We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
Ranked #10 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Certificate of Excellence
Coastal South Carolina, South Carolina
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

Nathan at the Front Desk is awesome. We have stayed here twice and the second time we were upgraded to a suite that was really nice. I agree the area is not the best but the parking lot is very well lit. My major gripe is why a hotel of this class would provide guests with such cheap toilet paper? I don't think I have ever stayed at a hotel that uses the quality of toilet paper that we had in our suite. Breakfast was ok, the staff was neither friendly or helpful. But I would still recommend this hotel, just take your own toilet paper!

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sister121Peoria_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

794 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    503
    195
    55
    21
    20
See reviews for
211
157
28
293
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (96)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Franklin, Tennessee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

My husband and I were in Charleston to attend a wedding at Runnymeade plantation. Since we are not Kanye and Kim, we didn't want to stay downtown and spend $400 for a so-so hotel. Since we were renting a car, we decided we didn't mind staying further away and getting a nicer hotel.

I am so glad we choose DoubleTree for a few reasons:
1. Location - I know there are some complaints about the blah area, but unless you came to Charleston to do extensive sightseeing then who cares. The area is sort of industrial and drab but once you are inside the hotel you forget about all that. Which leads me to...

2. Decor - lobby was clean and actually kind of beautiful. Someone took some extra time to make this place look very modern and elegant. A big screen is in front with some cozy chairs, nice little bar/restaurant area, and some other amenities.

3. Service - EXCELLENT. Reggie helped us the entire stay and not only was he attentive and awesome (when we were eating at the bar, the bartender told us a round of drinks was on Reggie!) but he upgraded us to a suite for no apparent reason other than he is awesome. Our bartender was friendly, helpful, and courteous. Every person I encountered during our stay went above and beyond the call of duty.

4. The room - great suite. New furniture and appliances. The bathroom had plenty of room for two people and the bed was very comfortable. No complaints about the room whatsoever. Any time we needed anything, we called down and were promptly helped.

5. The pool! - Yeah, the pool does back up to the freeway but I SWEAR you forget about this as soon are you relaxing. I went down to the pool for a few hours to read a magazine and hang out and it was great. I even tried out the pool and it was clean and well kept. There are these cute cabanas with cozy couches and chairs - a nice touch. Also - there is a firepit and chairs outside near the pool area which was a nice addition to this area. Very cozy but still large enough to have a bunch of people out there at one time.

6. Food - the food at the bar was actually pretty good! I was pleasantly surprised. Not a 5 star restaurant by any means but definitely better than a local chili's.

What else is there to say? This hotel is affordable, clean, easy on the eyes and has GREAT service. As I mentioned earlier, I quickly forgot about the surrounding area once I was inside the hotel because they treated us like we were royalty. I don't know about you, but I'd rather stay somewhere that treats me well, that is clean and kept up than stay at a place that costs triple and I am treated like some annoying tourist.

Two thumbs up all the way. Thanks, Reggie, for making our Charleston trip extra amazing!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that doesn't face the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
Mrs. Dana B,
Thanks so much for the thoughtful review about the DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport. We love the design of our new property, especially the new décor. Our pool and fire pit area have been a big hit with our guest. We agree with you %100 about Reggie, he is very helpful and cares about each and everyone of our guest. Thanks again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
843-518-6200
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Charleston, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

The hotel staff was great. The layout of the hotel was very appealing because my kids really enjoyed the fire pit outside. It had a great bar and dining area. It was very conveniently located for the activities that we were involved in during our stay. Easy to get into parking lot from interstate.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Walter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Mr. Walter P,
Thanks so much for the positive feedback. The DoubleTree by Hilton ensures that we upheld the standards that they set for us. We think the fire pit was an awesome feature to the fantastic pool area. The next time you come visit us the children would love Frankie’s fun park, which is located right down the street from us. It has putt-putt, batting cages, and an arcade. We deeply appreciate the great review.


Best Regards,
Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

This property is still brand new, mordern, and very chik. I appreciated the 5 star service from the front desk manager, Nathan, who was very down to earth and quick to make you feel at home! They give you free out of this world Double Chocolate Chip Cookies with nuts. The bar area is the perfect place to watch a football game and just hang out with friends. I liked the fact it is central area of North Charleston, SC and right next to the interstate/very convenient. I really liked the crystal kryptonite decor in the breakfast area. I thought, I was on the set of "Superman". The breakfast buffet was delicious especially the southern grits and oatmeal. I will definitely be back to this Double Tree and tell all my colleagues. I suggest you check out this awesome new property...

Room Tip: The corner suite on the third floor is heavenly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KFC41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you for the very kind review about the DoubleTree By Hilton Charleston Airport.
Most every guest is in agreement with you about how wonderful the warm chocolate chip and walnut cookie. We work really hard on giving the best customer service that is possible. Thanks so much for the great review and we look forward to seeing you soon.

Best Regards,

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
Doubletree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013 via mobile

This property appears to be a remodel of an older hotel. However, they have spent extensive time and care to make an excellent property. I have no complaints with our suite. Spacious room, great TV's, comfortable bed and beautiful bathroom. No problem recommending the DoubleTree, N. Charleston!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 10Shirt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, Front Office Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 18 December 2013
Thank you so much for the thoughtful review about the DoubleTree By Hilton Charleston Airport. Our property is a new remodel; we have only been open for a little under a year. We have had a lot of complements about the design and layout of our hotel. Thanks again for the thoughts.

Nathan Hamric
Front Office Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

I recently spent three full weeks with Nathan, Doug and all of the other wonderful staff at the Double Tree, North Charleston. While the complex itself was clean, modern and inviting, as with most great hotels, it's the staff that makes this Double Tree special. There was NOTHING we needed that was not delivered quickly, completely and always with a smile. It's never fun to be away from home for three weeks, but the Double Tree staff filled the role of my "second family" to perfection!!
The regular rooms are great, but for a few $$$ more, the very large and comfortable two room suites are a very good value. Would highly recommend this hotel for your business function or for a family vacation in Charleston. Only a 20 min drive to the heart of Charleston, but much greater value than a downtown hotel.
Thanks Nate and Doug...hope to see you again soon!!
NJF

Room Tip: All room have comfortable beds, great pillows and individual heat/AC control, but the two room suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NF29646
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello NF29646,

Thank you for such glowing feedback of our property and our service team. I would agree with you that Doug and Nathan are great at what they do as I hear the same feedback from so many others that stay with us as well. On behalf of the entire team, we thank you for choosing Doubletree and we hope to see you again the next time you find yourself in Charleston.


Sincerely,

Michael Estes - General Manager
DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Palm Beach, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

The rooms are new and well set up. I felt very comfortable in their suites. The living room had a fridge, desk, large couch and nice big flat screen. I was able to watch football while my wife was getting ready in the seperate bedroom. I felt like I was at home. The staff was very helpful and polite. I was even greeted by the General Manager, Mike Estes, at check in. This is my hotel whenever I travel to North Charleston.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
2 Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoubleTree H, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Hello JasonP,


Thank you for the kind review of our property. I am happy to hear that our spacious suites were comfortable for you. I thank you for choosing the DoubleTree by Hilton Charleston Airport and I look forward to seeing you again during your next visit to Charleston. Safe travels!


Sincerely,

Michael Estes - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
4.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#4 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 620 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 815 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Charleston North
Hampton Inn Charleston North
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#14 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charleston-University Blvd
Hampton Inn & Suites North Charl...
#7 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport
Address: 7401 Northwoods Blvd, North Charleston, SC 29406-4024
Phone Number:
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in North Charleston
#6 Business Hotel in North Charleston
#8 Romantic Hotel in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whether traveling for business or leisure, DoubleTree Charleston Airport provides stylish accommodations with upgraded amenities. You will be able to relax in one of our 149 beautifully designed and suites. The design cues hail from past and present decades, with a subtle theme focusing on the golden era of aeronautics. Our distinctive guestroom amenities are provided with you in mind! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel and Suites Charleston Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Charleston Hotel North Charleston
Charleston Ramada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing