We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Exceptionally good hotel at very modest price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 53 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Exceptionally good hotel at very modest price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

I live in Los Angeles. I stayed at this hotel for three nights in October, 2011. Exceptionally good hotel for $44 per night. Room has refrigerator and microwave and free wireless internet. The front desk persons were charming and very helpful. My room was on the 7th floor overlooking the ocean.

Hotel has great indoor and outdoor pools and jacuzzis, and an indoor spa and exercise room. Parking is free. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.

One reviewer said this is a great hotel for reunions. That is true. There was a large family reunion on that weekend and the persons I encountered on the elevator were having a great weekend.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BigAL90275
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

515 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    120
    168
    101
    60
    66
See reviews for
156
157
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Thomasville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2011

We are here for the third time this year. Although there is some remodeling going on now, it shows they keep this place in great condition. The amenities are awesome and the staff is excellent. I would reccomend this to anyone with one exception, Memorial Day Week. This is Black Bike Week and the noise in all of Myrtle Beach will ruin your stay....

Room Tip: Higher floors are more quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jcthomasville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasant Garden
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2011

Pine Forest has used this resort several times for reunions and it is FANTASTIC.gREAT LOCATION AND GREAT STAFF AND FACILITIES.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sharon60845
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neuoetting
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2011

October 14th 2011. 3 nights - please read until the end!
First encounter on the phone:
I booked our hotel from Germany per phone, the Internet website not working. The person taking my call was competent and nice. As I didn´t get a confirmtion per mail within 3 days, which is def. unusual, I called again to check. The female person on the phone wasn´t especially nice as I explained the problem, the answer was: what do you want me to do now? I did find that sentence hard, as I would expect someone to check if my mail adress was correct..etc. But never mind , I though she had a bad day, could happen.
Check-in:
very inpersonnal, quick quick, sort of disturbing the employee (young female). We were not explained the hotel (amenities, etc) or given any informations about the running of the hotel (breakfast time, opening of the coffee shop etc.). The hotel has a free Wifi, there again, no information. I went back to the reception, remenbering this detail, and only then, was I given an information sheet with the Wifi code on it (the older lady was nice).
Hotel amenities:
We walked around the hotel to see what was offered, we had the feeling, all was shut. October isn´t full season, one understand a beach bar being shut, but not the entire amenities of the hotel. For exemple the acces to the swimmingpool or beach for that matter which is normally possible from the lobby. This was blocked by two huge plants. We had to walk around the hotel to get to the beach (informations on check-in would have avoided this), coffee shop shut. And all this without any informations.
Location:
great, and that is what this hotel is living on, its location, the rest is very questionable.
This is an older hotel. the oceanfront view rooms (queen beds) are relativaly small, the kitchenette has seen better days, but all funktions. We stayed at Myrtle Beach in other condos, and the amenities for the kitchen was better, but for the price, one has to say, it was ok. 2 persons occupation, 2 glasses, 2 plates, nothing more and nothing less.
BUT THE ROOMS ARE LOUD THROUH A/C in rooms and roof !!!!
If you decide to stay in this hotel, only on the lower floors (which might be loud thourgh the beach bars!!!). The A/C in each room is so loud that you think of sitting in an engine room of a boat! TOP FLOORS are even worse because of all the A/C unit of the hotel are on the roof, so you have the low frequence: BBBBBBBBBBRRRRRRR!
The fan in the bedroom cannot be switched off (in our room was so, 12th floor).
We ask to move, the man who came to check on our problem, was extremly nice (the only nice person we met), he tried his best, but couldn´t find an alternativ for us for the 3 nights, without having to move every night. He really tried, but we decided to check out the next morning.
HOTEL REACTION TO EARLY CHECK-OUT:
this was the worst treatment I have ever had on a reception desk. As a travel agent, I have resided in hotels from no star to 5 stars and I am very aware as to what staff can do or how they should react when not all goes well.
I wanted a refund on the 2 nights we wouldn´t stay in the hotel, a very arrogant female staff told me in one sentence: We do not give refund on early check-out. So I explained the problem of the night before, told her that a solution couldn´t be found for us,, the man from the night before had tried...etc etc. very cold, she informed me that there isn´te record of the happenings and only the manager could decide. I asked her to contact the person we had seen the night before or the manager or whoever. If a Ocean front room had been found on the lower floors for us, we would have taken it. She went, and came back we a piece of paper in her hands, which she presented me with one sentence: This is your refund, please sign here. No sorry, no smile, nothing. We felt like we were in the wrong, which wasn´t the case.
END OF STORY:
if you want to have what a hotel is supposed to provide you: relaxation, good service and amenities: book another hotel.
Note: This is the first time ever I write a report on a hotel, never before have I done so, knowing that one experience doesn´t or cannot tell all. But this was important to me to set the things clear about this hotel.

Room Tip: Ocean front efficiency room: only lower floors, maybe less A/C unit noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Odile R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

Saratoga, NY, USA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

We stayed for 3 nights in October for $44/night. Wow!. The hotel is right on the water, and I believe every room has an ocean view and a balcony.

Our room was not huge -- but adequate with 2 double beds. It was clean and well maintained. In fact everything that we saw at the hotel was clean and well maintained. We used the pools -- both indoor and outdoor -- and loved the easy access to the beach.

We stayed on the 12th floor (top floor),and really appreciated the speed of the elevators. The hotel was completely full on Friday and Saturday night, but we still never waited long for an elevator and never had to "crowd" into one.

We walked to several nearby restaurants -- but cannot comment on the hotel restaurant, since we didn't eat there.

Room Tip: Next time, I'd pay a few more dollars to get a room whose balcony directly faces the ocean. I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BenThereToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level Contributor
57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

of when you go here. During SOS, which is in mid April and Mid Sept, they jack up the rates and the place and nearby restaurants and bars are packed. The hotel is ok. But, parking can be a problem as they do not enforce the parking and allow anyone to park at the hotel. No restaurant at the hotel. But, there is a snack bar and a breakfast place. Good place to dance as they have several dance rooms here.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank patch111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Castle, Virginia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2011

This is an all-round great place to stay when at North Myrtle Beach. It is clean, reasonably quiet, and in a great location. The staff is very nice and helpful, the rooms well-kept, the pools clean and the grounds and common areas attractive. The elevators were fast and not overcrowded at any time,even on the week-end. Love this hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms during this and past stays have been great, can't go wrong.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TwoTravelers069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach Resort
BEST WESTERN Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,364 reviews
0.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#4 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,140 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#5 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,196 reviews
1.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#14 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.3 mi away
Peppertree by the Sea
Peppertree by the Sea
#42 of 53 in North Myrtle Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 98 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3046
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Resort
Ocean Drive Beach Golf
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Resort North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Myrtle
Ocean Drive Beach Hotel North Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing