We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We absolutely loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef at South Beach
Ranked #153 of 208 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Clinton, South Carolina
1 review
“We absolutely loved it”
Reviewed 23 July 2011

The reef was everything i expected we stayed there back in june 2011 and it was perfect for a family vacation. The rooms were clean and they had a nice set up out by the pool. My family is planning 2 stay there again in august. So we will def be back. We had a great experience. Thanks

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly54181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    104
    59
    70
    122
See reviews for
245
92
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2011

The rooms were decent as far as price was concerned, and we were pleased to find out they had entertainment, One day they had a super nice guy, he brought prizes for the kids and had all sorts of activities from balloon toss to family trivia and played some family friendly music, the next day was like night and day, the dj was playing songs beyond inappropriate, and was rangling teenage girls to dance in front of his booth so he could take pictures on his cell phone, when i asked him to please not play suggestive music his response was "they pay me to do this" ??? Really they pay you to disrespect family's, the part that confused me was the very next day the nice kid was back running the dj stuff, so i'm not sure if the reef corrected this or what? But if "Kissmedj" is there, hide the women and children, on a good note, the food was terrefic and the big pool was wonderful for familys

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campfamily14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 25 July 2011
Dear Campfamily,
Thank you for staying at The Reef, and also for posting your feedback on one of the DJ performers. Everyone has a different opinion on music and entertainment. It is the goal of our management team to make sure that the entertainers recognize that they are performing for families. I regret that your opinion of that particular DJ was not favorable. The Reef does outsource the entertainment but, I have forwarded your comments to the appropriate person for review and follow up.

Thanks again for staying with us, and we hope that you will return again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2011

Pros:The staff was very friendly from time we checked in till time we checked out. We stayed in room 607 and it was alittle outdated(minor things) but CLEAN. The price is reasonable,The veiw is great, The outdoor pool is huge, and both DJ's was good.
Cons: Elevators are slow!!
7/8/11-7/12/11

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gogamecocks74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manassas, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 14 July 2011

I and a freind had brought my daughter and 2 of her friends for their graduation present for a week..So this was a girls week. Yes i was a little disappointed in the room..The pictures on the internet made the rooms look very nice... Keep in mind this is a older hotel.. Yes the bedrooms are very small...But we were only in our room at night...We LOVED the pool and the DJ...OUr favorite DJ was DJ Kiss i believe was his name.. He was the best DJ they had.. He made it fun and the kids with me that are age 18 loved him...In my opinion they should have him 7 days a week..IF you ask him about this tell him it was the women that had him play " Country Roads".. IF you kept everything picked up off the floor and off the beds.. Our beds were made everyday and the floors swept and moped everyday...The parking has alot to be desired though.. I drive a F-150 and was very close going to the upper level parking..They have another parking alot across the street so that is where i parked alot of time...I would probably stay here again but get the bigger rooms...

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank parentsofmandk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rutherfordton, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

We had an incredible 5 day stay at The Reef. This was our 3rd year staying at the hotel.The 2 room suit was very clean and spacious. With a full kitchenette and new pots and dishes. It only lacked a frying pan.The bed had a new mattress and the sitting area had a new comfortable sleeper sofa. Didn't sleep on it since there were just the two of us. Check in was easy and all the staff were very friendly. Especially Laura and Jeff. The only problems or complaints we had were not with the hotel, but its guest! Guest were inconsiderate of other guest. The complaints about the elevator likely come from the amount of kids allowed to "play" with buttons. Had no problems with the elevators while all the kiddyies were sleeping. Also guest would get onto the elevator dripping wet and if the elevator was full guess where all that dripping water went? On you! And the one who complained about the pool not opening until 8, duh it has to be vacuumed! The rules clearly state no chair saving, and there was a large group of people on one of the floors who sent someone out early each morning to put down towels. (One morning my husband saw the young guy jump the fence and put down 20 towels. And most of the times these "imaginary" swimmers never appeared, thus taking up useful space. Out of 5 days we were only able to get a chair by the pool 1 day. So like I said, my complaint is not with the hotel but its guest! I intend to stay at the Reef again, I just hope the pool attendant will enforce the rules.
But thank you Reef staff and house keeping for making our stay a good one. See ya next year :)

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank latchley49504
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2011

This was booked online a 2 bedroom suite.....from the video it was a nice size room. Wrong the bed room doors hardly shut and hit the beds when they did. The elevators were so slow you could walk the stairs faster. Housekeeping came at 9:30am hello my kids werent even up yet. What really toped it off on check in they got a attitude because we needed two parking passes and one evening I had to park in the grass on the side of the parking garage because there was no where to park. They said it was suppose to be one car per room. I even called about the reservation and was never told this. They actually sent people down the street to the pay park--where they had to pay. The pool was locked and you could not get in til 8am which was ridicoulous......had to stand in line to put down towels. Staff was somewhat friendly....not overly! Do not like the fact that theres a narrow ramp to upper parking deck--main loby. Some larger SUV's barely made the turns......The best part of this hotel oceanfront and the pool! BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mrsbuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Jonesborough,TN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had online reservations based on internet information. We got to the lobby and the lady was very friendly. We went to our room and it was horrible. You had to shove the door to get it open. We were going to be cooking meals while we were there and I wouldn't have boiled water in the kitchen. My 9 yr old daughter went to open the balcony door and stuff came off in her hand. Someone in a previous review said the Reef had replaced the sleeper sofas in all of the rooms. This couldn't be true and if it is, they got ripped off. I wouldn't have laid my dog down on the sleeper sofa. We tried to use the phone in the room to call some other places about a room and the music at the pool was so loud we couldn't hear. Went to the front desk & the same lady who checked us in was not very friendly when I told her we wanted our money back. She didn't ask what was wrong, didn't offer us another room, just gave us our money back like she had done this many times before. Took 3 hours to find another place to stay and it was pouring down the rain. The Reef sure didn't start our beach vacation off well. Not a family friendly place to sta!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jdunbar31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#127 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 796 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#131 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueWater Resort
BlueWater Resort
#134 of 208 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Property: The Reef at South Beach
Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Priceline, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing