We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The worst place I ever seen”

Economy Inn and Suites
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Charleston
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Economy Inn and Suites
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The worst place I ever seen”
Reviewed 8 January 2008

We called the Economy Inn for reservation. We drove 12 hours and got to the Economy Inn checked in. When We got in our room it was the nastist place that I had ever seen. We travel for work. So we stay at alot of Hotels. This is far most the worst that I have ever seen. There was bugs on our towels,the room had previously had a kitchenette in it that doesn't work but still in the room, they had the Microwave sitting on the cabinet and non-working stove, the furniture was dirty and stained up, the tile was coming up and looked like it had never been cleaned,the smell was not something that made you sick at your stomach. We paid for 1 night but didn't stay we ended up down the road at another motel.The guy that told us he managed the place wouldn't refund our money but told us that we could contact the Main company so he gave us a telephone number which turned out to be his fax number to the motel. We contacted him again and he gave us another number which was disconnected. I recommend that you do not stay at this motel ...

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
2 Thank ditchwitchnay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    0
    0
    0
    8
See reviews for
1
2
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Sleep Quality
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redmond
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2007

I was very surprised to see such a nice room at an economy motel. It
was clean, has microwave and refrigeraters that are clean. The staff and managers treated us so nice and were very friendly. It was like talking to a long lost relative. They made us feel that we were the most important guest that they had ever had. They have a beautiful outdoor pool, however we did not use it as the weather was rainy and cold. That's about it. I would definetly stay there again

  • Liked — Price and cleanliness.
  • Disliked — Couldn't stay longer
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank turtlecollector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
D.C.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2007

The ECONOMY INN is Tthe NASTIEST DIRTIEST UNSAFE PLACE I have ever had the displeasure of staying in..Not one thing was good.Everything was dirty nothing worked.Druggies hang out in the parking lot

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank cwolfejr1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 11 October 2005

This was one of the cheapest rooms we could find, we just wanted something simple, nothing fancy. Had free wireless internet and the price great so we gave it a try. With tax it was around $36. The wireless internet worked great!! That was the PRO. The CON'S: Ceiling had water stains, the furniture was dirty, stained and falling apart. The bathroom was dirty and stained, towels stained. Wallpaper falling off the wall. The microwave was dirty and had a stench, the fridge was dirty. The room reaked of a moldy odor - which kinda went away after the air cooled the room. In 20 years I have never spent a night in a rooom as dirty as this! Spend a few more dollars and get a clean room. The LaQuinta was $49 + tax and I am sure it was clean!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2005

I was in Charleston, South Carolina on May 31st through April 3ed for three nights during the 28th annual 10k Cooper River Bridge Run held on April 2, 2005. I had made arrangements quite late, and because there were 42,000 runners in the race, the closer reasonably priced hotels to the historic district of Charleston where the race was taking place were taken. I was looking for an inexpensive hotel since I was just in town for an extended weekend, and took the closest and first thing available, which turned out being the North Charleston "Economy Inn." The rate per night was about $54/night, so it was pretty reasonable compared to hotels closer to the historic Charleston Downtown, which ran around +/- $100/night.
To begin with the first pro of the hotel was the reasonable price based on location; the second pro was its actual location which was on Rivers Ave., at the intersection on Highway 526 and 26. This allowed for easy access to Historic Downtown Charleston and the race. The third plus was the friendly front desk staff.
Unfortunately the cons outweigh the pros. First there was a large yellow water stain on the ceiling from the room above (I stayed in room 122). The in room microwave and fridge were not clean and had an odor to them. The paint and wallpaper in the room was peeling. The shower head was stained, and tiles were missing. The provided face and bath towels were stained. The toilet in the room had a constant drip. Lastly my requested wake up time of 4am was never provided.
Well most people wouldn't have put up with a room in this condition, but unfortunately I was limited by price, room availability, and time, so I was forced to put up with what I had.
If you’re in the Charleston area, and are looking for a clean cozy room for the night, I would highly not recommend staying at the Economy Inn.

Helpful?
9 Thank Torque9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.9 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#35 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#5 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#45 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Charleston Airport and Convention Center
Holiday Inn Express and Suites C...
#1 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
0.7 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
1.1 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Economy Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Economy Inn and Suites

Property: Economy Inn and Suites
Address: 5020 Rivers Ave, North Charleston, SC 29406-6304
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 100
Also Known As:
Economy Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing