We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef at South Beach
Ranked #152 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
1 review
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

Overall our family enjoyed our stay here. The elevators are slow and lines can get long. The rooms are clean and comfortable. Have a great view of the beach. The pool area is very nice. They have a great DJ and activities by the pool. We did wish he was there a little longer. The staff is very friendly. We would stay here again if we return to Myrtle Beach again. Our only complaints is the elevators and MB itself. MB has just gotten rediculous with their rules/ laws, not hotels fault though.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rob J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Rob J,
Many thanks for staying at the Reef and for writing a review of your experience. We hope to see y'all again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    133
    101
    59
    70
    121
See reviews for
243
91
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I love this hotel!! Sure, it's not the Ritz, but who cares!! It is clean and the staff is amazing! I have stayed there 7 or 8 times and will be back for my Bday July 30th for 4 days! Cannot wait!!!!! And if you are hanging out in your room worried about a TV, then maybe you should stay home! It's a typical beach hotel. View is amazing, and it's great not having to leave to go eat a good meal. What a fun place!! I would definately recommend this hotel. We don't have kids personally, but have brought neices and nephews there and they LOVED it!!!! 23 days and I will be there!! YAY!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princess29196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Princess29196,
Thank you for being a repeat guest of the Reef! We appreciated your refer and value your feedback as a multiple stay guest. We look forward to seeing you later this month. Thank you for celebrating your birthday at the Reef!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great location, nice pool.
HORRIBLE SERVICE.
Drove from PA down to SC as we were promised the room at noon. When we got there they told us that the room would not be ready until 3pm. And right they were. It was not a good time as we had a pregnant sister with us on vacation.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joeymontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Joeymontana,
Thank you for staying at the Reef and for mentioning our oceanfront location and pools. We regret that you encountered an issue with having access to your room for early check-in. Your review is a good reminder for us to note that the hotel cannot guarantee early check-in. The housekeeping staff must thoroughly clean the room from prior guests, and some guests enjoy every minute of vacation time before departing at the required check-out time. Again, we apologize that the room was not ready for early check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Rockwall
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

Old and outdated rooms. Repairs to holes in wall visible. Broken window not replaced but held together with tape. Rust visible throughout room (kitchen, bathroom, entry doors). Stove, refrigerator, and towels not clean. Just an outdated property that is not well maintained and needs A LOT of maintenance. I would never book here again for any reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear David D,
We regret that you were dissatisfied with your accommodations at the Reef. While we are not a new hotel, we strive to provide clean and comfortable lodging. We follow best hotel laundry practices and our laundry chemicals are provided and dispensed by a leading laundry service company. Again, we are sorry that you were dissatisfied, but do hope that you will return to beautiful Myrtle Beach again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snellville, GA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

we booked this hotel without reading reviews, worse mistake ever. we staged in room 504. nice employees but the rooms on the other hand.. I was lost for words old rusty and disgusting would all be understatements. only good thing is the DJ...

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lejlabegic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear lejlabegic,
Thank you for staying with the Reef and for mentioning our nice employees. We regret that the accommodations did not meet your expectations. While the hotel is not new, we offer a value with every room having a full ocean view, and fun around the pool. We hope that you will vacation again in the beautiful Myrtle Beach area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
myrtle beach
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

We just spent the week here and are very please with this place . Yes it's an older resort but is clean and what a view . Great staff , very friendly and helpful .I read other reviews about no flat screen tv's and no lazy river , but if you are worried about tv that much stay home . The pools are fun to swin in and nobody kids was upset about no lazy river . We will be back again . Thank you The Reef Resort for a wonderful trip .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jebl01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jebl01,
Thank you for vacationing in beautiful Myrtle Beach, and for staying at the Reef. We appreciated your business and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again, soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
44 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After staying 10 nights here my fiancé and I noticed black mold on the wall under the thermostat ! Please do not stay here! Black mold is a deadly fungus and is completely unsafe! Management sent a guy to whip it up but according to resources it does not help !

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kenny_thecableguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef at South Beach, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Kenny_thecableguy,
Thank you for being a 10 day guest of the Reef. We regret that you were concerned about mold in your room. It is important that housekeeping personnel be given access to enter, inspect and clean the rooms, however, we strive to be respectful when guests place do not disturb signage on their doors, or refuse housekeeping. We're sorry that we were not notified of this until check- out, so that it could have immediately been addressed. The hotel adheres to best practices on maintenance issues of this nature.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Mystic Sea Resort
Mystic Sea Resort
#123 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
2.8 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#137 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#85 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#105 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 788 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#133 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
0.1 mi away
BlueWater Resort
BlueWater Resort
#135 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef at South Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef at South Beach

Property: The Reef at South Beach
Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#86 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef at South Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo, Booking.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef at South Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle
The Reef Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing