We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Ranked #12 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I had a training in N. Charleston, S.C. and the agency booked me at Fairfield Inn. I have never stayed at a Fairfield Inn before and didn't know what to expect. The desk clerk was nice and check in was a breeze. The room was great...it was clean and comfortable. Having an outlet across the street and over 13 restaurants in the area was an added bonus. Every evening from 6:00-9:00 was happy hour where they provided free wine and beer and light snacks. The breakfast was great (typical of what you'd find at any hotel breakfast) and the internet was fast.

Room Tip: Any room you get is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RLM88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport. I hope that you are able to stay with us again on your next training visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (464)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

316 - 322 of 464 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2014

We loved staying at this hotel! Modern decor, intimate boutique hotel feel without the pretension- super nice, welcoming staff. Tommy was especially wonderful, even recommended a late-nt Italian place that delivered on New Years Eve & took a personal interest in us as guests. The breakfasts were delicious, business center with whatever you need, huge tv in the lobby to watch Bowl Games and socialize with other guests. And one of the best things is the Manager's reception in a little lounge area where we got free beer and wine for a few hrs on a weeknight while watching tv and chatting with others and the bartendress, ended at 7:30p, perfect, and we could take a glass up to our room. The gaggle of Muscovy ducks who wander the property were friendly and very interesting! The room was like all Fairfield rooms, outstanding, spotless, a bar area with microwave and fridge - we felt "high-class" in an extremely economical room. I needed a thin pillow because I forgot to bring mine and they brought me one immediately. My companion also got a toothbrush with a smile from the front desk when he realized he forgot his. This place is for real people, good people, and is far above "average". (I'd recommend any snooty types just cruise on downtown to the fancy-schmancy places.) I can see this place being awesome for business travelers, as our stay was partly for business. The Tanger Outlet is a stone's throw away making this hotel the perfect place to stay for those major shopping excursions - I had a hard time dragging my friend away and he's one who hates malls! Once I did it took us 15 min, to get to the City Market downtown before a short trip to Folly Beach where we had a delicious dinner at a raw bar, Charleston glistens even in pouring rain! Jan. 1, 2014 may well end up being the best day of the year for us, and this hotel made sure that would be possible. We'll be back next New Year's!

Room Tip: If I had to list something, I'd guess I'd recommend the Tanger Outlet end of the hotel for m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sooshnjoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

The Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport Team thanks you for such a heartfelt reivew! I am so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and had a New Year's Eve to remember! Lots of our guests are surprised when they arrive and learn we have an Evening Manager's Reception where they can have beer, wine and snacks....all complimentary! I am happy to hear you were able to enjoy this amenity. I look forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

We got a good deal on this hotel through Trip Advisor and Expedia. The hotel is impeccable. From the lobby to the room, it is clean and immaculate. My wife and I stayed here during a road trip. We wanted to see more of downtown Charleston, but the rates for that area were outrageous. This was a good price, it was right next to the outlet mall, and it was only a short drive to downtown. We were pleasantly surprised when we were told that they had a complimentary happy hour with beer and wine. Definitely a plus for us. They also have breakfast, but we missed it because we slept in. The room was great and we slept like babies.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank donsanchez23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport. I am so pleased to hear that you and your wife had a comfortable and relaxing stay wtih us. I hope that on your next visit you will be able to enjoy our full hot breakfast buffet. I look forward to meeting you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Stayed here as a marriott rewards club member. We were welcome into the hotel by Kristen at the front desk. She was very kind and helpful and gave us all the necessary information during check in. Our room was spacious, but did have a smell of wet carpet...maybe they just cleaned it? Other than that the room was fantastic and the staff makes this property even better.

My boyfriend and I enjoyed happy hour later in the evening after a day filled with shopping. What girl would complain about being right across the street from the Tanger Outlets ESPECIALLY on black friday?? DEALS DEALS DEALS! :) The young lady who served us gave us excellent recommendations for dining around the area.

Hats off to you all. And happy holidays, we loved the decorations too!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MKM4991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for staying with us at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport. We have many great features, one of them being located within a few short steps of Tanger Outlet Shopping Center. And what a better time to stay and enjoy...BLACK FRIDAY! Thank you for the wonderful feedback on Kristina, I will be sure to share you comments with her. I hope you will stay with us again on your next visit to to area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Let me start by saying that I thought the stay was average, not terrible or terrific, just average. Having said that I would add that I will most likely not be returning to this hotel during my next visit to Charleston because there are too may other hotels bending over backwards to win my business.

Check-In: The front desk clerks were all very pleasant and helpful but upon check-in I like to be acknowledged as a Rewards member and told if I am being upgraded or not. The hotel was no that full yet I was not offered an upgrade or told why I was not. Maybe there are no upgraded rooms in this hotel but I wasn't told anything and that always bugs me. Most may not mind but this is one of my pet peeves.

The Room: The room was clean for the most part outside of the bathroom. The caulking around the tub was dirty and/or moldy (see picture). This did not give one a great feeling about using the tub. I certainly wouldn't take anything other than a shower, that's for sure. The shower curtain was hung up with most of the hooks unhooked (see picture). This just tells me that the cleaning staff do not take the extra time necessary to provide an exceptionally clean room. They most likely just do enough to provide a minimally acceptable room. I don't give a 4 or 5 rating unless hotels go above and beyond average. At least take an extra minute to hook up the shower curtain properly.

Pool Area: The hotel did not have a hot tub but looked like it may have had one at one time. Looks like they are following many other hotels in removing their hot tubs. In any event, I have not given any 5 ratings for hotels that don't have hot tubs. I feel that not having one or removing one is just taking the easy and cheap way out and doesn't put the customer first. Go above and beyond and get a hot tub!

Arrival: When I arrived at the airport I called for a shuttle and was told to just go outside and wait on the curb by the shuttle sign. I did this and had to wait about 20 minutes for a shuttle to finally arrive. Not a good way to make a good first impression. It would have been better to tell me that it would be 15-20 minutes when I called to better manage my expectations. When I called they told me that it would be by shortly. I don't consider 20 minutes a short period of time.

Breakfast: The hotel did offer breakfast in the morning and a manager's reception at night and both were on par with what one would expect. They were your basic offerings the same as all the other hotels that offer free breakfast (waffles, eggs, bagels, juice, coffee, etc,,,) and beer and wine with some chips or pretzels for the receptions. Once again the word that comes to mind is average.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBrainstorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. With each guest we strive to ensure that they are 100% satisfied during their stay. I thank you for your feedback on your recent visit and look forward to your stay again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

this hotel has awesome Jacuzzi suites. After traveling for 8 hours my back hurts sometimes. So its great to relax in one of these. I was very pleased with the hotel in general. The staff is great and the rooms are nice. I will stay there again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for staying at the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport and most importantly, thank you for your feedback! One of our many great features includes our Jacuzzi Suites and I am happy that you were able to relax and enjoy it while you were with us. I am looking forward to meeting you on your next visit to Charleston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2013

My wife and I spent one night here and it was very clean and comfortable. Airport shuttle stops running after ten so you may need to cab it if you get in late. Extra bonus outlet malls are right across the street.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn W, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Thank you for taking the time to rate us on TripAdvisor and share your clean and comfortable experience with everyone. I am happy that you and your wife enjoyed the hotel. We look forward to hosting you on your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 60 in North Charleston
484 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Hyatt Place Charleston Airport a...
#4 of 60 in North Charleston
729 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 60 in North Charleston
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#31 of 60 in North Charleston
205 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#3 of 60 in North Charleston
985 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport Convention Center
Crowne Plaza Charleston Airport ...
#19 of 60 in North Charleston
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center

Address: 4841 Tanger Outlet Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-6950
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#15 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range: £87 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover one of the most conveniently located hotels in Charleston, SC - Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston Airport/Convention Center. Whether traveling for business or pleasure, our Charleston Airport hotel is perfect. We are ideally located at the junction of I-26 and I-526, just 3 minutes from Charleston International Airport and 10 miles from Historical Charleston. Attractions and business close to our hotel include the Tanger Outlets, Charleston Area Convention Center, North Charleston Coliseum, North Charleston Performing Arts Center, Boeing, SAIC, Joint Base Charleston, Port of Charleston, and many other top destinations. Our Charleston Airport hotel has oversized guest rooms that include free high-speed Internet, 32-inch LCD TVs, microwaves, and refrigerators. Other amenities at our hotel include a state-of-the-art fitness center, an outdoor pool, complimentary deluxe hot continental breakfast daily, and weekday Manager's Reception that serves beer, wine, spirits, and soft drinks. You will experience Southern hospitality at its finest when you stay at Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston Airport/Convention Center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/ Hotel North Charleston
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing