We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ya .......................NO guest services rude and smart mouthed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Ya .......................NO guest services rude and smart mouthed.”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I called the hotel 3 days before my reservation we had family emergency. I asked if we could simply switch days. Thinking we could come in a few weeks. The lady was happy to do this for us when she asked the date I wanted to confirm with my fiancé. I asked if I could call her back in a few hours when he arrived home she said sure. I called back in a few hours and a different person answered the phone after putting me on hold until the phone hung up. I called back she same person without even saying hello said hold please I was on hold for a hot minute. She got back on line ( side note if you work in customer service and hate your job) Please do all us a favor who spend our hard earned cash to vacation and stay at the business that pays you be a little pleasant. LOng story short she gave me this mumbo jumbo she wouldn't switch our date. I explained the lady 2 hours before actually took the time pulled up reservation and was ready to switch our dates due to medical emergency. So much was going on that I wasn't able to get this problem resolved lost our night in north Charleston and our money. This is a customer service problem Plain and simple

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 782Jolene782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our front desk staff member in regards to adjusting a reservation due to a medical emergency. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I can't believe this place got 3.8 stars on another website! That's why I booked it for one night. You should avoid it at all costs. It is a dump. The pool is closed (probably for a very good reason). The vending machines only worked if you have EXACT change. The neighborhood is questionable at best. They have tried to renovate but it's like they tried to slap lipstick on a pig and say it's not a pig anymore. If I was booked for more than one night, I would have eaten the cost and gone somewhere (anywhere) else! Radisson should be embarrassed to have their name on this location!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, including the swimming pool and the vending machines. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked and paid for this hotel through Groupon. The hotel charged our credit card also. NONE of the ice machines worked. The washer and dryers did not work. The hotel staff was not very-well trained in how to answer questions. The entire hotel has an odd smell. There are PLENTY of hotels in the area and I would strongly recommend that you book elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2014

I went in with very low expectations, based on a lot of the previous reviews I've read on this hotel. However, I have to say that my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay!!

The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-26 and is surrounded by lots of stores, restaurants and shopping areas.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, our King size bed was just right, cable TV and a good sized HD TV worked perfectly. Air conditioning worked good. Nice shower with plenty of towels and the young lady cleaned our room and gave us all new fresh towels the following morning...etc.

The hotel staff made a great effort to be courteous and friendly and I thought they were very pleasant!! Kudos to them.

We ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel one morning. Nothing fancy at all, but a nice selection. The food was pretty good --grits, scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, muffins, cereal, orange juice, hashbrowns, oatmeal and coffee....

Nice pool area....with a pool table too. Fitness room was good.

Negatives:

The hotel is an older hotel. There is a scent in some parts of it and the neighborhood is questionable though I didn't see a lot of riff raff at all.

The ONE icemaker was broken and we ended up having to go to a convenient store for ice. Luckily, that store is within walking distance of the hotel.

About the coffee at breakfast, When my wife got a cup, it wasn't fresh. It was actually nasty. The server guy saw my wife get that old stale coffee but didn't say anything. A little while later, another couple came in and they were going to get coffee. He greeted THEM and said "you don't have to get that coffee, you can have a seat and I will bring you some coffee". Needless to say, my wife felt slighted and somewhat offended. It was probably innocent and unintentional....but, it DID happen. Since she was unhappy, I had to mention it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GASharp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city
Level Contributor
131 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We booked this for $49 on Hotwire. It was definitely worth it. We had a 5:20 a.m. flight so being close to the airport was key. The rooms are updated and ours was in good shape. We slept well, the beds are a little hard, but we are not used to Sleep Number beds. One of the queens sleep number controls did not work. Rooms are large if you need to put four people in it. The front desk gal on this night was not very friendly....seemed bored and a little bothered. It did have an odor in the hall in front of the elevator. Our breakfast was fine and the ladies in the dining room were very friendly. The dining room is really nice and updated I thought. There were only two of us in there. They did not have newspapers available that morning which is a little odd for a convention type hotel. Very large indoor pool area that was probably "the thing" back in the days when this hotel opened.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kansaskristy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newberry, South Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2014

When we got here, the temp outside was near freezing. We walk in to check-in and it was just as cold in the lobby. The poor desk clerk was standing over a little space heater behind the desk. Then we make it up to our room on the second floor and guess what... Yep, the heat doesn't work in the room. We go back down and they put us in a new room. We get up there and there is no remote for the tv, so we pick-up the phone to call the front desk and the phone doesn't work. Luckily there were two phones and the other one did work. We call the front desk and they just told us to go back to our original room and take the remote from it. Once we settle into our room, we are watching tv and the heater comes on and it is soo loud, you could not hear the tv. Try sleeping through that. The chest of drawers looks like it has been kicked in, one lamp doesn't work, one lamp makes a wired noise when you turn it on, and it has a sleep number bed that has one side fully inflated while the other side is fully deflated. I could go on, but you get the point. I will not be coming back.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jjf150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, especially the lack of heat, broken telephone, and faulty sleep number bed. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 February 2014

I was at the Radisson for 3 days and 2 nights visiting for a softball tournament. I must say this was by far the worse hotel that I have ever been to. My tub was dirty when I arrived. There was no wash cloths in any of my softball players rooms. I had to call downstairs at least three times in order to get some for my room. The breakfast on a scale from 1-10 was a 2 only because they had cereal. They did't even have orange juice. The lady who was working in the breakfast atrium had to go across the street to buy juice out of her money in order for us to have something to drink. Every room had sleep number beds and they barely worked. Those beds were hard as rocks i could not sleep at all. On top of that the entire hotel cable wasn't working. There printer is down and they haven't had a working fax machine since sometime in 2013. It was the worse experience. Most of the employees were nice I can say that.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElljJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services in the areas of housekeeping and breakfast and the rooms. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
888 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#29 of 58 in North Charleston
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing