We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old Hotel, Great Service” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Charleston Grand Hotel
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Old Hotel, Great Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

All of the reviews about the neighborhood have nothing to do with the actual hotel and service they provide. This isn't necessarily a great hotel for family's, but I was here on business for a week and had no issues with the "neighborhood". The employees and management are doing the best they can for what they are given. The hotel needs to be remodeled, the rooms kind of smell, and the breakfast is not very good. That being said, if your traveling on business, all you need is a clean bed, a clean room, and efficient service. That's what was given to me and I would stay here again with no complaints. My only recommendation to upper management/owners is to re-carpet the 2nd floor. I was originally put in room 218 and it smelled very musty. I requested to change and was put into a much better room with no hesitation.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Foodiscoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faulk44, Manager at Charleston Grand Hotel, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you for your review we are striving to improve our establishment daily we are getting new carpet before the end of the year so i hope you come back to visit us and see our improvements
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    26
    39
    27
    55
See reviews for
60
46
16
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

As long as a place is clean, I am usually satisfied. This place looked clean but SMELLED HORRIBLE!! I literally looked under the bed to see if there was a corpse.

Breakfast - on the website that I found this hotel it said it was $2.50 per person. Actually changed to $5 but not updated on all websites. So we had a difficult time having them honor the price. But then the place was not ready at 7am as advertised - lacked silverware, milk, bacon only upon request...

Again, I am not hard to please if the place is clean, but his was a HORRIBLE experience.

Room Tip: DO NOT stay in room 300. It wreaked like there was a dead person in there!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CanStep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elizabeth, New Jersey
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

While it was greatly priced and we just did a quick stop there on our way to Hilton Head, SC, it definitely looked super sketchy. We were glad that we only stood there late at night. It did the trick but I would have never stood there if it wasn't a quick stop. The good points - it's very close to Charleston which is where we spent most of the time and had no issues with our room. Would I recommend it, not really unless you just need a cheap and fast place to stay in.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soraya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

we stayed at this hotel for a business trip what a mistake in a very very distressed part of town the hotel is in very poor condition. I would not recommend this hotel even for road warriors. police came every single night for problems or just hung out for your safety in the check in area :( the property also sits directly next to loud train tracks that operate all day all night 7 days a week and your sleep will be disturbed

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BellevueBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

I made the mistake of reserving a 2-room, 2-night stay in this dump for nearly $500.00 for myself and 3 travel companions. All the pictures on their site did not show the run down dangerous neighborhood, the interstate that was practically straddling this property, the 4-lane train tracks that ran behind, the 5-lane road in front, or the incredibly rude and unprofessional staff.

After exiting the interstate, we quickly realized it was impossible to go left into the hotel parking lot so we had to continue down the busy street into a very sketchy neighborhood. When we finally made it back to the hotel after the long detour, we noticed a man hiding in the bushes in the front. My traveling companions were afraid to exit the car because the neighborhood was so bad and the hotel looked very run down up close. After much debate, we decided to go in and see what the rooms looked like. As soon as we opened the car doors, the man in the bushes jumped out, started walking in our direction and started shouting obscenities and motioning in a threatening manner. He appeared to either be high on drugs or mentally I'll. either way, we all shut the car doors and drove off.

When I called the hotel to cancel the reservation, an extremely rude woman named Vivian answered the phone. After explaining multiple times in different ways (like I was talking to a child who refused to understand) why we were unable to stay at the property, she finally tersely said that she would "take care of it."

Well, it's been over a month now, I have several disputes against the charges, and am awaiting the promised refund. DO NOT STAY HERE. DO NOT EVEN RESERVE A ROOM HERE!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jamie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorba Linda, CA
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for an inexpensive hotel to see Charleston. Poor neighborhood...sirens all the time.. next door to bus station. The towels were paper thin..really need to replace. Didn't choose the breakfast option. We went into Charleston. Would not recommend this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JamesYorbaLinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbia, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014

We needed an affordable hotel close the Folly Beach and this hotel looked OK online at a great price. There is a reason for that great price. When we arrived, at prime check in time, they were steam cleaning the tiles in the lobby. And the hall in front of the elevators. There was not only water everywhere, it was so loud in the lobby that the front desk employees and the customers couldn't hear each other. After waiting for over 10 minutes for them to finish in front of the elevator, we finally walked up the stairs to the 2nd floor and then took the elevator to 7.
The room itself was nice, though the AC was very loud, which proved to be a blessing since the hotel is practically on the highway. The trucks on the highway weren't bad though. However, the party, in what I think used to be a restaurant connected to the hotel, was extremely loud. There were people screaming in the parking lot until very early in the morning. The party also took up most of the parking in the lot, making it difficult to find a place to park after dinner. Needless to say we didn't get much sleep.
We were going to eat at the breakfast buffet this morning but our shoes stuck to the floor and the food did not look appetizing. Next time, we will fork over another $30-$50 for a better hotel....it will be worth it.

Room Tip: Don't book with BookIt, we paid $25 more than the rate we could have received by calling the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laveta G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
1.9 mi away
North Charleston Inn
North Charleston Inn
#39 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
1.7 mi away
Econo Lodge North Charleston
Econo Lodge North Charleston
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#43 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.0 mi away
Extended Stay America - Charleston - Airport
Extended Stay America - Charlest...
#34 of 58 in North Charleston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
2.1 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Grand Hotel

Property: Charleston Grand Hotel
Address: 3640 Dorchester Rd, North Charleston, SC 29405-7569 (Formerly The Historic Grand Hotel)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Charleston Grand Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charleston Grand Hotel (formerly Clarion) under new management and ownership is centrally located in the heart of North Charleston, SC. Just minutes away from Downtown Charleston and The North Charleston Coliseum, makes our hotel a very convenient choice. We offer you a variety of room choices and amenities. We take pride in great customer service to go along with an enjoyably comfortable stay. It is our goal to make sure that you leave happy. So if there is anything that we can do, please let us know. Thank you for making Charleston Grand Hotel your choice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Charleston Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarion Hotel North Charleston
Clarion Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing