We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great room great staff bigotry from general manager” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Meriden, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great room great staff bigotry from general manager”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Every spring my wife and I travel from CT to meet with her sister and brother in law. This year we chose Charleston. The hotel itself was great. We were checked in by Tiffany and Scott. They were wonderful friendly and outgoing. They went out of their way to make sure we had a nice place for dinner. On Saturday I was hanging out in the lobby while everyone was napping. The lady working the front desk got a call and said that an employees son was just shot. I could hear another employee yelling at the poor girl for announcing it outloud about the call she got although Hattie the manager immediately asked what the call was about. Later that day (well after check in time) my wife and I were walking from the room to the elevator to go out and I saw Scott ask the manager Hattie if a room was ready. She stated to him that they needed to calm down about rooms. She didn't care if it was after 3pm she said these people are just going to have to wait. As a guest in a hotel she's charged with managing I don't appreciate being called these people.
On Sunday I went up to the 3rd floor looking for a snack machine. It was about 5 or 6pm. Hattie was in a room with another African American employee. I heard him ask if Scott was the new guy. I heard Hattie reply that he didn't need to worry about Scott no more because she was firing his sorry white tail. I went downstairs about 9pm and asked to see Scott and Tiffany said he was no longer there. On Monday morning I asked Hattie when Scott was coming in and she said to me in a crowded breakfast area that she fired him. That is all the information I needed. I know she fired him based on his race based on what I overheard. I have contacted the SC Labor Board and reported her for discrimination and I also contacted hilton corporate offices.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TJMCKA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    190
    164
    88
    69
    50
See reviews for
155
164
45
147
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Clemson, South Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

I highly recommend this hotel. The staff is very friendly and all of my questions were thoroughly answered.

Upon arriving in our room, we got a courtesy phone call from the front desk asking if we were satisfied with our room. The room was perfectly clean and had all of the necessary appliances.

The location is perfect-- close to shopping, the beach, and downtown Charleston. I will definitely stay here again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Kzor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for visiting with us at The Hampton Inn Charleston Airport. We appreciate your kind words and I am thrilled that our staff gave you a warm welcome. I hope that you will keep us in mind whenever you return to Charleston next time. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Scott W. McDonald, CHS
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

The hotel was clean and well laid out. The staff were helpful. Check in and check out was quick. The rate was correct and were no hidden fees. The distance to downtown was far but I knew this coming in. I had no problems.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Anthony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

the airport Hampton Inn, being right off rte 26 gives you excellent access to the historic district without paying the high historic district hotel prices. I drove in to the historic district and parked in the lot next to the Hampton Inn on Meeting Street and was within walking distance of all of downtown, including the College of Charleston, King Street shopping, the Aquarium, the Battery and everything in between. Afterwards a simple drive back to the airport Hampton Inn.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simpsonville, SC, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Great location for downtown experiences, shopping, or just leisure. Room was very nice, comfortable, etc,.. Hotel staff was helpful. Only a few small annoyances, like lines at the waffle iron, breakfast ended right at 10 even though people were waiting to get their breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Freddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ridgefield, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at this hotel for four night while visiting Charleston. The location of the hotel is really great, close to resturants, the outlets and highway that goes directly into downtown. I felt safe and comfortable in this location. Overall, the hotel was pretty clean and smelled nice but it was small. I felt like the breakfast area and seating area was small espcially since our hotel was full all four nights of our stay. The rooms were smaller than what we usually stay in but the rooms were clean which was more important to us than the size. There was no refridgerator which was a bit frustrating since we brought food and drinks to keep with us in the room. Overall, I would stay here again for its location to the city and price of room.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Helpful?
Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
240 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Nice room - great lighting - excellent mattress - large bath - all good stuff. But the Southern Hospitality from the staff exceeded the room amenities. the ladies at the desk were simply the best!

Despite being near the airport - only heard one plane.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NewillDB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott M, Guest Relations Manager at Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum, responded to this review, 5 May 2014
Thank you for your review of The Hampton Inn Charleston Airport. We highly value your opinion. I am so happy to learn that our staff gave you a taste of true "Southern Hospitality." Plase keep us in mind when you return to our area and we will be happy to welcome you back!

Scott W. McDonald, CHS
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.1 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#25 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum

Property: Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum
Address: 4701 Saul White Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29418-7923
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum 2.5*
Number of rooms: 124
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn Charleston-Airport/Coliseum is minutes away from Charleston International Airport, North Charleston Coliseum, Charleston Area Convention Center and the historic district downtown. Complimentary shuttle to and from Charleston International Airport. Enjoy free hot breakfast and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hampton Inn Charleston - Airport / Coliseum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing