We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not as bad as these reviews make it seem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Ranked #17 of 52 Hotels in North Myrtle Beach
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not as bad as these reviews make it seem”
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I stay over 100 nights/ year in hotels across the country, so I'm a bit of a snob. Hubby booked this as a surprise and I was worried.

I was pleasantly surprised. Yes, beds are FIRM, but we both found them VERY comfortable. Room was immaculate, staff was pleasant, balcony was large, pool and lazy river were clean.

The bad- parking is a nightmare and the walls are a little thin. But I'd come back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Margarita912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

543 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    177
    106
    64
    70
See reviews for
173
163
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

This place has a great location but that is where it ends. Starting with check in, not overly friendly and actually irritated that I made the reservation through Expedia. Room was clean with out dated furniture and 2 of the worst mattresses ever. The heat didn't work properly (I had to sleep with a sweater on) and the walls are paper thin. At 4 am I heard every moan from a couple on the other side, not exactly what you would expect from a hotel that also has several dance floors and live bands. There is no late check out EVER! Everything in this hotel could use a face lift! Go to another hotel to sleep, meet your friends and dance here and then run away quickly!

Room Tip: There are no "good rooms". Ask for ocean front, no higher than 3rd floor if you must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Rondella1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Myrtle Beach hotels

King, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I was here the weekend of Jan. 10-12, 2014. I stayed here years ago, but never again. Regarding the amenities: no sauna (they are taking it out I was told), the jets on the Jacuzzi didn't work (the button to turn them on was removed) No late checkout so you can forget that (and this is the dead of winter and the place wasn't 1/4 full) Someone had set off firecrackers two floors above us and when I called the front desk, it was just blown off. EXTREMELY loud noise coming from outside workers 24/7. Please don't waste your money.

Room Tip: There are far better places to stay in NMB. OD Resort used to be one of them, but no more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mylizzielou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

Spent New Year at this Hotel and have never paid money to be tortured by such a sorry mattress! We were there with 3 other couples rented 4 rooms and all mattresses were equally sorry! I think the cots in jail would be more comfortable. Would not stay there again for free.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Julie6148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townville, SC
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Best location of any hotel for SOS week, but thats pretty much it. Not a bad hotel but also not a great hotel. The pools were dirty. The rooms were very clean. The front desk staff wasn't overly friendly, but not rude either. We stayed ocean front on the 10th floor and the balconies werent priviet at all! You could see everyone on their balcony! I may or may not go back.

Room Tip: probably an oceanfront end room would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janice A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

This shows that you can't believe everything you read when it comes to reviews, which is what I based my decision on to stay here. I was booked for a suite but was first assigned a regular small bedroom. The front desk did make the correction saying they didn't know who noted it incorrectly on the reservation. The walls are thin and the first night we were entertained by the people and all the people they had crammed into their room next to us. In the morning I awoke to the sound of heavy machinery where a pier is going in just outside of the hotel. I can't fault the hotel since I'm sure they aren't responsible for the pier but I wouldn't make a reservation until after the pier is finished if you value your sleep. The beds are FIRM, the room was clean but there are no frills or extras.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chilbolton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Really great room with TV, microwave, toaster, fridge, proper crockery and cutlery and a hair dryer. A very well equipped room with a great view of the ocean and very friendly staff. Excellent stay.

Not so keen on the resort itself. It was a bit tacky and holiday style - ie: beach ware and t shirt shops everywhere with goofy rubbish trinkets for sale….. seen one shop, you’ve seen them all..!! But, very happy to recommend the hotel itself as a great stay, well equipped hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofisticat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
0.2 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
1.7 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,503 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
2.0 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
151 reviews
10.1 mi away
Ocean Reef Resort
Ocean Reef Resort
#17 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
3,117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort

Property: Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort
Address: 98 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-3046
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Top resorts Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#13 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 179
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Ocean Drive Beach and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Resort
Ocean Drive Beach And Golf Resort North Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Resort Myrtle Beach
Ocean Drive Beach Golf
Ocean Drive Myrtle
Ocean Drive Beach Hotel North Myrtle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing