We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good but the housekeeping”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Ranked #13 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2014

Breakfast was great. The staff was friendly. The room was not cleaned one day and cleaned very late on another only after we called. Not up to par for Embassy Suites. However, they did seem to care and respond when we communicated the problem.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank Thomas_HSugarHill_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest did not enjoy every aspect of their visit.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

907 - 913 of 1,269 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

I came for a conference. The property is well used and so I wasn't expecting a new room. It was nice looking and the public areas were well maintained. The most outstanding feature was the comfy bed. I slept very well, which is my top priority next to a clean room. In this, they did well. I also have to compliment the breakfast service. I have to say it's the best "free" breakfast I've had in a hotel. Well done! I used the fitness center and was pleased to find that the machines have tvs and they offer free individually wrapped headphones to use. They had a stretching machine which I SO needed after sitting most of the days. Again, it felt pretty clean and well maintained. I used the pool and hot tub. Neither were big, but were adequate and what I expected.

Now, the bad. Our room had an odd smell. Perhaps it's because we were in the South and most of the year has higher humidity. Our friends' room had a terrible smell - almost like the room was sprayed with sweet smelling chemicals to cover up something else. I don't know if they asked to be moved or asked for an ionizer.

Our maid service was at the top of the worst I've ever experienced for a longer stay. On our first day, we had everything we needed - plenty of coffee, towels and even half and half. There were two of us with long hair and went to the desk for more conditioner which they gave us. I left a note the second day that we needed extra of a few things. While we received those things, our bed wasn't made properly. The covers were tossed up like a child might make a bed. A hotel magazine was left on the floor. Crumbs were still on the counter with the coffee maker and the table and we didn't get restocked with coffee supplies. I realized that our room wasn't cleaned, but only bed sort of made and new towels. Our friends didn't even get new towels. The third day, we didn't get any washcloths, no toiletries and no coffee supplies. And again our beds were not made nor counters cleaned. I mentioned this to the front desk as we again had to go down and request more supplies. This is a conference center hotel. They must be used to having high occupancy. I don't know what the problem was. I've never experienced this before.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite. It was large and a good size for a family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pinkiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest did not enjoy every aspect of their visit.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I want to compliment this hotel! Wow.. what a great stay and what a beautiful place. I loved riding the elevator with such a stunning view of the atrium. There were charming spots to sit in around the lobby with lush plants and the calming sound of fountains. I made my calls to home from those areas. The staff was quick to meet every need- since we were there almost a week, there were a couple small issues, but they handled them right away.

Loved the breakfast buffet, and we also had a delicious meal at the restaurant. Their pomme frittes were incredible and our server, Nicole, was so friendly- Thank you for a memorable experience, Embassy. The conference I attended was easily accessed by the skyway, and that facility was beautiful too.

Thank you!!!

Room Tip: Make sure you room has a view of the atrium- some of them are around a corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tia1435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for sharing your experience at the Embassy Suites North Charleston. With a mission to provide superior customer service, we take great pride in serving your needs and are delighted to hear that we have met your expectations. As a valued guest, your feedback will be shared with the team to continue to inspire and motivate them to deliver exceptional customer service. Thank you for staying with us and we hope you choose to stay with us again whenever your travel needs bring you back to North Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

I have visited Charleston many times and the accomodations have usually exceeded my expectations. I traveled with my sister on this visit, as she was attending a convention with pre-arrangements to stay at the Embassy Suites Airport. The rooms were dirty and out dated. There was a used, bloody bandage stuck to the bedskirt , stains in the toilet which I tried cleaning myself, the refrigerator handle was so sticky that I washed it with hand soap and a washrag from the bathroom, there was white "stuff" splattered on the headboard, there were large crumbs under the desk at check-in, the white bed cover was speckled with something..... I could go on and on. When my sister mentioned some of the housekeeping issues to a manager, he was sympathetic, but seemingly frustrated in that he knows cleanliness is an issue at this property. The decor was 1990's cheap.
Staying here was a huge disappointment. The hotel does not offer a shuttle to the Historic District. Seriously, what's the point of coming to Charleston if you're not going to spend any time the historic district?
The hotel had a big banner advertising that they proudly serve Starbucks Coffee which I never did find. The coffee at the breakfast buffet wasn't Starbuck's and neither were the coffee pods in the rooms. By the way, I believe the hotel description stated Kuerig's in every room. We had 2 rooms and there were no Kuerig's to be found.
I would not recommend this hotel to anyone!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmorrisey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbNChas, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear mmorrisey,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our hotel. We pride ourselves on exceptional cleanliness and we obviously did not live up to that standard based on your experience in our Suite. Our housekeeping team is dedicated to ensuring that our hotel is clean and well-maintained. Please be assured that our Housekeeping Manager's frustration was simply disappointment regarding the issues with your room and not because of ongoing cleanliness issues. Our team takes cleanliness very seriously we are reviewing your comments to ensure this was an isolated instance.

With regard to downtown shuttle service, the hotel focuses on expeditious airport service for all hotel guests. We may not have done a good job of communicating to you about the daily downtown shuttle service provided by our Rapid Transit Authority, the NASH. This service provides round-trip shuttles every hour, seven days per week for only $3 each way and leaves from the Visitor's Center just across the street from the hotel.

We welcome the opportunity to serve you in the future and provide you with the experience you expect.

Regards,

Wade B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I had booked and paid for a room with 2 queens. When we arrived, I was given a room with only 1 king bed. They then gave me a room with 2 full sized beds, because they claimed that this hotel had no queen beds anywhere! This was of course less than I had paid for. Breakfast consisted of powdered eggs and raw bacon, and a poor cook did not make the buffet very enjoyable. Staff was also not the most outgoing either.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank peter w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EmbNChas, Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 7 April 2014

Dear peter w,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our hotel. I am sorry that your stay was not as enjoyable as you had expected. We do offer Suites with two double beds or one king bed and we do our absolute best to honor the bed type requested for every guest. There are instances when that cannot happen and this may have been the case with your reservation. Our goal is to provide a suitable alternative and make it right for you. It appears we did not do that sufficiently.

I am also sorry that you did not find our breakfast up to standards. Our breakfast scores are typically very high and receive high compliments. It would be our pleasure to have you as our guest again in the future and allow you to experience your stay as you envisioned. Please call on me personally should you wish to discuss your stay or make a reservation for the future.
Regards,
Wade B

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

hotel needs a remodel. it is clean but old. Carpeting is dingy, cabinets and furniture reflect 1990's. Breakfast was wonderful, staff was great. Location was wonderful but it is not as nice at the Residence Inn down the street.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Embassy Suites Hotels
Thank kathyo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest did not enjoy every aspect of their visit.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Close to the airport, this hotel features a skybridge on the second story that goes over to the convention center & performing arts center.Pro's: -Airport shuttle, -good room rate, -small but cozy room, -pretty good breakfast (pass on the synthetic juices and worst cup of coffee I've had in months) makes this a very convenient hotel for events at the Performing Arts Center.
-Lobby bar stayed open late after the event on the weekend which is fun for revelers but might tarnish your evening as the noise drifts up and is heard in the rooms.

Cons: no complimentary internet (not even for brand members)
-not being able to get my honors points when booked by a company
-skeleton staff at night makes late check-in take forever.

I would come back if I needed to be at this location, otherwise I'll head back into historic Charleston next time.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaleDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert H, General Manager at Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2016

Thank you for staying with us and for sharing your feedback regarding your stay. It is always disappointing to hear that a guest did not enjoy every aspect of their visit.

We truly appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#3 of 59 in North Charleston
706 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 59 in North Charleston
364 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#4 of 59 in North Charleston
963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#10 of 59 in North Charleston
865 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 59 in North Charleston
477 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport Convention Center
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport ...
#20 of 59 in North Charleston
402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention

Address: 5055 International Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-5963
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#20 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: £123 - £238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention 3.5*
Number of rooms: 255
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a convenient location at Embassy Suites by Hilton Charleston Airport Hotel & Convention Center. Take the complimentary shuttle to Charleston International Airport just two miles away and walk to over 30 restaurants in the local neighborhood. Our Charleston, SC hotel is adjacent to the Charleston Area Convention Center and the Performing Arts Center and the Coliseum, ideal for attending an event at these venues. Just 10 minutes from Downtown Charleston, recently ranked the No. 1 City in the World by Travel + Leisure ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Airport/ Hotel North Charleston
Embassy Suites North Charleston
North Charleston Embassy Suites

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing