We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Message from TripAdvisor:

Condominiums at this property are owned and operated by several different management companies, so quality and service standards may vary. If you wish to book a specific unit or a unit owned or managed by a specific company, please ask about that unit before booking your trip.

“Loved It!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palace Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Palace Resort
Ranked #82 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Shelby, NC
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Loved It!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2007

My boyfriend, son, and I stayed in 1705 for an entire week and loved EVERY minute of it. The room was a smidge smaller than I imagined, but we still were comfortable. The staff at Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent was great as was the staff at The Palace Resort. Our only complaint was the elevators. There were times that they were very slow and some people rode them up and down forever before getting to their floor or the ground floor. Our stay was very enjoyable, my only complaint was that about half way through our vacation, we had a group of teenagers come in next door and they wanted to party all night and sleep through the day. I called the staff and they assured us if anymore noise, they would be put out.

The Palace seems to attract a lot of younger people who come to the beach to get away from Mom and Dad to have "freedom", but they get crazy with it. If we stayed anywhere else, that would be the only reason. I plan to go back next year, but this time get a larger room and hopefully enjoy it even more. To Greg and your staff....UR THE BEST!!!!!

  • Liked — Restuarant and bar in hotel, many pools to choose from.
  • Disliked — Too many
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anuknowthis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,161 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    266
    153
    135
    304
See reviews for
462
322
19
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2007

Prior to staying there I read the reviews and to be honest, I was worried that we would have a terrible stay. I was pleasantly surprised and really enjoyed the lodgings and terrific view of the ocean. I saw in other reviews that the rooms were not clean and during our visit the room was clean and smelled great. One thing I hope can help other readers is that the rooms are owned by individuals so the quality and decor will vary. Also of course this means that some appliances and fixtures are a little dated but if your goal is to find a decent room you should be fine. Regarding the elevators and lack of luggage carts, I agree with the remarks posted. Considering the size of the hotel there should be more luggage carts and faster elevators, One thing I did notice is that they have people monitoring the elevators, which has helped minimize the long waits.
One thing that could also help is more realistic name and promotion. It's a decent mid-range hotel but not the resort it purports to be. We stayed in a angle-oceanview one bed-room w/a queen-size sofa-bed and price and quality it was a very nice stay.

  • Liked — View of ocean and covered parking
  • Disliked — Slow elevator
  • Stayed June 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fungrrl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bel Air, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2007

My wife and I stayed at The Palace during our son's Easter Break. We stayed in a first floor, oceanview sunsuite. We found the room to be very clean, and the beds were comfortable. We are now planning for a return visit to The Palace for a week in August.

  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robsdad819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blabla
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2007

We have stayed at the Palace for the past several years and it has gradually gone down hill each year. Some the rooms are in really bad shape. Each year we hoped that we would get a better room but we have finally given up.

The office staff are not helpful and very rude, this has been the case every year but even more over the past 2 years. This past year we arrived after a 6 hour ride at 2:30p.m. and asked very nicely if we could check in 30 minutes early? The older lady at the desk was very rude about it and then tried to tell me I couldnt get my 10% ( five nights or longer) discount that I was told on the phone they would give me at check-in.

last year I parked in the loading and unloading zone to unload. a few minutes later I came out to see a sticker on my window telling me to move? I thought this was what a unloading zone was for!! By the way, you cant get from your car to your room and back within 15 minutes because of the slow elevaters!!
There are only 2 for entire building sometimes you might have to wait 3 to 5 minutes for the ride that might stop 3 or 4 times before you make it to your destination.

They dont seem to be putting any money back into the building.
A little paint here and there but thats about it.

If you dont expect much it might be ok, dont book for a week and get stuck. wishing you were somewhere nice.

We have decided last year was enough after 6 years. We are going elsewhere in myrtle beach in sept 2007

Stayed September 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank blabla16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

spyder209
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2007

I have stayed at the Palace about 5 times. I cannot say enough about the view. The view from an upper floor sun suite is unbeatable by anyone at Myrtle Beach. You can see miles down the beach from the floor to ceiling windows and at night it is beautiful. However, it is the luck of the draw on how nice your room will be. The first couple of times that I went, I had no complaints. The Fourth time, my room was not kept up to standards. The wallpaper was peeling off the walls, the carpet was dirty, the bathroom was awful and old. Everytime I go, I get a sun suite, however everyroom is different. I was told by a guest once that they are all individually owned and that they owner can decorate anyway they choose. He told me that he owned one and that he picked out the decor. The last time I went, I took a group of friends. What a disaster. We booked 5 rooms. Our bathroom was falling apart. The doors were falling off the cabinets and the wallpaper was ripped. One of my friends rooms smelled like mildew for the entire 4 days. He kept his hallway door open to try to vent, but it was no help. The other rooms were fine, but I am tired of chancing which room I will get next time. There will not be a next time for me.

  • Liked — views
  • Disliked — old and dated rooms
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spyder209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2007

We have stayed at the Palace every April for 7 years and absolutely love it! We always get a sunsuite oceanfront. The rooms are always clean, well stocked (that means a coffeepot!!) and the staff are absolutely "on the ball". In fact, on our last stay, somebody was shooting off firecrackers on the beach at night and making a terrible racket. Since we were on the 7th or 8th floor and it was still annoying, one call downstairs was all it took. The activity stopped and the rest of the night we were able to just enjoy the waves lapping onto the shore. Since there are only two of us, the sunsuite is perfect. We recommend The Palace to everybody!!!

  • Liked — Every room faces the ocean!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2005, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BDMASSEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, Ohio
Level Contributor
343 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 324 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2007

I booked a Sunsuite #1606 from Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent -Greg Williams. I communicated with Greg several times via email before booking and found him to be pleasant and very professional.

The condo we had was clean, but had some wear and tear, but they were not cleanliness issues. It was Oceanfront with a small balcony. A/C worked great. The Palace had very clean interiors, and was in a good central location, no elevator problems, nice beach.

I would recommend you bring your own bath towels as it is much esier that way. If you want daily maid service it is $7 a day.

For the price I paid, I have no complaints, but I do have a couple of suggestions:

1. Replace the Mattress and pillows in the room as they were worn out.
2. Fix the lock on the balcony. Even though we were on the 16th floor, I still like to lock the doors.

I would stay there again and booking with Myrtle Beach Rooms for Rent is the cheapest and best way to go!

  • Liked — Overall Value
  • Disliked — Matress on Bed
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mws813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Hotel Blue
Hotel Blue
#146 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,405 reviews
1.5 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#36 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,129 reviews
7.0 mi away
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
Grande Shores Ocean Resort
#28 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.5 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,204 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#94 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Palace Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Palace Resort

Property: The Palace Resort
Address: 1605 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4629
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#57 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Palace Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 166
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palace Resort is a beautifully designed oceanfront resort with outdoor pools, whirlpools, sauna, steam room, exercise room, guest laundry and wonderful ocean views. The spacious oceanfront pool deck allows guests to easily access the beach and enjoy the relaxing ocean. This wonderful resort is just perfect for the active family wanting to get away from it all and still have it all anyway. The kids will love the video arcade room and the adults will love the fitness center and the golf putting green. Come see why Palace Resort is a favorite among south Myrtle Beach visitors! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your The Palace Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Palace Hotel Myrtle Beach
Myrtle Beach The Palace
Palace Resort Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing