We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Reef
Nearby Hotels
Dunes Village Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dayton House Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coral Beach Resort & Suites(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Colony Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paradise Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Compass Cove Oceanfront Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Carolinian Beach Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$105
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breakers Resort(Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$242
US$214
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (527)
Filter reviews
527 results
Traveller rating
135
110
64
73
145
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
110
64
73
145
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsan older hotelthe past yearspoolstubsocean
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
187 - 192 of 527 reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The place is an utter disgrace.......dirty rooms, stained carpets, moldy bathrooms, doors falling apart, disgusting......the roof you look down to from front had garbage, old food, condoms and other disgusting trash covered.........and to top it off, they have screwed up the charges on our debit card causing huge fees from our bank, and refuse to do anything about it other than keep you on hold then drop your call.........STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE........YOU'LL REGRET STAYING HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Stephen H,
We regret that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations at the Reef. Your review served as a reminder for us to let other guests know that when you purchase hotel accommodations using a debit card, the funds are withheld from the account immediately. The debit card user agrees to the terms and conditions that their financial institution has established. With some financial institutions, the funds may be unavailable for up to 15 days. The hotel is not holding the funds, so we cannot release them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an older hotel that could use some remodeling. The room was clean. Amenities were good for children with indoor and outdoor pool. Easy beach access. Staff were friendly. Restaurant had entertainment during the afternoons with contest and singing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Pam S,
Thank you for staying at the Reef, and for mentioning your clean room and the easy beach access. The hotel has a continual refurbishment program in place, but the Reef is an older hotel. Thank you for mentioning the children's activities, and entertainment around the pool. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you're looking for a swanky hotel with all the fancy amenities, then this isn't the place for you. But if you want a nice clean room, friendly staff, indoor/outdoor pool, and easy beach access, then this is the place. I've only stayed here in the winter (so all the summer bars, grills, etc don't apply), but have enjoyed it every time. Yes, the furniture is dated, but the hotel paints and upgrades an entire floor every year, so they DO keep it nice. Elevator slow? You're on vacation, what's the hurry? My folks and I get a 2-bedroom suite w/ small kitchen, table & 4 chairs, sofa and a balcony. What we save by staying here allows us to eat out often; and the full kitchen allows for making meals when we don't want to go out. We gladly come back every winter!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Joanne L,
Thank you for writing a review about your repeated stays at the Reef. You expressed it very well...If folks are looking for a new property, or a franchised hotel experience, the Reef is not the right fit. While the hotel is older, the staff is committed to friendly and helpful guest service and a clean, comfortable room. Our greatest amenity is right outside the door with 60 miles of white, sandy beaches. We hope to see you back this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I have never been more grossed out at a hotel in my life. Black mold in bathroom, stain on sheets. Rotten egg smell from a/c, constantly running sink faucet and bathroom light didnt always come on,just starts the list. Front desk people were absolutely non helpful and did not address a single issue. Pool was packed with people who werent even staying at hotel. Garbage everywhere. Housekeeping only replaces towels and removes garbage everyday and often had to wait for clean shower towels. We honestly contemplated sleeping in the car because it was so gross and noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

AngelaG
We regret that you were displeased with the accommodations at the Reef. Upon reading your inflammatory review, we searched through the Manager on Duty log book, but could not identify your reviewer name with a registered guest's room issue. Again, we apologize that you were dissatisfied, but we can find no information to address this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We visiting Myrtle Beach for USBA Nationals AAU Basketball Tournament and stayed at The Reef Resort. It was a great location and we had a great time. Very kid friendly resort...Live band onsite and oceanfront bar and grill. Very nice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ZEEHOYLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Zeehoyle,
Thank you for staying at the Reef and for taking the time to write a review. The Reef is really ideal for families. Our children's activities around the pool are engaging, and in addition to the water venues, there is a game room. We hope that you will return again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews