We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #15 of 59 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Stay!”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I spent our Labor Day weeked at this hotel. We have stayed at the Riverview location before, and had a great experience there, so we were curious and interested to see if this location lived up to the same standards as thier Riverview location.

When we arrived and checked in, the staff was very curteous and helpful. Our room was clean, and actually smelled clean. We noted there were several clean and wrapped glass cups, (not plastic) in the room-2 at the bathroom sink and 2 at the sink by the mini fridge. We also noted the shampoo and conditioner was Paul Mitchell, which I greatly appreciated! The room temperature controls worked very well, and we had no issue with that. The wifi seemed to work great until the last night of our stay, and I was booted off twice, then suffered severe lagging issues. I attempted to call the front dest once, but I didn't get an answer. I assumed it was because other guests were calling regarding the issue as well, but noted within 2 hours the wifi seemed to go back to normal and worked well. The beds were not as comfortable as I have had before, however, they were not bad or rock hard, so I was able to sleep well. The hotel is located is a more secluded area from Ashley Phosphate and the interstate, and was surprisingly peaceful and quiet. Not sure why previous guests talked about chickens crowing at dawn because we did not hear anything like that the whole time we were there.

As for the staff-I feel they genuinely strive to give great customer service. The following morning after our check in, I stopped at the desk and asked if housekeeping could leave a little extra conditioner since my hair tends to soak it up after playing in the ocean and being out on the beach all day. Well, they exceeded my request-they wanted to be sure I had plenty, so they left more than enough bottles of both shampoo and conditioner. Granted, this may seem pety to some, but the ladies out there who are particular about their hair will understand. I feel this is a reflection of how this staff values their guests.

The breakfast was great-it wasn't as grand as the Riverview location, but it was a good breakfast. We had waffles, oatmeal, eggs, sausage patties, muffins, toast, English muffins, cheese, cereal, 2 different types of yogurt, (Oikos Greek and Light n Fit), some fresh fruit, juice, milk, coffee and tea. My only questionable thing would be regarding the "weekday" breakfast. We checked out on Monday, but there was no waffle maker set up, which I thought was a little odd. However, I appreciated the fresh fruit selection that was offered.

Over all, this was a great stay, and we will gladly stay here again on one of our many future trips to Charleston and Folly Beach.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tbower0214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

688 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    396
    181
    57
    25
    29
See reviews for
265
170
29
91
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at this location. We stayed for 3 days and didn't want to leave. This place is absolutely beautiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful with directions. The breakfast was surprisingly good with many choices, and real eggs too! Nice dining area and was always very clean. Our double bedroom suite was very clean with it's cozy decor..Nothing to complain about at all. Lovely stay and will definitely be back whenever we are in Charleston.
Wanted to mention that there are plenty of restaurants and shopping close by. Thanks everyone for a job well done!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RealTalk56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hickory Flat
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Located within 1/2 mile of Charleston's largest Shopping Mall. Plenty of restaurant's very close.

Hotel is very clean with spacious lobby and breakfast area. Hotel staff from check in to maids and maintenance very friendly and helpful.

Especially helpful was an employee named Laquana. I believe she is Head of Housekeeping.

It was such an enjoyable stay that we chose to spend another night rather than check out and move to downtown Charleston.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank papajackp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Allen, VA.
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

When our airbnb property turned out to be a disaster, we booked a night in the Hampton Inn to regroup and decide where to go next. It was nice, and a comparable chain to Spring Hill Suites, and we would have been happy to stay there but Spring Hill Suites was offering a rate that was $15 cheaper, and the room had a living room in addition to the sleeping area! We took it and were very pleased with our stay. Probably the only complaint I would have is that one day the housekeeping staff neglected to clean our room. Other than that the room was very nice, clean, beds very comfortable, the breakfast was good, even the coffee was pretty decent! I would recommend this property to anyone looking for a reasonably priced yet still very nice hotel in North Charleston. We did not find the 20 minute drive to the Historic Downtown a problem at all, especially when you consider the prices of those downtown hotels!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norfolk, Virginia, EEUU
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at this comfortable, well-run hotel. The room layout is better at this SpringHill than others in this brand. The breakfast was packed - and for good reason: Good food. Fresh strawberries, real scrambled eggs, etc. Hope to see more SpringHills like this one!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mightyherc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spartanburg, South Carolina, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013

The staff at this hotel should travel the country and train others in the service industry on how to create an unbelievable guest experience. Every person we encountered had a smile, kind word and upbeat attitude. I would absolutely stay there again and I would absolutely recommend to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Marlboro, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2013

I book 2 nights at SpringHill in North Charleston and loved it. I wanted to stay downtown at the same time wanting to see the Charleston area. The hotel was in a great location: 15 minutes from downtown, 3 minutes from Tanger Outlet, about 10 minutes from the airport, 1 mile from a Walmart (even though there is a Walmart at Tanger), lots of fast food restaurants on the main road (around the corner, walking distance) and 20 minutes from some of the plantations that I visited. It is right off interstate 26 but tucked in a corner where I didn't see nor hear cars from the hotel. The staff members were nice, friendly, and helpful.
This hotel was very comfortable, clean, had a kitchenette, and had a nice free breakfast set up. The only not so good thing was the pool, postage stamp size. But I didn't go for the pool my kids did (they got over it because they had free Wi-Fi)..

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#3 of 59 in North Charleston
717 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#12 of 59 in North Charleston
552 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#8 of 59 in North Charleston
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#9 of 59 in North Charleston
1,604 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#17 of 59 in North Charleston
306 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston/Ashley Phosphate
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#16 of 59 in North Charleston
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Address: 7535 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4279
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston North Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing