We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mixed feelings”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Ranked #161 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Calhoun, Tennessee
1 review
“mixed feelings”
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The Reef was older, but clean and the rooms were decent but the lazy river is NEXT DOOR at another hotel. You get bracelets to be able to walk next door and use it. The hotel staff was friendly. The staff at Mako's Restaurant was not. They were slow and rude. If you were not a drunk young man, the female servers ignored you. One waitress was mixing drinks while smoking.. GROSS!!! Another complaint i have that will be the defining reason i never come back was the loud music that played from 1pm to 5 pm EVERY day.. Karoke and thumping loud dance music and games. My small kids hated it and didnt want to be at the pool. Some of the dancing contests got a little to bar like for my children to see so we stayed at the beach or left the hotel until it was over. This is not as family friendly as they describe. The dj gave free drinks for people to dance. some games were geared toward children but it was so loud and annoying. If youre looking for a good place for young kids or a quiet vacation this may not be the place for you. Also parking was very limited. The overflow parking is a block down the street... a big pain to park down the street and walk.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nursegirl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    108
    64
    73
    137
See reviews for
266
98
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Augusta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 27 June 2011

This was a girls getaway weekend and we had a blast. The room was standard but the amenities were great. We loved the restaurant, bar, and music during the day. Right on the beach and the pools were nice. A little further down the strip, but was nice because traffic wasn't as heavy. Mini grocery store across the street with everything that you might have left at home. We had a blast and will definitely keep it in the rotation as places to come back to.

Room Tip: Call if you have questions, very friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monyv3113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Ok, this review is actually coming from 2 families since we all rented 2 rooms. I will say that 1 or 2 bad apples in the group will spoil the whole bunch!!! All that I asked for were bed sheets & 2 extra pillows since we were using the pull out sofa. You would think it would come with the room but the two people I asked behind the front desk were complete jerks!! I had to threaten them and go back down 3 times before I got what I needed and so did the other family staying in the other room that was traveling with us! Both rooms had nasty bathtubs and toilets I guess only because these rooms look to be about 40 years old and NONE of the rooms have an alarm clock.......you have to actually request one at checkin and they are so afraid of it being stolen that they threaten that if stolen you will be charged $50!! Our sliding glass door that goes out to the balcony was so stuck we never could use the balcony and when we requested another room we were told the hotel was completely full and there were no other rooms. The air conditioning we ran on high the entire time and it never even cooled the room off entirely. OMG and the elevators!!!!!........just be ready to wait for them and you better bring a drink & a snack cause you will be there a while. WE ALL have never been so glad to leave a hotel before as much as this one!!!!!! STAY AT YOUR OWN RISK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Never, never, never again will we be back to this place!!!!! I PROMISE!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Darrendimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Topsail Beach, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2011

The pictures on the internet did not represent this hotel correctly. We asked for a smoke-free room and when we arrived, the room smelt of smoke everywhere. The walls were starting to turn yellow from the smoke; it was terrible. It was raining the day we were to check it and the door was leaking - so the carpet was soaked! The hotel was not worth the money we were to pay. Needless to say, we left right away and found a MUCH nicer hotel.

Room Tip: No Good Rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CL8585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

My finance & I first stayed at the REEF in Sept of 2010. We came w/out reservations to Myrtle Beach during a Shriner's week & all places were booked. Each front desk we approached the staff made us feel stupid for not making reservations ahead of time. Tired after our 8hr drive & on our 7th hotel along the South Myrtle strip, we came to The REEF. We were greeted by very nice staff that immediately began working on finding us a room. The had one that needed cleaned (it was 6pm) & so the front desk staff pulled together & got the room ready. We had intended on staying for 2 nights & ended up staying 5! Yes, the hotel is older, some of the carpet stained but it is very clean!!!! We loved the fact there is a little store across the street, is w/in walking distance to an amazing Italian Restaurant, Dairy Queen & Putt Putt. The ocean front rooms are very spacious. We just love it here. We love it so much that we stayed again in May & look forward to booking a quick stay in Sept 2011.
My finance is a Deputy Sheriff & I am a 911 Dispatcher, The REEF & its staff have given us a wonderful place to stay to get away from our very stressful & busy lives. Thank you to all the staff!!! We will see you in Sept!
The Mathis'

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dispatcher747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, 26 June 2011
Dear Dispatcher747,
We have a very dedicated staff at The Reef. I am so glad to hear they were able to accommodate you during the busy weekend. We are thrilled to have you as a repeat guest, and we too are excited to have you back in September.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy day to write this review for our resort.
Sincerely,
The Reef Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

I made reservations for July to take my grandchildren and then read reviews of this hotel that concerned me. My husband and I decided to go for a weekend to make sure it would be okay to take the kids in July. This is what we found.
The hotel IS NOT dirty. It is old however. They are in the process of renovating but had not done our room yet. All the rooms do have new sleeper sofas as they have already replaced them. The carpets have been replaced in some rooms. Our carpet had not been replaced and was old and stained but it was clean. The bathtub had a chip because it was old but it was clean. We saw cleaning staff all over the hotel all day long not just in the morning.
Our blow dryer did not work and when we let them know it was fixed before we got back from the beach.
The staff was wonderful. Jeff went out of his way for us. Aaron was so pleasant, and Uri was the quickest repairman I have ever seen. Every staff person there wished us a great day or atleast gave us a big smile. If they were having a hard day, which Im sure they were, you would not have known it.
The only draw back I could find was the elevators. They have only two so the wait could sometimes be a little long. Not so much that it would keep me from going back however.
This hotel has received a bum wrap from reviewers. It is a great hotel, just old and worn.
If you want a new shiny hotel, go elsewhere. If you want a clean place to stay with a friendly helpful staff and dont mind a few stains, but love a bargain price, this is the place. I cant wait to go back in July with my grandchildren.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank grandtravelers3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2011
Dear grandtravelers3,
Thank you for the very honest review. We pride ourselves on the cleanliness of our resort and the customer service that we provide to our guests. We are very excited to have you and your grandchildren back in July. Thank you again for taking the time to write a review for us. See you soon.
Sincerely,
The Reef Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Me and a couple of friends decided to stay here because it was pretty cheap compared to other hotels. However, as soon as we got there the parking lot smelled like crap! When we checked in and tried to key into our room, the room key would not work! The elevator took ten years to come to our floor so we had to run down a lot of stairs to get to the front desk! It took about 3-4 times until they gave us the right key! Not only that but the hotel was VERY OLD and dirty. I could not believe how gross it was. The indoor pools were really dirty as well! We only enjoyed the outside pool. The bed sheets were old and smelly and we were not comfortable at all. The bath tubs were not clean and was clogged a couple times. Though we enjoyed the beach front view, everything else was just horrible. The kitchen itself was terrible. The oven would smoke really bad when we were using it and the alarm kept going off. Stay at your own risk!! Would NEVER return here again no matter how cheap it was.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank itskimbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this review, 10 June 2011
Dear itskimbby,
We regret that The Reef Resort did not meet your expectations and we are aware that the resort is not new. However; the management team is committed to maintaining high cleanliness standards and excellent guest service. Noticing that your stay at The Reef Resort was just about 1 year ago, I would just like to inform you that we are under all new management and have made several updates to the rooms and the property since last July. The indoor pool area was just recently refurbished, and the feedback has been positive.
Sincerely,
The Reef Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
694 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#118 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
814 reviews
0.5 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.6 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#143 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#23 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,972 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Myrtle Beach

Property: The Reef Myrtle Beach
Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#90 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef Myrtle Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Reef Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing