We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ocean front motel!”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blockade Runner Motor Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

We have stayed at the Blockade Runner for years and everytime we go its like visiting family! All of the rooms are ocean front with a balcony. The rates are very reasonable for an ocean front property, the staff is always super nice and accommodating. We like to second floor, but the higher floors have a better ocean view. There is a restaurant in the lobby area that serves breakfast and lunch that is convenient. Even though it is an older motel, the rooms and property have been updated and are always well maintained.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank MCCLAJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed in an efficiency on the 3rd floor. Clean room, steps to the beach, courteous staff, cute restaurant, great view, close to everything and great rates!!! We will definitely return!! Loved our stay here. What a great find!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Lsmith2172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

For those of us who grew up during the heyday of Ocean Drive/Cherry Grove Beaches in SC, the Blockade Runner has a special place in our hearts. A reasonably priced hotel on the ocean front, the Blockade Runner must be about 50 or more years old, yet it has been updated so the rooms are as nice or nicer than many, many "showplaces" at larger Myrtle Beach. Probably more because of age, the rooms are larger, more spacious than many newer hotels. We had a room on the second floor with a small but adequate balcony that overlooked the ocean and provided a great place to enjoy morning coffee. The restaurant open for breakfast and lunch only was reasonably priced and had a great breakfast, the only meal we ate there. I noticed others' comments on the friendliness of the staff - total agreement there!
Only drawback I see for fall and winter is the only pool is outdoors; I will go back this fall, but it would be nice to have an enclosure for winter. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay there - only wish it had been longer!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank HaveFun2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014 via mobile

We came for a family mini vacation. We wanted something reasonable and comfortable for a family of four. Our rooms was very spacious and our view from the 5th floor was perfect! We had ocean view!
I love that there are two sinks so when someone is getting ready the other one can take a shower. We love the AC! Perfect temperature. The only thing that can improve is the bathroom. We need a vent for the bathroom and the tile can be replaced. The white tile is dated but you have beautiful granite counter tops. If I come back to North Myrtle Beach, I will support the local economy by staying here again.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank dedogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

I made these reservations at almost the last minute to attend a wedding. Our family had already taken our annual beach trip so funds were limited. From the time the reservation was made until we checked out, I was totally amazed at how friendly and kind the entire staff was.

Because of the price (far lower than the $200-400/night at the surrounding hotels) I was expecting the worst. I was so incredibly surprised and blessed to find an older building that was very clean, updated decor and the beds appeared to be brand new! The service staff was friendly and helpful as well. This is forever my "go-to" motel in North Myrtle!!

Did I mention the rooms are ALL OCEANFRONT! We asked for the 5th floor, no one above us to make noise and all we could hear from our balcony was the ocean. Plenty of parking and the wi-fi was free and we had great service!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room above the second floor so you don't get the noise from people going to an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

What a fabulous place to visit with your kids! Every member of the staff was friendly and accommodating. All things to do are close by. The room was very clean sand we loved the efficiency so we could cook some meals in! Can't say enough good things!!!

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
2  Thank Stacie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

My family and I stayed at the Blockade Runner from August 2nd-5th, 2014. The staff are so friendly and helpful. We were allowed to check into our room a couple of hours early because it was already ready for us. After an 8 hour drive this was very welcomed news. The rooms are clean, and the kitchen is fully stocked with all the items you need if you plan on cooking. Rooms also have coffee pot, iron and ironing board. We stayed on the 3rd floor, so we had a wonderful view of the beach. Private balcony is nice. Beds are comfortable and clean. We checked out the mattress's we always do at a new place. The rooms are spacious. We had 3 adults, a teenager and two small ones in one room and had no problems being together in the space. We paid a small daily fee for a roll away bed. One aspect I love is that you don't hear noise from the neighbors. We didn't hear conversations or kids running in other rooms or above us. We will definitely stay again. The location is close to the Cherry Grove Pier and other attractions. There is also a washer/dryer located past the office and a pool area. We did not eat at the Cafe located on the property but heard good things about it. The cleaning staff are so super nice and they do a great job keeping the rooms clean and smelling good.

Room Tip: If you want a good ocean view request a room on the 3rd, 4th or 5th floors. The lower floors have an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank littleemilou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
3.2 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,646 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Prince Resort
The Prince Resort
#3 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,245 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#6 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,317 reviews
1.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#12 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
156 reviews
5.7 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blockade Runner Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blockade Runner Motor Inn

Address: 1910 N Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-2747
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
#9 On the Beach Hotel in North Myrtle Beach
Number of rooms: 72
Also Known As:
Blockade Runner Motor Hotel North Myrtle Beach
Blockade Runner Hotel
Blockade Runner North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing