We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Paying for the experience” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old McDonald Fish Camp

Old McDonald Fish Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, View, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
39 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paying for the experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

Great time..slightly pricey but love it! Kids especially love the animals, fish and grits! Hush puppies are always good too. Staff is extremely good and friendly. You'll always see a friend there!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    45
    20
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
North Augusta, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“This is a fantastic place to eat, especially if you have children.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

Wonderful atmosphere....great food!
We have eaten there many times over the past years. It is a wonderland for children with all the animals. There are bubble gum machines with fish food in them, and children will get a handful for a nickel, and can feed the fish and ducks while waiting to be seated. When in the dining room, your view is looking out over a beautiful pond with wildlife.

The only drawback is the wait time to be seated. They are very popular, so it's always packed.

Note - they are only open on Thursday, Friday, and Saturday....

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Angie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evans, Georgia
Level Contributor
157 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Nice, neat family place for good fish”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

Been here several times over the past twenty years. They do a great job overall and every time I go, I still get surprised at how much I love their grits. The kids have always loved the animals from when they were small to even now in young adulthood. Love the location and atmosphere and you get a good amount of food for what you're spending. Some things are better than others, but overall the fish is excellent, sea or freshwater.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tennessee
Level Contributor
69 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Shrimp in Augusta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

Everything here for the Fish and Shrimp lovers! Hush puppies and Grits. I will be here every time we visit our grand kids.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GPS-RDLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great fish, Great service, Family Atmosphere, Cannot Wait”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Love the food and the Bass family is fantastic. I cannot wait to get back again. The family atmosphere extends outside where kids and adults alike can enjoy the ducks, goats and fish. The four of us sampled the entire menu from perch and flounder to shell fish and gator. My this place is wonderful. It is a little pricey at about 20 bucks per head but well worth it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank oldSailor1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old McDonald Fish Camp also viewed

 

Been to Old McDonald Fish Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing