back on in a different area leaving the holes exposed. The indoor sauna had an awful moldy smell and we could not stand to be in there. Only one elevator worked for the most of the week which meant long wait times. The bathrooms near pool were both closed for 2 days of our stay which meant going up to the 20th floor everytime we needed to use the restroom. The free breakfast was good but not much different day to day. All the ladies in this area was GREAT!! Front desk staff was rude except for the gentleman who checked us in. We complained two times about moving and were told no other rooms available but breakfast ladies had told us they had only sold 60 rooms per night. In the end after having words with manager and the management company who represented the owner of condo, they refunded our entire stay. But soon after we returned home my husbands credit card info had been had been hacked into and were pretty sure it was from here.

Room Tip: Don't Stay!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommad7860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ebony W, General Manager at The Palace Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 July 2014

Thank you for choosing the Palace Resort and for taking the time to share your experience with others. We are very sorry to see that your stay did not meet your expectations nor our own. We strive to provide excellent customer service and the perfect vacation experience.

We are aware that an experience such as this gives an impression of our facility that is very difficult to overcome. We can only tell you that this is not the normal experience of a guest staying at The Palace Resort. We do hope that if you return to the Myrtle Beach area that you will give the Palace Resort a second chance. Thank you again and we hope to see you soon.

Ebony W.
General Manager
The Palace Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#143 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,508 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#90 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
448 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#16 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
Comfort Suites Myrtle Beach
#64 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
226 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#109 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
825 reviews
2.1 mi away
Aqua Beach Inn
Aqua Beach Inn
#43 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#58 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £60 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing