We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go Elsewhere If You Can” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Charleston Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
165 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Go Elsewhere If You Can”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

I often stay at a Radisson but this is absolutely the worst Radisson that I have ever stayed at. Check in was so incredibly slow that I nearly walked out. I finally asked the receptionist whether there was a problem and after clicking away at the computer for another few minutes she finally gave me a room.

My room was OK, everything worked as it should, but there was a strange curry-like smell from it. The elevator doors looked like they had been smashed up and patched by a poor craftsman. I walked into the restaurant one evening and promptly walked out because it looked so uninviting. Part of the ground floor, a stores and maintenance area, is caged off by the emergency stairs and looks like something out of a prison movie.

The entrance to the hotel itself from the main road is poorly signposted and the car park layout by the hotel entrance itself is narrow and dangerous. You could easily damage your car on the crazy stone wall opposite the hotel entrance.

The hotel itself appears to be locally in a poor area of North Charleston.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alkonost45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbia,SC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

We booked through Groupon and they also charged our card. We had to get it straightened out. The rooms smell and they are seedy. They painted everything in an awful dark depressing color. The rugs need updating. There were no tissues in the room and we were told we couldn't get any because housekeeping was locked. It made me wonder what would happen if we ran out of toilet paper. HOWEVER, I wanted to mention the people in the restaurant because they were all so nice and accommodating. They should train everyone else. That part of the experience was really good. Oh, and by the way, the maid had a pack of cigarettes right on her cart and I think she might have smoked in some of the rooms because she was trying to cover something up with strong, strong deodorizer (and why else would you have cigarettes right out on your cart ) Pay a few bucks extra and stay and stay at a different place

Room Tip: stay someplace else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SCNancylee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

This was the worst hotel I have ever stayed in in my life...I didnt feel safe at all..There was a strong odor throughout the hotel once you left the lobby and it was unbearable once you got to your room. I had to sleep with a shirt over my nose in order to attempt to get any rest. I also slept in my clothes on top of the covers. The sheets and pillows had black stains on them..The bathroom ceiling was missing a tile..I could go on..The hallways are dimly lit and it just overall seems run down. It seems like an old hotel that they attempted to fix up by adding flat screen tvs ... It was just bad...so bad that I contemplated going somewhere else even though I had already paid for this one, the only reason I stayed is bc it was so late.

Room Tip: Dont stay there..that's the best tip I can give
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmberB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 9 March 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future. To discuss your stay further, please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boiling Springs, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

I called the hotel 3 days before my reservation we had family emergency. I asked if we could simply switch days. Thinking we could come in a few weeks. The lady was happy to do this for us when she asked the date I wanted to confirm with my fiancé. I asked if I could call her back in a few hours when he arrived home she said sure. I called back in a few hours and a different person answered the phone after putting me on hold until the phone hung up. I called back she same person without even saying hello said hold please I was on hold for a hot minute. She got back on line ( side note if you work in customer service and hate your job) Please do all us a favor who spend our hard earned cash to vacation and stay at the business that pays you be a little pleasant. LOng story short she gave me this mumbo jumbo she wouldn't switch our date. I explained the lady 2 hours before actually took the time pulled up reservation and was ready to switch our dates due to medical emergency. So much was going on that I wasn't able to get this problem resolved lost our night in north Charleston and our money. This is a customer service problem Plain and simple

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 782Jolene782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We apologize for the disappointing service you received from our front desk staff member in regards to adjusting a reservation due to a medical emergency. Our team works hard to make sure our guests are comfortable and receive our best customer service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014 via mobile

I can't believe this place got 3.8 stars on another website! That's why I booked it for one night. You should avoid it at all costs. It is a dump. The pool is closed (probably for a very good reason). The vending machines only worked if you have EXACT change. The neighborhood is questionable at best. They have tried to renovate but it's like they tried to slap lipstick on a pig and say it's not a pig anymore. If I was booked for more than one night, I would have eaten the cost and gone somewhere (anywhere) else! Radisson should be embarrassed to have their name on this location!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Trishie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 7 March 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay, including the swimming pool and the vending machines. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience as your comments are valued and will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

We booked and paid for this hotel through Groupon. The hotel charged our credit card also. NONE of the ice machines worked. The washer and dryers did not work. The hotel staff was not very-well trained in how to answer questions. The entire hotel has an odd smell. There are PLENTY of hotels in the area and I would strongly recommend that you book elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank No N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 February 2014
We apologize you were not satisfied with the condition of the hotel during your stay. We appreciate you taking the time share your experience. Your comments are valued, and your suggestions will be used to consider improvements in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

I went in with very low expectations, based on a lot of the previous reviews I've read on this hotel. However, I have to say that my wife and I had a very enjoyable stay!!

The hotel is conveniently located right off of I-26 and is surrounded by lots of stores, restaurants and shopping areas.

The room itself was clean and comfortable, our King size bed was just right, cable TV and a good sized HD TV worked perfectly. Air conditioning worked good. Nice shower with plenty of towels and the young lady cleaned our room and gave us all new fresh towels the following morning...etc.

The hotel staff made a great effort to be courteous and friendly and I thought they were very pleasant!! Kudos to them.

We ate the breakfast buffet at the hotel one morning. Nothing fancy at all, but a nice selection. The food was pretty good --grits, scrambled eggs, pancakes, bacon, sausage, muffins, cereal, orange juice, hashbrowns, oatmeal and coffee....

Nice pool area....with a pool table too. Fitness room was good.

Negatives:

The hotel is an older hotel. There is a scent in some parts of it and the neighborhood is questionable though I didn't see a lot of riff raff at all.

The ONE icemaker was broken and we ended up having to go to a convenient store for ice. Luckily, that store is within walking distance of the hotel.

About the coffee at breakfast, When my wife got a cup, it wasn't fresh. It was actually nasty. The server guy saw my wife get that old stale coffee but didn't say anything. A little while later, another couple came in and they were going to get coffee. He greeted THEM and said "you don't have to get that coffee, you can have a seat and I will bring you some coffee". Needless to say, my wife felt slighted and somewhat offended. It was probably innocent and unintentional....but, it DID happen. Since she was unhappy, I had to mention it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GASharp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.4 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Convention Center
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport Con...
#28 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 818 reviews
2.0 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#27 of 58 in North Charleston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Quality Inn Coliseum
Quality Inn Coliseum
#43 of 58 in North Charleston
3.0 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
2.0 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#11 of 58 in North Charleston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #42 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Charleston Airport
Radisson North Charleston
North Charleston Radisson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing