We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK, but want stay again”
Review of Hotel Blue

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Blue
Ranked #142 of 209 Hotels in Myrtle Beach
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We chose to stay at Hotel Blue because of the Swim up bar. Upon arriving the room was clean and nice. Through the carpet was dirty and left your feet black. We had an Ocean View room on the 8th floor and even with the parking garage it wasn’t noisy at all. The staff was very friendly and nice to all of us. Upon making our reservation we requested smoking room near the elevator which we received. View was nice, pool, lazy river, and Hot tub was all nice. Found it bothersome to have to walk to Captains Quarters for the other pool features due to traveling with 3 senior citizens.
We arrived on Monday 9/14 and leaving Friday 9/18, on Tuesday night we killed a very large roach in the kitchen area, Upon letting house keeping know, they sprayed while we where out. The Kitchen faucet sprayed water out the side when it was on, and the TV was in CC mode all the time and the remote would not fix it. It was adjusted Tuesday morning but upon turning it back on it came back. The tub had burn marks on the side and we never figured out what was on the wall near the toilet. The beds slept good and overall it was a nice stay. The worse part was that the pool side bar closed at 6pm and the bar at Captains Quarters closed at 8pm, as well you are not allowed to smoke on the pool deck. Due to the hours of the bar we will not be staying again. Overall it was a wonderful place with the exception of a few problems.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talley1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,498)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Blue
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,297 - 1,303 of 1,498 reviews

Reviewed 16 September 2009

My wife and I stayed in Hotel Blue for a week and although our stay was pleasant, there were many little issues that kept coming up throughout our stay. The pool area is nice, and the manager was friendly and helpful when he was there, and the room was big with a nice view. However, if you are below the 9th floor then you might be right beside the underground parking lot.
1. We were both registered as guests in the hotel, and when some friends tried to contact us the hotel desk said they did not have either of us registered as guests. A family member tried to contact us with an emergency and got the same response.
2. Out faucet in the bathroom was constantly dripping or leaking
3. Our toilet was running after every flush
4. The sheets are pretty thin
5. the carpet is old and kind of nasty
6. The pool and hot tub were always rammed with people
7. it looked like there was a poo stain on the door to the bathroom
8. I think there was mold growing on part of the wall paper
Besides the phone situation, none of these things really bothered us while we were there, we were still able to relax.
Overall, I probably would not stay there again, but it was definitly nicer than the 3 palms which is right next door and doble the money.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank darcyd311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2009

We arrived thursday night, first night a 2 year old child ran up and down the hallway yelling hey, hey hey all night. This went on till4 am in the morning. People were staying here were knocking on doors all night long, guest had their TV's turned up all night long. Security kept telling people on the balconies to quiet it down. House keeping even though a do not disturb sign on the door still knocked and was very rude on 2 occasions. ( we stayed for 4 days). We figured that after the summer season the place wouldn't be so rowdy. WRONG. We asked for washclothes, they were not sent up.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank livingonedge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Good for the price. The rooms are old...we didn't have a clock, or any pictures on the walls and the walls are too thin. The rooms are in need of some repair. On the positive side the rooms were very clean and a good size, you could smell the cleaner before you opened the door. Also, free breakfast and bowling is a blast...the pool and hot tub are really nice and so is the lobby...you also can use all of captains q's pools which is really cool! The swim up bar was awesome as well...and don't listen to people that say it is over priced...mixed drinks are around 5.00...that's around regular bar price. It wasn't a great family place, but is relaxing place for a couple. You never have to worry about parking either. Over all you get what you pay for, and if you are going on a budget it's an okay place to visit. If you have a family go next door to the Sea Crest...it's worth the money!

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vm158800
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2009

You get what you pay for... The hotel staff was awesome, the room is not the Ritzs or even the Hilton I am happy we were in the executive suite I would may not have been happy in another room. But for the price this was a good deal, the breafast, location, and the sound of the ocean made up for the small inconvience of a nice room. The view of the ocean is great!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KyKasey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

I went down with a few friends for a 5 day stay down at Myrtle Beach. I booked the hotel because another friend saw it in a AAA travel guide, and the pictures looked awesome. I called, booked the hotel, the price was awesome for 5 days we paid $140 per person total between 4 people. I then started to read reviews online that said the place was a disaster, this actually kind of got me a little apprehensive about it, but it was booked and we all decided to give it a shot and see what happens.

Pros: The hotel was right on the beach, couldn't ask for anything more. The room we stayed it had 3 rooms, bathroom, walk-in closet, and 2 balconies. The bedroom had 2 twins and the living room had a twin murphy bed (which comes out of the wall.) Both rooms had working TV's with cable tv. The kitchen came with all the basics and had appliances that all worked. We were located on the 8th floor which had a fantastic view even though our room was ocean view, not ocean front. When we went parking was not a problem, there were always spots available, of course I'm sure that may be different depending on the time you go during the year. Housekeeping and people at the front desk were very nice.

Cons: The carpets in the rooms were not the cleanest, if you were to walk all day long in the room without shoes your feet would turn black, otherwise the rooms were very clean. Our room looked like it was repainted awhile ago and the work was kind of basic, there were spots that the painters missed, as well as one of the doors actually were not completely finished yet, it had wood putty on it and was in the process of being finished. Personally for me that's no biggy, its cosmetic and doesn't kill anyone.

Overall experience: If I were to go to Myrtle Beach, SC again i would definitely stay at the Hotel Blue, for the price it is definitely worth the shot, its no 4 or 5 star in Vegas, but then again you don't pay those prices either.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donzilla2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2009

The rooms are old. There were ants and our room smelled like urine. There was not 1 piece of art or decorations. The pool was nice, but not nice enough to stay again. We were there for 4 days and no one cleaned our room. Do not stay here!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lhabers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Myrtle Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Captains Quarters Resort
Captains Quarters Resort
#103 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,369 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Resort
The Palace Resort
#83 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,223 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay View on the Boardwalk
Bay View on the Boardwalk
#37 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
2,248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#90 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Grand Strand Inn & Suites
2.6 mi away
The Strand A Boutique Resort
The Strand A Boutique Resort
#14 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
1,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Blue

Address: 705 S Ocean Blvd, Myrtle Beach, SC 29577-4481 (Formerly Tropical Winds)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#82 On the Beach Hotel in Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £64 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Blue 3*
Number of rooms: 228
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Blue reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Hotel Myrtle Beach
Tropical Winds Myrtle Beach Sc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing