We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Honeymoon”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #138 of 207 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We came in January and it was great. We enjoyed the ocean on our own and looked at things that we could come back to with the whole family! Hotel Blue was great for my husband and I to relax and enjoy the time we had together. The hot tubs indoor and out was a very relaxing touch to our trip. Being that Hotel Blue was right on the Ocean was great and its also a walking distance to many other things that we like to enjoy!

Room Tip: We were on the 10 floor with an Ocean front suite, it was very relaxing and we had an awesome view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 11Rose_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2013

Thank you for spending such a special time with us. We are so glad to hear that your 2nd honeymoon was relaxing for you for both. We hope that you will come see us again as soon as you can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,514)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

863 - 869 of 1,514 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2013

We have stayed at Hotel Blue a number of times and have enjoyed it each time. This time it was a 4 day weekend to celebrate my wife's birthday. The weather was amazing for January - 70's and 80's all 4 days. But what I was most impressed this time was the staff. Every staff member we came in contact with was very pleasant, polite, curtious and helpfull. In this day and age customer service is becoming a rarity. Not so at Hotel Blue. We thank you for a wonderful trip and look forward to staying with you again. Well done!!

Room Tip: Spring to the Oceanfront rooms. It not that much more and it's worth it. Get up early at least...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geroge C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Wow! Thank you for writing such a positive review for us and your kinds words about the staff. We are all about customer service and are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for spending such a special time with us.. Happy Birthday! Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2013

From the time we choose the room we wanted and untill we left it was great. We checked in on Friday January 11,2013 and checked out on Tuesday January 15,2013 could not have asked for a better staff that treated you like gold. Our room was on the 15th floor and ocean front and what a view,the room was clean and very large,we had some guest that stoped by on Saturday night and the front desk was so helpful in getting them parked with no issues. Would recomend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing get away. Hope to make it back soon. Can't wait until the summer to visit.

Room Tip: Ocean Front and up on the top floors. For a great view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabrina J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 21 January 2013

Thank you for writing a review for us and for your kind words about the staff. We strive to do our very best and we are glad it shows.. We are so happy you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to seeing you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

The only complaint I have is that the water temperature in the shower was very random. It was scalding hot and then freezing even though I never changed anything. Other than that, the room was more than adequate for a long weekend. We did enjoy the indoor jacuzzi since it was cold outside! It was a great way to relax after a long shopping day! I guess the location of the vending machines was a bit of an issue, but not a "complaint" per se. They are all outside, so it was alittle uncomfortable to go out at night. I am hesitant to venture out in a parking garage at night alone for all the obvious reasons. That is avoidable with alittle better planning on my part however! All in all this is a better than average hotel especially for the rate!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kimberly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you so much for taking a moment to post a review for us. We are sorry for your water issues and have sent the Maintenance Manager to look at this issue. We strive to always do our very best. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and enjoyed the indoor hot tub.. We hope that you will return to see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2013

It is a very nice place everybody is very very nice but the beds was hard as a brick it made my neck stiff could not move it and it gave my wife a bad back. She slept on the floor!!!! And the toilet made noise everyday and night all night and was very loud like somebody outside drilling pavement with a jackhammer

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanda819
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

Thank you for posting a review for us. We are sorry that you had any issues while staying on property and have passed your comments onto the appropriate manager. We are glad that you enjoyed your vacation and thank you for your staff comments. We strive to do our very best. We hope that you will return again to visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

We love Hotel Blue and went back again this year for our 18th wedding anniversary. We were up high and loved it up there on the very end. 8th floor. The rooms are not carpeted and I think it's because of the sand and water coming in to much. You can let your hair down there and just be yourself and have a good time. The hotel workers are very freindly and don't make you wait. Our room had a microwave and frig and that's all we needed. We don't cook. I highly recommend staying at the Hotel Blue for a memorable vacation time and the price was right for us!!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Funlovers2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2013

We would like to thank you for spending such a special time with us and for posting a review for your vacation... We hope that you will come and stay with us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This is a great place for the money, rooms were great and staff was on top of everything. Would recomend to anybody, good location. Close to all attractions, rooms were roomy and clean, will stay again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

We are so glad that you choose to spend your vacation with us, and even more pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#91 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,434 reviews
1.9 mi away
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
Atlantica Oceanfront Resort
#143 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
10 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Patricia Grand, Oceana Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,234 reviews
1.5 mi away
Sun N Sand Resort
Sun N Sand Resort
#105 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
1,036 reviews
2.5 mi away
Carolinian Beach Resort
Carolinian Beach Resort
#67 of 207 in Myrtle Beach
2,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#80 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £49 - £193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing