We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Park & Cruise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Ranked #9 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Don't Park & Cruise”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This hotel was really nice and we loved the breakfast and we would stay again if we didn't normally camp at a campground when staying in Charleston. We stayed here for the park & cruise option. It looked like a safe place to leave the truck for a week. However, the shuttle service was horrible. Shuttles going to the port were disorganized although we did get there in plenty of time. The service from port to hotel was inexcusable. We were outside in the wind in 33 degree weather for over an hour before they got a bus instead of the vans to pick us up. Will NEVER use this option again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SpearEp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atrain8green, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Good morning. My name is Anthony Smith, and I'm the General Manager at the Hampton Inn University Boulevard. I received your response on TripAdvisor, and want to reply to the issues you faced with the Park and Cruise package. I apologize that you had any issues with your stay, and especially with the transportation to and from the port. I believe the package is a good deal, but has grown too large. We may have to limit the number of participants on each cruise to ensure the transporation is more organized. Please send me your contact information to anthony.smith@hilton.com, and I will gladly refund you the cost of transportation for your stay. I'll be glad to help in any way I can on my end. I look forward to hearing from you, and Happy Holidays to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    351
    112
    27
    10
    9
See reviews for
213
144
23
95
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2013 via mobile

We chose this hotel because of the Cruise Park and Ride option. Big mistake! The hotel was great but the transportation service was horrible! Getting there was disorganized and coming back was worse. When the shuttle arrived, he didn't take any if us. Instead he made the whole group (including an older woman using a walker -who he didn't help) walk across the street to wait on a different bus We sat on cold cement for 45 min. after being told 10.

Our stay was great, but I can't rate the hotel highly due to the shuttle service. They need a new vendor!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesscanning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atrain8green, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Good morning. My name is Anthony Smith, and I'm the General Manager at the Hampton Inn University Boulevard. I received your response on TripAdvisor, and want to reply to the issues you faced with the Park and Cruise package. I apologize that you had any issues with your stay, and especially with the transportation to and from the port. I believe the package is a good deal, but has grown too large. We may have to limit the number of participants on each cruise to ensure the transporation is more organized. Please send me your contact information to anthony.smith@hilton.com, and I will gladly refund you the cost of transportation for your stay. I'll be glad to help in any way I can on my end. I look forward to hearing from you, and Happy Holidays to you and yours.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dacula, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel because of the park and cruise option they offer. It was a great experience from start to finish! The room was very large and comfortable. The shuttle service was efficient and I felt very confident leaving my car in the parking lot for the week while I was on the cruise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Stacey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulpen, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
126 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for two nights in november in two different rooms. Both rooms were huge, clean and had comfortable beds. Rooms were very quiet. Breakfast was very good with plenty of choice. Check-in went very swift. Given the rate in comparison to other hotels the Hampton offered very good value.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elmer&Lizette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossville, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We stayed here the night before our Cruise from Charleston. Everything went very well. They provided a shuttle service to and from the port and we were able to leave our vehicle at the hotel and feel it would be more secure there. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Gary D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I stayed here for a recent business trip. The location is about a mile off I-26 on University. The area immediately behind the hotel is working class residential and University itself is mostly low-rise retail.

My room was a 2-queen suite which was a single room but it was huge and might be a good choice for families. The room had a wet bar area with a small fridge and microwave. The beds were firmly comfortable although the pillows were just little squares. The TV only got 30 channels (including HBO) and just a scant few of those were in digital/hi-def. There is complimentary wired and wireless internet and I found the speeds typical for a hotel (1.5 mbs-ish).

There is a free breakfast, but it is typical of the genre - pre-made eggs, and meat, a make-it-yourself waffle station and various breads and cereals. Almost all of the dining options in the immediate area is fast-food, but you can drive down to Rivers Avenue, about 3 or so miles away, where you can find some better restaurants. It is a fair haul (about 30 minutes) to Charleston proper.

If you need to be in the immediate area, it is not a bad choice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 4959keeton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 November 2013

Very clean, modern, and showy hotel in the Hampton brand at an affordable price. My boyfriend and I wanted to take a trip to Charleston for a long weekend, and the hotels downtown were way too expensive! This was a great bargain with free breakfast, and the accommodations were almost palatial given the location (30 min from downtown Charleston).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Anna E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.7 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#3 of 58 in North Charleston
542 reviews
1.0 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#11 of 58 in North Charleston
1,581 reviews
8.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#24 of 58 in North Charleston
248 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
706 reviews
2.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd

Property: Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Address: 2688 Fernwood Dr, North Charleston, SC 29406-9052
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#12 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd 2.5*
Number of rooms: 115
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd. hotel is located near Charleston Southern University and Trident Medical Center. Our hotel is convenient to local businesses such as Boeing, Force Protection, DuPont, and Joint Base Charleston - Air Force Base. Wake up to a free hot breakfast before venturing out in Charleston. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Hilton Hotels Direct, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing