We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Town”
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We wanted something near Augusta during the Masters that wasn't $400 night. Newberry was out of the way a little but it is a lovely town. The staff was nice. Room temperature worked great. Our room was quiet. The only issue was even on a non-smoking floor my eyes seem to detect smoke. It wasn't bad, just a little annoying. Breakfast was good. Only a detection of smoke inside keeps me from giving an excellent review. But I would return.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrekRef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
We are so excited that your travels were able to bring you to Newberry during the Masters. We thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel letting other travelers know about our friendly staff and wonderful accommodations. Newberry is a unique and special town and it would be a delight if you have the opportunity to come back sometime and experience some of our festivals, shows at the Opera House and just indulge in the history of our town. Our entire staff extends a welcome to you to come anytime and wishes you safe travels always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

465 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    254
    125
    40
    27
    19
See reviews for
156
132
26
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
oakdale, United States
1 review
Reviewed 8 April 2014

I rate this place as a 9 plus. The heating control failed to reduce temp from 75°F down to reasonable night time temp. I did not complain to mgmt. Great complimentary breakfast. VERY clean place. about 5 miles off the interstate but paid about $14 less than the HOL Inn on the interstate.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Brian,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Our units have a selection that allows the unit to act as a ceiling fan which does prevent the room from cooling and heating. Please always allow us the opportunity to assist you while you are here to make your stay as comfortable and enjoyable as it can be.

As a hotel, we understand that we may not be perfect and that we may sometimes drop the ball and fail in our deliverance of customer service. However, if it weren't for you and all of our other guests coming to stay with us, we wouldn't have any use for this hotel and about 30 people would be out of a job. Therefore, we do listen to the positive and negative feedback that our guest share. It may not always be what we want to hear but if we truly want to be the hotel who stands for something and thinks out of the box, and works hard to build relationships with all of our guests so we do grow and have a purpose that challenges us to be different and be extraordinary, then we have to listen. The only way to get to that goal is to travel the journey our guests experience and take that knowledge and learn from it or change our direction so we are on track as best as we can be. If there is possibly something we can do to make anyone's stay more comfortable, than we want to take care of it as quickly as we can.

Hamptonality starts with me and the rest of our team will reflect that same attitude when they have an example to follow and feel encouraged along the way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel is average. Definitely would recommend some other hotels in Columbia Area or other Hampton Inn at Clinton. Hotel is quite noisy and management is not too professional, but this is definitely the best hotel in Newberry area.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Pawel K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 8 April 2014
Dear Pawel,
We value all the feedback we receive from our guest, both positive and negative, because it allows us an opportunity to make our hotel, our staff and our services the best it can be. While we will not always please everyone, it is a wonderful opportunity to grow and move forward to be a hotel who is willing to try something out of the box and go the extra mile to be the place that is different or has it's own unique little flare. Your feedback gives us much to reflect on and I apologize for your frustrations. We hope that all of our traveling guests can understand our policy that if you are paying for a reservation in cash that the amount must be paid in full at check-in and not at checkout. On behalf of the staff, We love that your travels bring you to the United States and especially to our little unique town of Newberry. We look forward to building a relationship with you and delight in your return. Travel safe always.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscle Shoals
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

We stay at this Hampton Inn everytime The Oak Ridge Boys play the Newberry Opera House just across the street! The staff is very nice and the motel is very clean with a wonderful breakfast...and on top of that we love The Newberry Opera House!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 21 March 2014
Dear Anne, We are so thrilled that you had a wonderful time at the Opera House when the Oakridge Boys were here and our staff tries very hard to take care of our guests and make them feel at home. It makes my heart smile to know time after time you experience that hospitality when visiting with us. Thank you for sharing your continued faith with us so that other travelers who have not had the opportunity to visit us will know that we will welcome them with friendly smiles, clean and comfortable rooms and above everything else show them how hospitable we truly are. Come back and visit soon and travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leavenworth, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This is one of the nicest Hampton we've stayed in. Always clean & fresh. The staff are great and very helpful. They always have fresh coffee and cookies available. The breakfast is hot and plenty of it to go around. Our family has gathered in the lobby for hours and unlike other hotels, we are never told to "move on"! This means a lot to us since we are out of state traveling. We make it a point to use this hotel whenever we can!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 15 March 2014
James,
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and had an opportunity to experience the family atmosphere of our hotel, along with our clean and comfortable rooms, hot breakfast and friendly staff. We want our guests experience with us to be so much more than a stop from one place to another but a place they want to come back and visit over and over. We hope that will be you again real soon. Take care and travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pawleys Island SC
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Hampton Inns are our preferred choice when traveling, and this hotel did not disappoint. We were in Newberry for a concert at the Opera House, and the Hampton Inn is the perfect choice, located only a 2-minute walk away. The staff was friendly and efficient. While there were a few clues they perhaps could benefit from a little more training, we had no complaints.

Our room was large and comfortable. There were some signs of normal wear and tear, ie. slow drains, worn carpet, etc; but important items such as TV, WIFI, and shower all worked perfectly, and the heating system was blessedly quiet. The complimentary breakfast is one reason we choose Hampton Inns, and the breakfast at this location was one of the best we have experienced. Despite a large crowd in the hotel that morning, the lady working the breakfast area went out of her way to make sure everything was fresh and remained well-stocked, all with a smile and friendly word for everyone there. If your plans include an overnight visit to Newberry, the Hampton Inn is highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PawleysDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and giving us the opportunity to accommodate you during your travels. It was a pleasure having you and hope we can do it again real soon. Perhaps for another show at the Opera House or one of the festivals the city is hosting. Newberry is a wonderful stopover to any destination and it certainly holds it's own adventure to be "the destination". As a staff we appreciate you sharing your experience so other travelers can have the inside scoop that we value clean rooms, customer service and most importantly serving a wonderful breakfast so all guests can start their day off with a fantastic start. Thank you for being our guest and travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southport, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

After a long wait for someone to show up at the front desk so I could check in, I found that my supposedly nonsmoking room reeked of smoke. When I notified the person at the front desk she was extremely uncooperative and rude. Although I finally got a decent room, I would never stay at this place again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
2 Thank Marilyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 4 March 2014
MarilynB, we are so glad that you stayed with us. The General Manager and I apologize that a previous guest smoked in the room you were originally assigned, but are glad that we had another room available for you. I apologize that the front desk staff was not as attentive as you needed her to be and we reminded her how imperative it is to take care of all guest with a positive and professional disposition and as quickly as possible. Customer service is extremely important to us and we appreciate you sharing your experience so we can continue to work towards our goal of awesome customer service...Hampton style.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clinton
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Clinton
Comfort Suites Clinton
#2 of 4 in Clinton
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Clinton
Quality Inn Clinton
#3 of 4 in Clinton
83 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newberry
Days Inn Newberry
#3 of 4 in Newberry
164 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lake Murray Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Property: Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Address: 1201 Nance St, Newberry, SC 29108-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House Hotel Newberry
Newberry Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing