We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Blockade Runner Motor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Rodeway Inn(North Myrtle Beach)
US$79
RodewayInn
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Avista Resort(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$140
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbourgate Resort & Marina, Oceana Resorts(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$118
US$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$143
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn & Suites(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Prince Resort(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Cove Resort(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$174
US$160
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Seaside(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$145
US$126
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$189
US$168
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort(North Myrtle Beach)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$73
Travelocity
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (169)
Filter reviews
169 results
Traveller rating
100
47
8
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
100
47
8
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscherry grovefirst floorprivate balconiesrooms are cleansmall kitchenetteminor annoyancefamily friendly placecoffee potstaff was friendly and accommodatinghigh risequieter areagrand strandpots pansevery summerbeach viewbed was very comfortablethe kitchen
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
92 - 97 of 169 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous place to visit with your kids! Every member of the staff was friendly and accommodating. All things to do are close by. The room was very clean sand we loved the efficiency so we could cook some meals in! Can't say enough good things!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Stacie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the Blockade Runner from August 2nd-5th, 2014. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check into our room a couple of hours early because it was already ready for us. After an 8 hour drive this was very welcomed news. The rooms are clean, and the kitchen is fully stocked with all the items you need if you plan on cooking. Rooms also have coffee pot, iron and ironing board. We stayed on the 3rd floor, so we had a wonderful view of the beach. Private balcony is nice. Beds are comfortable and clean. We checked out the mattress's we always do at a new place. The rooms are spacious. We had 3 adults, a teenager and two small ones in one room and had no problems being together in the space. We paid a small daily fee for a roll away bed. One aspect I love is that you don't hear noise from the neighbors. We didn't hear conversations or kids running in other rooms or above us. We will definitely stay again. The location is close to the Cherry Grove Pier and other attractions. There is also a washer/dryer located past the office and a pool area. We did not eat at the Cafe located on the property but heard good things about it. The cleaning staff are so super nice and they do a great job keeping the rooms clean and smelling good.

Room Tip: If you want a good ocean view request a room on the 3rd, 4th or 5th floors. The lower floors have an obstructed view because of the sand dunes.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank littleemilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here and was very happy with our stay. The room was clean and spacious with a sitting area in front of the window so you can watch the ocean. Bed was comfortable and the view of the ocean was amazing from the deck. Would definitely stay here again. The area was away from the congested parts of Myrtle Beach and was very quiet. The price of the room was a great value compared to other hotels in the area.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The price of their rooms is amazing for what you get....several hundred dollars cheaper than those surrounding it or almost anywhere "on the beach"! What a find ! Rooms renovated, clean and newly painted but nothing fancy. Beds softer than used to but comfortable. Pillows great and don't disappear like most hotels. Standard hotel rooms with kitchenettes in some and others just microwave/small refrig. Pool is not right below the building so you don't have the noise like most hotels. Pool is on the side. You had to log in to internet every single time you used it which was a bit of a nuisance. Pool was small but did have a jacuzzi. Easy access to beach with beautiful dunes and landscaping. Chair rentals available on the beach. In quiet area and walking distance to Flounders, Atlantis and Duffy Street Tavern with other restaurants an easy drive on Main Street and Sea Mountain Hwy. IGA food store close by. Very family oriented. They have overflow parking across the street if needed. A small cafe is available downstairs where you can get a very reasonable breakfast or lunch until mid-afternoon and even sit outside in the ocean breeze if you would like. On Thursdays in season, there is a hamburger cookout with music. Since it is a smaller hotel it was much quieter than others that I have stayed at in Myrtle Beach and very peaceful. The balconies are great and come with two chairs. Cannot see the ocean from first or second floors so ask for third, fourth or fifth for great view. Advantage to first floor is that you can walk right out of your door onto the beach in seconds from your patio though. AC is quiet and comfortable. There is a large charcoal grill available to guests with a gazebo and tables. Great place for a family gathering ! We will be back !

Room Tip: 410 is a great room. If you want an ocean view, be sure to ask for rooms above the second floor. No pool below you like some hotels so don't have any noise problem. Pool on the side.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank buckeyes46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

A unique hotel in a quieter part of North Myrtle Beach. The hotel has been there many, many years and the owners have done a wonderful job keeping the original look while at the same time modernizing the hotel. The property is well landscaped and very attractive with blooming flowers, palm trees, and lots of lush greenery. It sits directly on the ocean so every room faces the beach and the surf. Rooms are a generous size, nicely furnished with very comfortable beds, and clean. There is a small pool, children's pool, and hot tub in a gated area beside the hotel, and for wheelchair guests, there is a lift so they can enter and exit the main pool. Staff are friendly and welcoming. There is also a small restaurant offering breakfast, lunch, snacks on site as well as an outdoor bar. This small hotel has five stories. Those on the first floor do not have a view of the beach or ocean but step out to a beautifully maintained "backyard" only steps away from the walkway to the beach. There are towels available for pool and beach use as well as a shower and foot shower for the sandy bodies and feet. This hotel has something special that no flashy, high-rise, multimillion dollar hotel on the entire strand can match. And...their rates are very reasonable.

Room Tip: For a view of the beach and ocean you need to have a room on 2-5 floors. All rooms have a nice balcony and for those on the first floor, a porch and a huge green lawn with chairs and tables.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NCCUfootballmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews