We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Thank God--no more smoking” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Palms Grill and Bar

The Palms Grill and Bar
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Newberry
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newberry, South Carolina
Level Contributor
51 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Thank God--no more smoking”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

I am so thankful they stopped allowing smoking! The food and service is alway really good but the smoking was totally over powering!

The blue plate is always a great deal. Love the salads, burgers, and wraps. They have wonderful soups for cold weather! Make sure you go for hibachi night!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ADennis1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    19
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food and good prices”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The staff is always friendly and food is excellent. Bartenders are always on top of getting you a drink. Overall not one bad thing I can say.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carrie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, but...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Too much sauce on the BBQ shrimp and grits. I would order this again, but ask them to go easy on the sauce as it overwhelmed the taste of the shrimp.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Janet N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A little more effort and it would be great.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

I've eaten here about 5 times. I had a cheeseburger once and if I had to guess it was cooked at a high heat right out of the freezer -overdone on the outside and still pink on the inside. The club sandwich was ok, like a 3.5/5 or so. The bbq shrimp and grits were really good, although maybe a buck or two too expensive. One of my visits included someone in the kitchen yelling curse words at other employee(s), that was unpleasant... I've had a few different well drinks and they're ok, and I like that they have Guiness on draught. I've had mostly good service from a friendly staff. One time there was about a 20 minute gap between my drink order and my food order, other than that the service is pretty good. Overall, I wouldn't go out of my way to recommend it to someone else but if I get sick of my usual restaurants in Newberry I might eat here in a pinch.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mkzf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the lunch.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

Very good value. Love the Boom Boom shrimp. There was enough in the appetizer just to make a meal.
Split a club with my firned, plenty for both of us.
Restaurant was a little on the chilly side and a little dark for the middle of the day.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elisha M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to The Palms Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing