We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, convenient to so many area attractions!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Ranked #20 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location, convenient to so many area attractions!”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Stayed 3 nights while visiting my son who is stationed at Goose Creek. Great location, convenient to some great restaurants, shopping and easy access from the highway. Rooms were a nice layout and clean. Like most hotels I wish they would reconsider moving the towel rack from above the toilet but that's the only flaw in the room I could find. Enjoyed breakfast and coffee in the morning. I did not find the warm southern hospitality that I usually feel when staying in the Charleston area from the lobby staff. They did not greet us as we came through the lobby. The hotel lost power the first night we checked in for over an hour and nobody came to check on us, offer flashlights, call to explain what was going on, nothing. We left the hotel for dinner a few minutes after the power came on and the front desk clerk did not even apologize for the inconvenience. Overall our stay was nice, and for location and the room design we would stay again. Hopefully we receive a warmer welcome next time.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin T, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
Dear Cathiedoherty,

I hope all is well for you today! Thank you so much for sharing your thoughtful review with us as well as other travelers on Trip Advisor!

Our staff takes great pride in maintaining and beautifying our hotel, but I am sincerely sorry to hear that you felt our customer service was lacking. We are 100% commited to customer service excellence, and I will make sure that this is reiterated with our staff.

I apologize for the inconvenience with the power outage. Our beautiful city is not equipped for the weather we had during your stay, and with ice being so heavy, there were a lot of power lines down all over the city. Our guest's comfort and safety is a top priority, and this is not a recurring theme.

We hope that you will decide to return in the future so we can show you our commitment to 100% complete guest satisfaction! Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston North/University.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    56
    25
    4
    5
See reviews for
55
57
11
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

The stay here was great! The rooms were clean, breakfast was good, and the staff was friendly. It was also in a good location. Not to far from the highway. I would definitely stay here again and would recommend it.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Dyan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin T, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Dyan G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor! We hope all is well in Texas!

We are so happy to hear that you were able to experience our wonderful amenities as well as our 100% commitment to guest service while staying with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston North/University Area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We have stayed twice and both times were excellent in every way. Very clean, spacious and comfortable rooms and very quiet. The location is wonderful for a relaxing stay and convenient to all that Charleston has to offer without being in a conjested area. The staff is the best and make you feel very welcome and at home. We were there during Thanksgiving to be with our grandson who is at the Naval Training Center and his family; and the staff went out of their way to make sure our visit and family time was extra enjoyable. When we went back near Christmas, Lauren at the front desk remembered us and gave us the same room. I have never written a review on a hotel, but I felt this one was so great that it deserved recognition.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 44PatL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin T, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 30 December 2013
Dear 44PatL,

Hope all is well in Florida! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review on Trip Advisor.

Customer service is our top priority, and employees like Lauren are able to show our guests exactly what true "Southern Hospitality" is really all about!

We appreciate your continued loyalty, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston North/University Area soon. Until then, Happy New Year!

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hopkins, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We booked in advance and was greeted with an inviting staff. She gave us our room keys and (like usual) I immediately locked the keys in the room like a dummy and had to get another from her. She did so with no problem and didn't make me feel any more dumb than I already did. The room was so clean, fresh, and inviting. The king size bed and pillows were VERY comfortable! Excellent breakfast and the morning staff was just as pleasant as the night before! Will definitely be staying there again. I don't usually write reviews on places but this one was worth it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashley j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erin T, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear ashley j,

We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your wonderful experience with other travelers on Trip Advisor!

We remain 100% committed to customer service excellence and are thrilled to hear this is what you experienced during your stay!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Thank you for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area.

Yours In Hospitality,

Erin Thomson
Sales Manager
erin.thomson@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Our second stay here. Both times we had the cheapest style room (two double beds) on the 4th floor. The beds were good (maybe not excellent), and the room layout was very practical, with the bath being completely private from the sleeping area. Great breakfast. Pleasant staff made us feel like they really appreciated our patronage. Location is great for us since it's close to the freeway (I26) and our daughter's home. Not too awfully far from Charleston tourist spots. We'll come again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredron08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear retiredron08,

I hope all is well in Georgia!

Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to share such a great review with other travelers on Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and all the amenities offered.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston North/Univ. Area! Until then, take care!

Yours in hospitality,


Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chattanooga, Tennessee
1 review
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The rooms are nice, clean & well maintained. The breakfast is super, always plenty and hot. The hostess, Cora is awesome-very friendly and helpful. The desk people are very professional & helpful. Lauren was just the best. Mellisa was very nice and personable. The maintenance staff is very good and fast. I have been here for several weeks and have not been disappointed. Housekeeping is always on the ball. Couldn't be happier with my stay! The equipment in the business center actually works consistantly.

Room Tip: if you are a light sleeper, chose the back side of the motel. The restaurant across the front parki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear David D,

Thank you so much for the amazing review! I will make sure to pass on your kind comments to the staff for a job well done. They are truly what makes our hotel shine! We are so pleased to hear that you enjoy the hotel and all the great amenities offered. Thanks for choosing to stay with us! We are so happy you feel right at home!

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

This hotel is clean and the staff was very nice but the hotel just didn't measure up in some ways. It would seem that the hotel was built with paper walls you could hear everything. We had a 3rd floor room and could hear all the people outside talking in the parking area including all the vehicles that drove by the hotel. We could hear the TV and conversation of the adjoining room. I come to a hotel to sleep and if the noise of the world can't filter out then the hotel is not acceptable to me. They also have those annoying AC units that turn on and off ALL night so it wakes me up every time it turns on or off. I finally just put the unit on fan so it would run and drowned out the noises from below. Sadly I will not stay there again just due to the noise factor, maybe if you were higher up it wouldn't be so bad.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Larjly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Larjly,

I hope all is well in beautiful North Carolina and that you are enjoying the holiday season!

Thank you for taking the time to share your honest review about your travel experience at our hotel. I regret to hear that you did not thoroughly enjoy your stay and am saddened that we were not given the chance to rectify the situation. Complete guest satisfaction is our number one priority and we want you to feel as though you are at your "home away from home".

We hope that you give us a "second chance" to make it up to you. If I can help you with your accommodation needs in the future, please contact me directly and I will make sure that you are placed in room that is away from any outside noise and fufull your needs the best we can. Thanks again, we hope have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon.


Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.9 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston University Boulevard
Wingate by Wyndham Charleston Un...
#10 of 58 in North Charleston
1,499 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Charleston North
Holiday Inn Express Charleston N...
#18 of 58 in North Charleston
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#12 of 58 in North Charleston
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#15 of 58 in North Charleston
654 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
494 reviews
2.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#17 of 58 in North Charleston
275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area

Property: Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Address: 2600 Elms Center Rd, North Charleston, SC 29406-9327
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#21 Business Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Charleston North / Elms Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North / Elms Hotel North Charleston
Fairfield Inn North Charleston
Fairfield North Charleston
North Charleston Fairfield Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing