We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very outdated / sketchy ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Myrtle Beach
Ranked #165 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Room was clean but outdated. Friendly staff upon arrival. For the price it's ok I suppose. But I'd clearly recommend staying next door at the Grand Atlantic. This is my first and last stay here. I knew I shouldn't have let the woman choose where to stay.

Stayed: August 2014
1  Thank RoachOcinco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Thank you for being a guest at the Reef. We appreciated you taking the time to write a review of your experience and for mentioning our friendly staff and clean accommodations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (520)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 520 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed in a two bedroom oceanfront unit. We really enjoyed the rooms and the view. It has been a few years since we'd stayed at the Reef, and the prices were still reasonable. The lobby is simply beautiful, and the front desk staff were super helpful and courteous to us. One piece of advice to help this hotel get a better rating:
Take care of some of the little things. There were some things that needed attention to detail in the room: side of fridge, toaster, blinds, etc. The room is nice, but some attention to detail is vital (inside and outside). Also, I understand the light housekeeping. That is pretty standard at Myrtle Beach. I would request that the light housekeeping include a quick vacuum. It really helps a room look better during a stay.
Those things aside, we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: Choose oceanfront. The Reef has private balconies, and the view is amazing. If you are impatient, ge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DiaGirlNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear DiaGirlNC,
Thank you for returning to the Reef and for being a repeat guest. We strive to offer direct great guest service, clean accommodations and oceanfront views at a value. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Me and 2 of my buddies stayed here on a 3 night mini golf trip,like many have said the place is older and could use some renovations BUT the location is really nice every room is oceanfront and the staff was very friendly.If you are looking for fancy high tech accommodations you are probably looking at the wrong place,if looking for a basic room with great view and location then this is the place for you.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mmarshCincinnati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear MMarsh,
Thank you for staying at the Reef and for taking the time to write a review of your experience. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014

The place is an utter disgrace.......dirty rooms, stained carpets, moldy bathrooms, doors falling apart, disgusting......the roof you look down to from front had garbage, old food, condoms and other disgusting trash covered.........and to top it off, they have screwed up the charges on our debit card causing huge fees from our bank, and refuse to do anything about it other than keep you on hold then drop your call.........STAY ANYWHERE ELSE BUT HERE........YOU'LL REGRET STAYING HERE!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2014

Dear Stephen H,
We regret that you were dissatisfied with the accommodations at the Reef. Your review served as a reminder for us to let other guests know that when you purchase hotel accommodations using a debit card, the funds are withheld from the account immediately. The debit card user agrees to the terms and conditions that their financial institution has established. With some financial institutions, the funds may be unavailable for up to 15 days. The hotel is not holding the funds, so we cannot release them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

This is an older hotel that could use some remodeling. The room was clean. Amenities were good for children with indoor and outdoor pool. Easy beach access. Staff were friendly. Restaurant had entertainment during the afternoons with contest and singing.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Pam S,
Thank you for staying at the Reef, and for mentioning your clean room and the easy beach access. The hotel has a continual refurbishment program in place, but the Reef is an older hotel. Thank you for mentioning the children's activities, and entertainment around the pool. We hope to see you again real soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014

If you're looking for a swanky hotel with all the fancy amenities, then this isn't the place for you. But if you want a nice clean room, friendly staff, indoor/outdoor pool, and easy beach access, then this is the place. I've only stayed here in the winter (so all the summer bars, grills, etc don't apply), but have enjoyed it every time. Yes, the furniture is dated, but the hotel paints and upgrades an entire floor every year, so they DO keep it nice. Elevator slow? You're on vacation, what's the hurry? My folks and I get a 2-bedroom suite w/ small kitchen, table & 4 chairs, sofa and a balcony. What we save by staying here allows us to eat out often; and the full kitchen allows for making meals when we don't want to go out. We gladly come back every winter!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear Joanne L,
Thank you for writing a review about your repeated stays at the Reef. You expressed it very well...If folks are looking for a new property, or a franchised hotel experience, the Reef is not the right fit. While the hotel is older, the staff is committed to friendly and helpful guest service and a clean, comfortable room. Our greatest amenity is right outside the door with 60 miles of white, sandy beaches. We hope to see you back this winter!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I have never been more grossed out at a hotel in my life. Black mold in bathroom, stain on sheets. Rotten egg smell from a/c, constantly running sink faucet and bathroom light didnt always come on,just starts the list. Front desk people were absolutely non helpful and did not address a single issue. Pool was packed with people who werent even staying at hotel. Garbage everywhere. Housekeeping only replaces towels and removes garbage everyday and often had to wait for clean shower towels. We honestly contemplated sleeping in the car because it was so gross and noisy.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reef2101, Manager at The Reef Myrtle Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

AngelaG
We regret that you were displeased with the accommodations at the Reef. Upon reading your inflammatory review, we searched through the Manager on Duty log book, but could not identify your reviewer name with a registered guest's room issue. Again, we apologize that you were dissatisfied, but we can find no information to address this.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Ocean Park Resort, Oceana Resorts
0.1 mi away
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
Sandcastle South Beach Resort
#108 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
826 reviews
2.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#144 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#98 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,020 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
0.7 mi away
Sea Horn Motel
Sea Horn Motel
#140 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Myrtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Myrtle Beach

Address: 2101 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4734
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#93 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £39 - £191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Reef Myrtle Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 123
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All our suites are oceanfront with a private balcony. Our comfortable well-equipped rooms have kitchens with microwaves, coffee makers and toasters. Our prime location along the grand strand of Myrtle Beach makes area attractions easily accessible. Award winning entertainment and dining surround you. You can shop at the nearby Coastal Grand Mall and newly built Market Commons. Amusement parks and incredible miniature golf courses thrill the young and the young at heart. It's easy to experience all the fun of Myrtle Beach while staying at The Reef. We also sell tickets to many area shows and attractions, packaging is also available! Oceanfront or indoors, The Reef provides a lot of water fun for everyone. Swim from our oceanfront pool to our indoor swimming area. There you will also want to indulge in one our two relaxing whirlpools. There are 1o swim attractions available to you, including a lazy river and large ocean front kiddie pools! Children will enjoy free daily activities during the summer months and their parents will appreciate a night out while the children are entertained by The Reef staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Reef Myrtle Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Reef At South Beach Hotel Myrtle Beach
Reef At South Beach Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing