We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good stay”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Motel is better than average with a good breakfast. It is in downtown Newberry. There is a great restaurant just a short walk across the street called Stephen W's-- There is a bar next door to the restaurant.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank O6647YGjohnw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
We are so delighted that you enjoyed our hotel and the convenience of having restaurants and bars within walking distance. We are snuggled right in the heart of Newberry...the downtown area...where you are sure to find something for everyone. We are so glad you were here and experienced some of the excitement and charm of our special city. We hope to have you again and wish you safe travels always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    124
    40
    27
    19
See reviews for
156
132
26
93
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Prosperity, SC, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Front desk staff appeared to be inexperienced, and were not helpful. Due to the inn being full for graduation, I was forced in to a smoking room. The room smelled awful. The smell permeated the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank William B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 14 May 2014
William, thank you for sharing your review. I am deeply sorry that your Advance Purchase reservation was made for a smoking room. When a guest makes a non-refundable reservation online and they accidentally make it for the wrong room type, we try to accommodate them when we have availability. I do apologize that we were sold out for a college graduation and a wedding and could not change the room type for you. I hope you enjoyed the rest of your stay. We hope to accommodate you again in the future and always wish you safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Our family was in town for Newberry College graduation. We were really disappointed with the condition of the room.

The sleeper sofa was broken and held together with zip ties. We notified the front desk on Friday upon arrival and I watched her make a notation on the Maintenance Log. We re positioned the zip ties our self Friday night so that it could be used. We got back in the room late Saturday night and discovered that the sleeper had not been repaired and was still held together by the two zip ties we had fashioned the prior night.

There was one pillow in the closet, and notified front desk we needed another. A few minutes later there was a knock at the door and a pillow was delivered. It wasn't until we went to lay down we noticed the pillow did not have a pillow case on it. At this point we just put a t shirt over it and knew we would be checking out soon.

The room was not what you would expect to see at a Hampton Inn. The grout in the bathroom is peeling, stains on the wall and the finish on the shelf where the coffee maker is located was worn down to bare wood.

There were two lamps in the suite section, one had a CFL bulb and the other was an incandescent bulb so half the room was bright white and the other half was yellow.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnthonyCatchum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Anthony, we do apologize for your inconvenience. We value all the feedback we receive from our guest, both positive and negative, because it allows us an opportunity to make our hotel, our staff and our services the best it can be. While we will not always please everyone, it is a wonderful opportunity to grow and move forward to be a hotel that is willing to try something out of the box and go the extra mile to be the place that is different or has its own unique little flare. We are working on training our staff not on just the fundamentals and procedures but since they are a younger generation how to serve with integrity, humility and empathy. We have had a gentleman working on the grout in the bathrooms for two weeks now and I apologize that he did not get to your room before your arrival. We just celebrated our 12th anniversary in March and are please with the renovations and upgrades to the lobby, breakfast area, business center, fitness center and pool. We continue to be excited about the renovations and upgrades that will take place in our rooms this coming year and we hope that all of our guests will be patient as we go through that transition and understand that we are moving forward to improve their stay and truly make it a home away from home. Congratulations to your loved one that graduated and the new journey their life will take them on. We are delighted you chose to stay with us during such a special time and we hope we will have another opportunity to serve you again in the future especially after our new journey of a completely renovated hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, United States
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

From the setting of my reservations until my checkout from the hotel my stay was great. Breakfast was spot on with plenty to select from. My room was refreshed quickly and the lady taking care of it was very friendly. Your hotel staff was always at the desk to answer any questions and made sure I had what I needed and to make sure I was comfortable. The beds were extremely comfortable too.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Authur, what a fantastic review from a fantastic guest! We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and we are delighted that you shared your experience with others so they can come and be a part of our wonderful Hampton Inn family and enjoy the fabulous experience that you did. Don't be a stranger and come back soon and always travel safely!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunkirk,NY, United States
1 review
Reviewed 29 April 2014

My husband and I have visited Newberry twice and have stayed at the Hampton both times. The staff is pleasant and helpful, the rooms are clean, the heat and A/C work as they are supposed to. Breakfast was a treat, it really catered to all types of tastes.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Dear James, James' wife and friends, we are so glad you loved this place and it is no secret....this place and staff love you! Come again and experience our hospitality and enjoy all the wonderful things, shops, restaurants, entertainment and fun, Newberry has to offer. Bring the same friends and bring new friends. We would be delighted to have you all! Travel safe always!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2014

The Hampton Hotel is a good, clean hotel that I would not hesitate to stay at in the future. The staff was very attentive. When I asked to have the sheets replaced after our first nights stay, it was done without hesitation. The fitness center, although sparse, was adequately equiped with modern exercise machines. Best of all was the free hot breakfast that was served every morning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank paulbS1317FQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Paul, we are so glad you stayed with us and we would love to have you come and stay with us again. Our goal is to make sure all of our guests are comfortable and happy. When guests are happy, we are happy. When guest are not happy, we are definitely not happy. We are happy you loved the fresh sheets daily and enjoyed a great start to your day by starting it with a big, quality breakfast. We are glad you used our newly renovated fitness center and secretly, we wish it were bigger too. :-) Come back soon...our staff would love to have you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ten Mile, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Our last night we had no hot water. Bathroom door had paint chipping. Clock radio stopped working. Room was clean ,but not comfortable. Bed was clean but very uncomfortable.Fridge worked great and had plenty of TV channels. Had great breakfast buffet.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Alisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cynthia V, Director of Sales at Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House, responded to this review, 1 May 2014
Alisa, thank you for your review. We just celebrated our 12th anniversary and love the completed renovations of the lobby, business center and fitness center. We are excited about the future renovations to our rooms bringing in more modern accommodations. Our future will bring a better tomorrow and we hope you will come back and be a part of that journey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newberry
4.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Newberry
19.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Clinton
21.3 mi away
Comfort Suites Clinton
Comfort Suites Clinton
#2 of 4 in Clinton
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Quality Inn Clinton
Quality Inn Clinton
#3 of 4 in Clinton
81 reviews
1.3 mi away
Days Inn Newberry
Days Inn Newberry
#3 of 4 in Newberry
160 reviews
16.0 mi away
Lake Murray Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House

Property: Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House
Address: 1201 Nance St, Newberry, SC 29108-2713
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Newberry
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Newberry
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Newberry Opera House Hotel Newberry
Newberry Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing