We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Practical hotel near Landmark FBO (private aviation airport)” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
207 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Practical hotel near Landmark FBO (private aviation airport)”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

Very courteous staff, ready to help 24 x 7.
We got a great rate through one of the auction websites.
Many eateries in walking distance.
The laundry machine was out of service at the hotel.
Breakfast just about ok
Free shuttle service to the airport.

Room Tip: I like the higher floor, 7th was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sanjay744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Easley, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

This hotel is in the middle of remodeling. The staff is super super nice and helpful and provided the best customer service hands down. I asked for one of the updated rooms and it was much nicer than most the pictures I have seen on TripAdvisor. They do not have free breakfast, it is $7.95 buffet. The internet was faster than other hotels I have stayed at in the area. The Radisson was a steal for the price I paid and with superb customer service I would stay here again. It is right off the highway so if you are a light sleeper I would get a room facing away from the highway.

Room Tip: Ask for the updated rooms and a room facing away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

I stayed here one night after scoring a deal on Priceline. The room was very clean, well maintained, the bed was extremely comfortable and I had a wonderful night's sleep. I did not encounter any of the things other people seem to be complaining about (noise, construction, rude staff, dirty rooms, etc), quite the opposite. I found everyone I dealt with courteous and professional (though the waitstaff in the restaurant could have been more attentive, as I am still waiting for my iced tea). I can agree that the area the hotel is located is nothing to write home about. It's one of these just-off-the-highway locations that is horrible for pedestrians, fraught with traffic going every which way and somewhat economically depressed. It's not "Da Hood" like some people seem to be making the area out to be, but it isn't anything that you would be interested in investigating. The interesting part of Charleston is some distance away. If you're interested in the charms of the city like I was, you'll need to drive in to experience them. It is the distance of this location from city which makes me rate it "very good" as opposed to "excellent".

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Grizinator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh Pa
Level Contributor
59 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2013

This area was seedy and rundown.There were signs on stores that say mall is under police surveillance, crime watch area, & there were bars on some windows.Coming from middle class suburbs this was scary to me.It was an island of 3 businesses surrounded by highways.So it wasn't pedestrian friendly.It was however an easy to drive to Charleston.
They seemed to be totally remodeling the hotel.Every other room there was drilling,hammering or being painted.Noise started around 10 am. All we wanted was SLEEP.The beds were "sleep comfort" but they were so lumpy and hard.I wished I brought my camping air mattress.Other than the lovely charming staff.I found the hotel fairly disagreeable.They had a pool and whirlpool. The whirlpool was not working on the day I got there but it was kinda fixed on day two.I think they should have given me about $100 night instead of the other way around. I could have stayed at Motel 6 or Super 8. I thought Radisson was quality I thought wrong.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere this locale wasn't too nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GigiBean_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, including the constant noise from remodeling and lack of a functioning whirlpool. Also, we are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the comfort of your bed. We know a good night’s rest is very important.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Staff was very friendly and cooperative, but the non-smoking room we requested had a strong smoke smell that actually got into our clothes. We called about it twice and they finally sent up someone with a spray bottle that squirted the floor, couch, bed, etc., and left the bottle with us saying that we should spray things down again if the smoke smell still bothers us. We were never asked if we wanted to change rooms. Also, the cleaning personnel took all of our soap, shampoo, etc. when the room was cleaned and did not replace it. Again, 2 calls to get someone up there so we could shower and get to our appointments.

Room Tip: Verify the non-smoking room has never been a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchell O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, SC
Level Contributor
224 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

I won this hotel on priceline but after reading the review I was afraid. We checked in with super friendly Ashley. Went to our room and it was great. Nicely remodeled and very clean. We did not use the pool but walked around the area. Both pool and hot tub were sparkling and the atrium area was very clean. We heard several guests complain about the breakfast buffet so we skipped it. Not a problem since there are so many restaurants in the area. The manager checked us out and he was very friendly also. No, this is not a five star hotel but they don't charge five star prices. I would stay here again. No issues with my stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jellysnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix az
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

i gave this a poor because i expect better from radisson,

but, because all the people who work there are super super nice... but......
very loud construction going on... i understand improvements are being made... much needed!!!
the outside looks Ghetto, no other words for it... clean up the parking lot a bit, and make it seem a bit more inviting!!

the lobby is also torn up, and the first impression was not great. when i got to the room, it SEEMED nice enough, but when i took a shower, i saw hairs (NOT MINE) on the shower wall. i called the desk, and they did send people right up to clean it.

the cable on the tv was static the whole time. the hot tub and pool seemed not so clean... green areas in the hot tub...

the bartender was super nice, and makes great drinks....

c'mon guys, do a better job on the cleanup, turn this back around!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wittless55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlson Hotels C, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. The renovation is improving our property. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#11 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#43 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing