We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area
Nearby Hotels
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center(North Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hyatt Place North Charleston(North Charleston)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$149
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$246
US$215
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
US$129
Home2.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$132
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
117
65
27
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
117
65
27
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront deskfree snackssleeping areaparking lothot breakfasta great stayhot itemsmanager's receptionhot tubmorning breakfastwafflesbusiness centercomfortable staybed was very comfortablebreakfast was excellentfirst floorbathroom door
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
137 - 142 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

With many hotels for people to choose from, a hotel better be able to stand above. The Fairfield Inn brings just what it needs to give you a great, comfortable stay. The entire hotel has been updated and our room showed it. Clean, roomy, and great AC. So when you cant spent $400 per night in downtown Charleston, drive 15 mins north for a great stay at an affordable price.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2014 via mobile

Loved the ample breakfast and the convenient location the beds were excellent as were the furnishings. The air conditioning in our room was not only very comfortable but extremely quiet, making our night sleep very sound. Front desk personnel were very informative

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Clifford G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We arrived early and the staff was very helpful and accommodated us with an early check in.
The room was a decent size, clean, and quiet. We slept well. The kitchen staff was very nice. The bathtub didn't drain well. But overall we were very pleased. Located within walking distance of several places to eat. We will stay again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coal2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As with most Fairfield Inns, it was very nice experience. The staff is friendly and accomodating. I had requested a first floor room and they went ahead and honored my request. Rooms are spacious and clean. The breakfast is the same as with any other Fairfield Inn which is not bad. The location was ok since it was easy to access major highways and downtown. The lobby area is large and comfortable to sit and chat.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtymar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2014

The rooms in this hotel are all small suites meaning they have a separate living room which contains a desk, couch, and television. The rooms are comfortable and clean if not large. The furnishings and bathroom are in very good condition and the staff is friendly and helpful. There is a typical “do it yourself” breakfast included in with the room and it is better than some others in this class.

The “room for improvement” refers to two areas I feel are a bit sub-standard for this class of hotel. First, the mattress was wrapped in plastic which makes a crinkling sound every time you roll over. I suppose you would get used to it but it did not contribute to a good night’s sleep. The second is the lack of an in-room safe. Nearly every business hotel in this class I’ve stayed in has offered a safe. Without a safe, your valuables (e.g. laptop computer) need to be carried to your car every day where they can be locked up, then returned each evening. Terribly inconvenient.

All in all, this is not a bad place to stay. However, I believe I’ll stay at one of their competitors right down the street that includes a safe and a quiet mattress at the same rate.

Room Tip: If you plan to use an ice machine, ask for a room on first or third floor. No ice on second floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie R, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston North/University Area, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear David F,

I hope all is well in Virginia!

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with other travelers. We truly appreciate your honest feedback! We are so pleased to hear that you were welcomed with true southern hospitality and that you enjoyed all of our amenities. Regarding the beds-- all of our beds are covered with mattress pads and are dressed with Marriott bedding. I will pass on your feedback to our accommodations manager for the future.

Thanks for choosing the Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Charleston North/Univ Area. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Yours in hospitality,

Katie Register
Sales Manager
Katie.Register@marriott.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews