We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel For Business. Location Detracts”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Ranked #15 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Great Hotel For Business. Location Detracts”
Reviewed 11 February 2010

This is a great hotel. New, clean, nice staff. Adequate fitness room, very small indoor pool, no spa. I will stay here again when in N Charleston or Summerville for business.

The location distracts from the overall rating. You have to drive to resturants or stores. There is nothing to walk to. The hotel does sell snacks, but that's about it. If you are in the area for business and don't care about the location, this place is great. If you are on vacation, you will have to drive to all of the local attractions. From a price standpoint this hotel will be less expensive than downtown Charleston.

This hotel, along with all Spring Hills, offers a nice breakfast in the morning as part of the rate. They also offer free high speed internet access. Parking is free.

As a 100+ night per year traveler I will go back to this hotel. It is on my "A" list.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JDE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

674 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    390
    176
    57
    22
    29
See reviews for
261
164
29
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2010

This property is fairly new,(June 2009). The rooms are 'suites' where the bedroom is separated by a partial wall. Great accomodations in the 'living room' area. Great bedroom area and great lighting controls in the room. Heating and cooling were great, with an actual wall thermostat in the room!

Breakfast bar was good too. Nice variety each day. Even on the busiest day it was kept well stocked and clean. Very friendly staff in the area too!

Rooms were kept clean, Service was good!

Staff is VERY welcoming and friendly!

Even though it was a busy few days in the lobby area, once you got to your room, it was very quiet!

There are plenty of dining choices nearby and with in a 1-mile radus, should have about everything one would look for!

The one problem I had was internet. I attempted multiple times to connect via wireless. Sometimes I would connect, Sometime I would not.
Even when I did connect, the speed was atrocious! Download was 512K or less. Upload was well below DIALUP speed,
When I talked to the front desk, they would reboot the system!
They also provided two PCs in the lobby. Both had the same speed problem and also were malware infected! All sorts of file sharing programs were present. It is not a 'managed' environment.
I spoke with management about it, and they are working to rectify the situation.
However, if your stay would need FAST internet, I would check before checking in.

I would have made my 'overall' rating 5 stars, if it wasn't for the POOR internet!

if you are not an internet user, you would never notice!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xzr1tv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake City, Florida
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2009

The room was very clean and hotel is new. Furnishings were very nice, king size bed, and a small area with a couch and small kitchen. We were very pleased, staff was very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLM54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2009

We stayed here one night before moving on to Historical Charleston. It's about a half hour drive from downtown Historical Charleston. The hotel is newer and clean and the staff is pretty friendly. The suite was very spacious and we enjoyed that fact. We were overwhelmed by the crowd at breakfast and the VERY limited seating and how rude people in search of a free breakfast could be. We were pleased there was an IHOP near by. The hotel was very modern and good for a short stay. I would not consider this for a long stay. The other downside was the very small pool. About the size (or smaller) of a residential home pool. About 6 people max. fit comfortably without bumping into each other.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lagunalvr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
687 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
531 reviews
0.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and S...
#9 of 58 in North Charleston
865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#12 of 58 in North Charleston
1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Charleston/Ashley Phosphate
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suit...
#17 of 58 in North Charleston
254 reviews
5.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate

Property: SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Address: 7535 N Forest Dr, North Charleston, SC 29420-4279
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
#18 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#19 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate 3*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Charleston North Hotel North Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing