We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traumatic Experience!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Charleston Airport Hotel
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Traumatic Experience!!”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

I would like to warn all travelers considering staying at this facility. I was in town for the CooperRiver Run on 4/5/14. My neighbor were lying in bed in rm 412 when she heard a loud knock on the door. She asks if that was at our door? I said no. As I was speaking she saw a light come through the door, lo and behold a man was coming into our room. Only after we started to scream, did he leave. We called to the desk and requested another room. We were told they were full and could not accommodate us. There was no security, no police was called. Only after we insisted did get an incident report. To add insult to injury we were given a bill the next morning. Again only after we insisted on a credit did we get one. Stay here at your own risk!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

586 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    112
    107
    148
    128
See reviews for
191
157
37
103
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Belton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My husband and I, along with another couple booked a park and cruise package. The rates were very affordable. I was hesitant at first to stay, but I did. I will say the sleep number beds don't work. Our bed was horrible. After making a complaint, we were moved to a better room. We were very satisfied with the second room. Overall, I would stay at this hotel again because the service was awesome!!!!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tykia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laura L, Guest Relations Manager at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. We're so glad you enjoyed the hotel, and especially pleased to hear you experienced awesome service throughout your stay. I would like to apologize for the sleep number bed that was not working and please know that your feedback is greatly appreciated and your comment have been passed on to our maintenance department to ensure this issue is remedied in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The room was half-fast renovated, but okay by first glance. The bathroom had a hole in the ceiling with a trash bag stuffed in it. My two year old was exploring and found a dirty sock, a hair tie, an atm card, and two disposable coffee cups. After walking around, the bottoms of our feet were black. It is not in a good area of town.. Thankfully it was only one night because that was one of the worst hotels I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ChanellH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
We are sorry you were not satisfied with the condition of your room, including the hole in the bathroom and general lack of housekeeping. We will discuss the conditions of your room with our staff to ensure all guest rooms are up to Radisson standards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014

On a recent trip to Charleston, I was surprised how expensive the hotels were downtown. After refusing to pay 200+ for a downtown hotel, I decided to use a third party booker where you name your own price. After a 99 bid was accepted, i was excited until i read the reviews here. i almost went into panic mode.

In all honesty, i was expecting the worst. The location is okay, very convenient to the interstate and just a few minutes away from plenty of dining choices and no more than 10-15 away from downtown during non rush hour times.

Upon checking in, we were pleasantly surprised with a nice clean room. It had definitely been renovated, and had 'hampton-esque' qualities. If you are in town and need a 'cheaper option' or a convenient airport location, i would have no problem reccomending this.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Noahparsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Myrtle Beach, SC
1 review
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

Dont listen to the horror stories. Its a nice hotel. Does it fit the Raddison brand? Thats up for discussion. But the rooms were clean, staff were polite and everything worked. I had a good experience. Only complaint was that the walls are thin that you can hear people walking down the hallway when they are loud. Cant beat it for the price.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank BigMike497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Matthews, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

I checked in at around 10pm and realized that our room had feather bedding. (My son is extremely allergic) I called the front desk to get different bedding and was told "sorry, we don't have any non-feather bedding." Really?? My son had to sleep with bathroom towels for covers. I will never stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
We are sorry to hear you did not have a good night’s sleep due to the bedding. We know a good night’s rest is very important. Thank you for taking the time to reach out to us and we hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

I am a flight crew member who regularly stays at this hotel (not by choice) and it is nothing short of awful.
The hotel is extremely dated and in a sketchy neighborhood (shares a parking lot with a pawn shop and gas station). When you walk down the halls, you will also smell a very unusual smell which I am unable to describe.
Although the hotel is a quick 10-15 minute drive to the hotel, the van service is highly unreliable and customer service is nil. I had to go back down to the service desk twice because my room keys didn't work and another time because I was given a room that was not cleaned.
If you decide to stay here, please remember to bring a backup alarm clock if needed because although there are two phones are in the room, they are for decoration only....neither worked.
I would highly suggest paying a couple extra dollars for a much better upgrade as this place is just plain awful.

Room Tip: GO to another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Payton V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarlsonRezidor, Online Customer Support at Charleston Airport Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We take pride in our “Yes I Can!” culture and do apologize that you did not receive this level of service. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments, so we can continually improve our services in regards to the room keys and phones not working. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Charleston hotels
2.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North Charleston - Convention Center
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel North...
#2 of 58 in North Charleston
289 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Airport
Hilton Garden Inn Charleston Air...
#6 of 58 in North Charleston
886 reviews
2.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charleston Airport/Convention Center
Fairfield Inn & Suites Charlesto...
#8 of 58 in North Charleston
433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Courtyard North Charleston Airport/Coliseum
Courtyard North Charleston Airpo...
#29 of 58 in North Charleston
185 reviews
2.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & Suites
Best Western Plus Airport Inn & ...
#26 of 58 in North Charleston
396 reviews
2.8 mi away
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport / Convention Center
Home2 Suites Charleston Airport ...
#13 of 58 in North Charleston
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Charleston Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Charleston Airport Hotel

Property: Charleston Airport Hotel
Address: 5991 Rivers Avenue, North Charleston, SC 29406 (Formerly Radisson Hotel Charleston Airport)
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Charleston
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 58 Hotels in North Charleston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Charleston Airport Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 159
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
LOCATION Conveniently located just off I-26, the main route into Charleston, at the corner of Rivers Avenue and East Aviation Ave. Hotel is two miles from Charleston International Airport, 1 mile from I-526, ten minutes from Charleston historic district and downtown Summersville, twenty minutes from area beaches, five minutes from the Charleston Convention Center, Coliseum & Performing Arts Center, 2 miles from the Charleston Air Force base and is just a short drive to the Naval Weapons Station and several business centers. GUEST ROOMS The Charleston Airport Hotel is a full-service hotel, offering 159 guest rooms, each comfortably furnished to ensure a quiet, relaxing stay for the business and leisure traveler. Each room features a coffee maker, remote controlled cable television, in-room movies, high speed internet, work desk, sitting area, full size iron/board, microwave (upon request), refrigerator (upon request) and hairdryer. EVENT FACILITIES The hotel features six meeting/banquet rooms with over 8,000 square feet of event space, accommodating groups from 10-400. Each meeting/banquet room is equipped with high-speed Internet access, light dimmers and individually controlled heating and air conditioning systems. A variety of catering services is offered to suit any occasion. From banquets and receptions to breakfasts and luncheons, our professional staff provides personalized service to handle every detail. RESTAURANT The Haven Restaurant offers Low Country cuisine from 6:00 am - 10:00 am and dinner 5:30 pm to 10 pm. Room service is also available. LOUNGE Haven cocktail lounge, open 4:00 pm - 10:pm am, is a popular after hours gathering place. AMENITIES The Charleston Airport Hotel features are variety of amenities to please any guest including: same day laundry, laundry machines, ample free parking, on-site fitness center, heated indoor pool, and whirlpool. AREA ACTIVITES Tennis courts and championship golf courses are nearby. Fort Sumter, Patriots Point, Tanger Outlets, plantations, gardens, beaches, parks, shopping, the Battery, and the historic district are just minutes away. TRANSPORTATION Complimentary airport shuttle service is provided 6am to 11pm, seven days a week. Transportation to North Charleston's Visitor Center is provided at a small fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Charleston Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing