We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“horrible cigarette smell, staff is indifferent and rude”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Quality Suites Convention Center
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Reviewed 18 May 2008

First of all, do not stay here unless you enjoy smelling cigarette smoke. This hotel is very outdated and is not taken care of/maintained. I requested a non-smoking room and was given a smoking room (they claimed to have ran out of non-smoking rooms). One of the people from the desk tried to spray some kind of odor neutralizer to get rid of the smoke smell - but it didn't work. It appears that this hotel has a huge number of "smoking" rooms and very few non-smoking rooms.

When you walk into the front of the hotel, the smoke smell hits you immediately. The entire middle section of the hotel (guest commons area) has nothing but people chain smoking and getting drunk/loud at all times of the day.

The room itself was not clean. The carpet was filthy and the couch looked like it had multiple stains on it and cigarette burns. The bathroom still had hair from the previous guests on the floor and in the tub.

Do not stay at this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank survivorcharleston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2008

The good: free happy hour and the breakfast buffet
The bad: delay at check-in ---room wasn't ready
Rooms need serious updating
Carpet wet near sink and advised front desk. When we returned late in the day, our room door was open and maintenance was working on the toilet! We had to switch to another room.
Front desk was rather surly and not in a rush to get us another room. Supervisor intervened, but it still took 20 minutes to locate another room. (Why did they not anticipate this?) We moved with no apology from staff and no offer to assist us.

Stayed: March 2008
1  Thank 66roady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2008

We chose this hotel because of the price/location, and I can honestly say that was the best thing about it. Although we'd been promised a non-smoking room, we were given a smoking one right off the lobby atrium. The noise level was horrible.

The free happy hour "reception" seems to draw quite a crowd of seemingly underage drinkers who stay in the lobby smoking and drinking until quite late. They also have a large television mounted on the balcony below the second floor rooms which can be controlled by the crowd drinking below. I had to call down to the front desk every night of our 5 night stay to have them turn down the television, usually more than once (and one night, around 2am, 4 times!).

The room was horribly outdated and shabby. The furniture was coming apart at the seams with broken drawers and cabinets. One television didn't work and was not replaced/fixed.

The only other positives I can give are that they seem to be in the process of renovating a few of the rooms, hopefully this will improve their appearance/quality. Also, the cooked to order complimentary breakfast was wonderful and the food-service staff were all very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maggiecm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2008

We stayed for a night on our way home from Disney. The lobby and room was nice. Fast check in. When we went to lay in bed, our head was lower than our feet. Apparently the bed was broken. It was midnight and our girls (who had been sick) were asleep so changing rooms was not an option. We layed the other way (downhill) to try and make it till morning. That worked about as good as the other way. Not very comfortable. In the am, I looked forward to a shower, turned it on and spitter spatter...nothing. It dripped out of the shower head. UGH! Long story short... We were comped the room by Marion (manager). The hotel was nice and clean and the full breakfast was excellent. Besides the 2 major issues, we would refer others there and stay again

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mkakt5sc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2007

Upon check-in, the hotel did not have my reservation. I had a confirmation number and online verification printed reservation. They gave us a room, but indicated that had they been full, we would have not had a room, even with my reservation confirmation.
The room was not clean, the bathroom especially was not clean. Old grout loose, wallpaper was peeling and the shower did not work. Of course we did not discover the bad shower until the next morning. We reported that the shower did not work, and were not offerred another room, only that a "work order" would be made to have it fixed.
So many other choices in the same area, that we will not stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1bmack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Like a previous poster stated, I would have been upset if I paid the regular price for this room, but I received a good deal from Hotwire, in addition to using my Hot Dollars. I'm glad we only needed to stay one night. While you can see the sign from the street, the hotel is a bit difficult to get to, and we received confusing (and incorrect) directions when we called the hotel. The hotel is badly in need of updating, as the wallpaper was peeling from the walls, and the bedspread looked rather worn. The carpet was FILTHY - I would not allow my children to walk in the room barefoot! Service was average; we had to walk down to the front desk to retrieve linens for the sofabed (they were not in the room), as opposed to a staff member bringing them to our room. The breakfast was very crowded, but a reasonable value. The hotel is in a good location, as it is near Tanger Outlets and other stores (Wal-Mart, etc.)

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Tearose73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2007

This was a pleasant surprise. I got a good deal through the website [I belong to their rewards program]. $116 a night. Nice sized rooms, comfy beds, feather pillows, microwave/fridge and the staff was incredibly nice. We stayed two weeks in South Carolina/Georgia and this was by far the nicest staff. Free beer and cocktails in the evenings for a couple of hours, free hot breakfast [so-so] in the morning. Outdoor pool, nice and warm. Nice hot tub. Their airport shuttle was in for repair, so they called and paid for a cab ride for us to get to the airport. Not a lot of dining close by--Chick fil-a, I think maybe an Arbys, a couple of things like that...Within a short walk to Wal Mart, Sam's Club and across the street from Tanger Outlets.

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank pixiekansas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
0.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#46 of 60 in North Charleston
127 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hyatt Place North Charleston
Hyatt Place North Charleston
#6 of 60 in North Charleston
784 reviews
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 60 in North Charleston
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
SpringHill Suites Charleston North/Ashley Phosphate
SpringHill Suites Charleston Nor...
#17 of 60 in North Charleston
711 reviews
0.6 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton North Charleston - Airport/Hotel & Convention
Embassy Suites by Hilton North C...
#11 of 60 in North Charleston
1,314 reviews
4.5 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#28 of 60 in North Charleston
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Suites Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Suites Convention Center

Address: 5225 N Arco Ln, North Charleston, SC 29418-7001
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 60 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range: £71 - £114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Quality Suites Convention Center 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Atrapalo, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Quality Suites Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Charleston
Quality Hotel Charleston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing