We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Long Weekend Getaway!”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #143 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The only complaint I have is that the water temperature in the shower was very random. It was scalding hot and then freezing even though I never changed anything. Other than that, the room was more than adequate for a long weekend. We did enjoy the indoor jacuzzi since it was cold outside! It was a great way to relax after a long shopping day! I guess the location of the vending machines was a bit of an issue, but not a "complaint" per se. They are all outside, so it was alittle uncomfortable to go out at night. I am hesitant to venture out in a parking garage at night alone for all the obvious reasons. That is avoidable with alittle better planning on my part however! All in all this is a better than average hotel especially for the rate!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking a moment to post a review for us. We are sorry for your water issues and have sent the Maintenance Manager to look at this issue. We strive to always do our very best. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the indoor hot tub.. We hope that you will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,508)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

860 - 866 of 1,508 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2013

It is a very nice place everybody is very very nice but the beds was hard as a brick it made my neck stiff could not move it and it gave my wife a bad back. She slept on the floor!!!! And the toilet made noise everyday and night all night and was very loud like somebody outside drilling pavement with a jackhammer

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanda819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are sorry that you had any issues while staying on property and have passed your comments onto the appropriate manager. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for your staff comments. We strive to do our very best. We hope that you will return again to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We love Hotel Blue and went back again this year for our 18th wedding anniversary. We were up high and loved it up there on the very end. 8th floor. The rooms are not carpeted and I think it's because of the sand and water coming in to much. You can let your hair down there and just be yourself and have a good time. The hotel workers are very freindly and don't make you wait. Our room had a microwave and frig and that's all we needed. We don't cook. I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Blue for a memorable vacation time and the price was right for us!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funlovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

We would like to thank you for spending such a special time with us and for posting a review for your vacation... We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a great place for the money, rooms were great and staff was on top of everything. Would recomend to anybody, good location. Close to all attractions, rooms were roomy and clean, will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

We are so glad that you choose to spend your vacation with us, and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stayed here to bring in the 2013 New Year and with the package alone with the hotel price you just couldn't beat it with a stick at all. Free bowling each night, free breakfast on New Years Day, late 1 o'clock check out , free cocktail and drink to toast the New Year plus free food during the party. The overall stay was great because the staff we willing to help you out in anyway they could to make you happy. I would recommend this hotel to any of my family and friends for a great stay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmack1911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Thank you so much for ringing in the New Year with us. We are so glad that you had an awesome time. We strive to do our very best and show each of our guest a fun-filled and enjoyable vacation experience. Come and see us again as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Hotel Blue, for the price during this time of year we were most pleased. Al Cooper was most helpful. He gave us information about the area and made sure our accomodations were to our sastisfaction. In the off season I'm sure we will stay at Hotel Blue again. I especially liked the parking and being able to access my car quickly from room. Thanks for a great stay. Ask for Al Cooper, he will make sure your room is satisfactory.
Wallace/Williams family

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MsAYWallace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 1 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are so glad that you enjoyed your vacation with us and found our garage easy access. Thank you for your kind words, we agree Al always strives to give 110% and are excited to show your comments to him. We hope you will return to see us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012

We stayed at Hotel Blue the week before Christmas. I will tell you from the start - if you want fancy furniture or fancy paintings on the wall, this place is not for you. But - if you are the type who just wants a comfortable bed, clean, wonderful staff who goes out of their way to take care of you, smile every time they see you, ask what they can do for you, help you find the most convenient way to move about the property with a disabled, elderly parent - then this place is GREAT. Our room was spotless. The kitchen sparkled - even the pots and pans. The housekeeping staff used the towels to make different designs and made the bathroom and kitchen look like someone actually cared when cleaning the room. Our housekeeper had a ready smile, she even washed my dishes one day when I was having a particularly tough day getting around (I had spine surgery and some days just aren't as good as others and I had my 86 year old mother with me) but she saw the dishes weren't washed and after she cleaned the room she washed my dishes. Who does that?!!!!!!!!!!!! I would go back to this place over and over. Again - if you want fancy furniture you won't like this place. It's serviceable, it's clean, it's well cared for, I understand the hotel might have its share of young people during the summer months but it was as quiet as a church mouse the entire time were were there (the week before Christmas).

Room Tip: We wanted a room on a lower floor because of our disabilities but we wanted to be up enough to see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pamela R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2012

Thank you so much for taking a moment out of your time to write a review for us. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and are excited to pass your comments onto our staff. We strive to make your stay an enjoyable fun-filled vacation.. We hope that you will come see us again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#96 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,412 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,233 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#141 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#88 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
448 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#38 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at the Pavilion
Sandcastle Oceanfront Resort at ...
#142 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
709 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £60 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing