We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for a Groupon”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #144 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great for a Groupon”
Reviewed 30 January 2013

My wife and I took advantage of a Sun - Tues getaway by using our groupon for an $89 stay with free breakfast and an oceanfront balcony view. We were made away of the additional "resort" fee as well as the breakfast at the other facility and went anyway. While we are used to 5 star stays we knew exactly what we were getting into and looked at our stay for what it was - a quick getaway to hear the ocean and put our heads down to sleep and nothing more for a late January stay. The water temperature was playing "use me when I'm hot" for the shower as well as shaving but being patient were able to accomplish those goals. The breakfast was good and we had no wait and everyone in both venues were friendly and helpful and we did use the indoor jacuzzi which was refreshing. We would use the groupon again if necessary but we would also try other venues if offered a King size bed stay which we did not know we could not upgrade upon arrival. I would recommend asking ALL questions before booking anywhere in the future travelers - Bill & Sheila N

Room Tip: If you have ANY questions make sure you ASK them BEFORE booking to make sure your eyes are open to a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for staying with us using the groupon specials. We are sorry for the shower and have passed that onto our maint. Manager. We are continually making improvements to our resort and hope that you will come see us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    358
    344
    206
    177
    377
See reviews for
540
474
33
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (353)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
El Segundo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2013

Nice location and views. I didn't think think the service and attitude from the front desk was anything more than average, however the clean staff was very friendly.Room was OK but the hotel is in need of some updating. Was disappointed to discover a roach problem, maybe that was because the room was on the 1st floor next to pool. Went with my girlfriend over a long weekend in Oct, I'm hesitant to recommend staying here unless some changes are made going forward.

Room Tip: Fitness center is next door, small but does have variety. Dont stay next to pool on a lower floor on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bt43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
We are sorry to hear that your stay was not up to par. We take all our comments serious and have passed them to the correct managers. We strive to do our very best and show all our guest a great vacation. We are continually making improvements to our property and hope that you will consider visiting us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 January 2013

this is our first time staying here and we enjoy the peoples and staff.we will come back again we ware here for our 32nd anniversary.while we ware there.we walk on the board walk and ate crab lesg and all kinds of sea food and walk on the beach and pick up sea shils and the hot tub was so wounderful and we shop.and just did a lot of things while we ware there.our room was ocean front the weather was good and we ware there for 3 days myrtle beach is the place to go on your vacation

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you so much for spending such a special time with us and for sharing your comments with everyone. We are so happy to hear that you had a great time and loved the area, close shopping and of course the crab legs..YUM! We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnson City, Tennessee
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I had read many reviews of this property and was apprehensive regarding our stay. Yes the hotel is older and has a few minor condition issues-as does any other similar hotel on the Strand. We stayed in an Oceanfront King room with a fridge and microwave. There was a cabinet for snacks and lots of drawers for our clothing. Wi-fi was fast and reliable. There were a few dings in the wall and the mini-fridge had a bit of rust on the door-understandable considering the humidity and the salt exposure. This is a moderately priced hotel and not the Ritz. It is used and abused by guests on a daily basis and cannot be expected to be 100% perfect. What it was though, was clean, well-located and staffed by a crew of friendly, courteous, helpful people. I saw one Palmetto bug, but he was deceased. No other bugs or roaches were observed. The room was adequately furnished and the bed was comfortable. The common areas were clean and the pools were nicely maintained and stocked with towels. I saw employees adding chemicals to the pool and spray-washing the decking regularly. Housekeeping was always busy sweeping and vacuuming the hallways and kept our room clean and well stocked with towels. The parking garage is small and the corners are rather tight, so be careful driving through there. If you are expecting a 5-Star experience, this isn't the place for you. But if you want a clean, comfortable, reasonably priced hotel, located in the heart of the beach with a friendly helpful staff, this may be just what you are looking for. FYI our stay was in January. There were lots of guests but the hotel was not at capacity during our stay. And yes, I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We had an Oceanfront King room with a fridge and microwave. Very adequate for our needs. Great view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank geoiggits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for sharing your experience with everyone. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your comments on the staff. We strive to do our very best and show all our guest a great vacation.. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlottesville
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

My girlfriend and I wanted an off season mini-vacation to Myrtle Beach so we did what all budget-conscious couples do, we went on Groupon and found a great deal for a two night ocean front stay in Myrtle Beach. The ad boasted all the amenities available at the hotel to include on site restaurant and swim-up bar for only $99.

We arrived around 10pm and found several more budget conscious patrons with Groupons in the lobby waiting to check in. We were immediately told that the Groupon price did not include resort fees so we had to pay an additional $40. We were also told that the Groupon price only included double junior efficiencies. Not very couple-friendly, so we asked to upgrade to a King Suite, which costs $149 for two nights, only $10 more than our Groupon deal ending up costing us, but were told that we would have to first cancel our Groupon. Unfortunately we couldn't do that at 10pm because the Groupon cancellation office was closed, and canceling our stay would incur an additional $25 fee :(. Not a good start.

While trying to call Groupon the hotel staff disappeared and left us standing in the lobby for 10 minutes. I was finally forced to call out with an "HELLO!" Because obviously hotels don't use bells anymore. Someone returned and quickly checked us in. We parked and went up to our room. The elevator appeared dated and rudimentary. A box that went up and down.


The hallway gave me a cheap hotel vibe and if I had closed my eyes I could have imagined standing in a Motel 6. We entered our room and besides the glass sliding doors with the amazing ocean view, the room appeared to be a fancy garage. Small, square one-car garage with no frills and no personality. Great for sleeping and nothing else. Definitely took away from the romantic vibe of the moon and the ocean from the balcony.

The small kitchenette was stocked with dishes. The small bathroom was not stocked at all. All the super amenities, like the onsite restaurant and swim up bar was closed. We received a coupon for free breakfast for two, but had to walk down the street to another hotel to eat it. There the restaurant was overcrowded, the food quality was poor and we had to wait almost 30 minutes to be seated.

I would say do not stay here unless you have no choice. It would be better to stay at the hotel with the Restaurant, and if you do decide to stay here, don't get tricked into buying a Groupon. It's no deal with the hidden $40 resort fee.

-Malo & Crystal


Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank JoeMalo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Myrtle Beach hotels

Plattsburgh, New York
1 review
Reviewed 19 January 2013

Price of room was amazing; even though I know it was off season. We planned on staying two nights but, due to the weather, ended up staying 8 nights. Unfortunately, due to the fact that I cannot submit this without a 200 character minimum, I am typing this last statement for nothing.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgos4745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for taking a moment to write a review for us. We are sorry the weather wasnt the best while you were here but so glad that you could stay with us longer. We look forward to your return and we are crossing our fingers that the next trip is much better weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ararat, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 19 January 2013

We came in January and it was great. We enjoyed the ocean on our own and looked at things that we could come back to with the whole family! Hotel Blue was great for my husband and I to relax and enjoy the time we had together. The hot tubs indoor and out was a very relaxing touch to our trip. Being that Hotel Blue was right on the Ocean was great and its also a walking distance to many other things that we like to enjoy!

Room Tip: We were on the 10 floor with an Ocean front suite, it was very relaxing and we had an awesome view o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11Rose_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelBlueManager, Manager at Hotel Blue, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Thank you for spending such a special time with us. We are so glad to hear that your 2nd honeymoon was relaxing for you for both. We hope that you will come see us again as soon as you can.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#93 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,290 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#82 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,187 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#35 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#91 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
427 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#15 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
986 reviews
1.0 mi away
Paradise Resort
Paradise Resort
#22 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Property: Hotel Blue
Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing