We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This an affordable museum which we all liked!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum and Educational Center

North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum and Educational Center
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
116 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“This an affordable museum which we all liked!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Who knew? My grandson (he is 5) picked this place and it is a VERY GOOD place to take children. Large, many fire trucks on exhibit. Short movie on fire safety at home (with child actors) and really well done. So when you have way too much traffic in Charleston and cannot find a place to park at the Aquarium, try the Fire Museum. Or if it is raining. Adults are, get this, $3 each. And The Grandkids loved being the driver of the fire truck going out on a run simulator.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnysideup70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    31
    9
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
215 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Small Museum ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014 via mobile

For what it is, a small Museum on fire fighting...it is very educational and well manned with a lot of trucks from the beginning to today.

A place you go once when you have free time.

Helpful?
Thank Coffey070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Gables, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always educational and fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Every time we visit we learn more. This is a treasure trove from the past. All exhibits are well presented. Always worth the visit.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Really nice and good for kids”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

My 5 yr old daughter and 3 yr old son really liked this place. there are lots of trucks to look at and it kept them occupied for an hour. It was not crowded at all so it was nice. There are educational things about fire fighting too which was neat. Lots of interesting and educational things to see that even someone who is not really into fire trucks would enjoy.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaTurtle32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Interesting Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2014

Our family are all fire fighters, so this visit was very interesting. Museum offered a lot of interesting facts as well as hands on
attractions. Highly recommend everyone to visit

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank PhilFan14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum and Educational Center also viewed

North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
North Charleston, Coastal South Carolina
 

Been to North Charleston and American LaFrance Fire Museum and Educational Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing