We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Steaks”

The Palms Grill and Bar
Ranked #9 of 47 Restaurants in Newberry
Price range: US$8 - US$25
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Great Steaks”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We took a party of six here after graduation and had a really good time. Our waiter Billy was from Chicago and took excellent care of us. The French Onion Rib Eye Steak was a special that night so I gave it a try.
A nice juicy rib eye arrived at the table smothered in onions, cheese and a palm sized piece of bread resting underneath everything on top of the steak. One bite and I was in love! Others ordered the ribs and they were definitely "Fall Off The Bone" tender. The Boom Boom shrimp closely resembled the Bang Bang shrimp at another unnamed restaurant and quickly disappeared.
The dining choices are a little sparse in this college town, but The Palms Grill is a winner!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCatchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    21
    16
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newberry, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Poor management”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Attempted to get dinner on a Saturday night. There was a 20 minute wait with 5 empty tables and empty outside seating. Waitresses were outside smoking.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Frogette1377
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

We took a trip up to Newberry because the weather was great and decided to get some wind therapy. Remember going here on a dine and ride with Harley Haven a couple of years ago but was in such a rush, I didn't get to relax.
Was met by the manager and made to feel like this was our place to do what we wanted, when we wanted. We were given everything (short of a tour of the kitchen) we needed to make our dining and beverage selections. Good old fashioned Hospitality and the friendliest employee's I have ever met. ( and we go lots of places).
Great selection of quick food and adult beverages along with good sweet tea . Plenty of tv's for sports junkies or just sit and relax and talk.
Will make the 40 mile drive again soon as this rates high on our scale.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island SC
Level Contributor
139 reviews
92 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“A Good Choice”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

At the recommendation of our hotel desk clerk, we stopped at the Palms Grill, looking for a simple meal before a concert at the Newberry Opera House. It was a good choice. Our waitress was very friendly, and patiently explained a number of options on their menu. The decor is a little worn and dated, but was fine for a casual meal. Although we didn't check it out during this visit, the restaurant appeared to have a very nice bar area. Our food was good, not great. Palms Grill would not be my recommendation for a special night out, but for a quick sandwich or a light meal, it's well worth a visit. We would go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PawleysDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sc
Level Contributor
60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Best kept secret in Newberry”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

We learned about this place from a clerk in a gift shop, and so glad we did. We would have never known it was there. It's off the beaten path, but very popular with locals. My daughter and I meet in Newberry, halfway between her residence and mine. We were eating light that evening, and both ordered the chicken salad croissant, she got a side of fresh green beans cooked southern style.
Both were delicious, and the chicken salad sandwich had enough chicken salad for 3 meals. It was really good salad. The menu there was varied, you could choose from a wide variety of choices. Our server was very pleasant and efficient...wish I could remember her name. We will definitely go there again...it is a great place to meet, and I want to try some of the other offerings the menu had.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kthywin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Palms Grill and Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Palms Grill and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing