We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing Special..Pretty Average”
Review of Blue Water Keyes

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Blue Water Keyes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Stayed in PH7 from 08/31-09/07 and we've been coming to MB for years. This condo wasn't the cleanest when we arrived (ie. sinks needed bleached and scrubbed, sandy and sticky floors, etc.). The response is they generally sub-contract their cleaning so Condolux cannot be responsible, so there really isn't any point in complaining. With a bit of elbow-grease, we felt more comfortable. The furniture was well-worn (ie. tears and ripped, etc.) and rather uncomfortable. Wifi service was extremely spotty and unusually slow. The other group in our party stayed in PH 15 and paid a bit more, but got a much nicer condo. Unlike our PH7, PH15 was fully-carpeted and decorated therefore the condo did not have a loud echo from noise. Make sure to request more towels when you arrive since we rec'd 8, smallish-sized towels that felt like sandpaper to dry off with. Housekeeping brought more towels the next morning. Also, we were told there would be a kiddie pool and adult-sized pool on the 6th floor. Both were said to be closed for the season the week before we arrived. This was not reported when we booked our stay in March 2013. Overall, it was a relatively average condo. Not the best, but not the worst we've seen.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Beckie1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

First off, I'd like to thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your experience with CondoLux Vacation Rentals and Blue Water Keyes Resort.

Although we do sub-contract our cleaning services, we do accept full responsibility and accountability for the quality of the service the cleaning companies provide. If the cleanliness of the unit didn't meet your expectations -- then it didn't meet our expectations. I wish you would have contacted us about this issue, as we would have promptly sent someone out to correct it.

Also, I am sorry to hear about your issue with the 6th floor amenities. I'd like to clarify that CondoLux is not responsible for the on-site amenities at Blue Water Keyes, and we are at the mercy of the HOA to relay important information about maintenance schedules for on-site amenities. Our company was not notified about the maintenance of the 6th floor amenities until well after March, which is why you weren't notified about the change.

With that being said, we should have pro-actively updated you about the status change of the on-site amenities once we were notified, and for that - we sincerely apologize.

CondoLux will continue to use feedback from our guests to improve the quality of service we provide, and thank you for voicing your opinion. We hope to see you at the beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (66)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 66 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2013

We have stayed in North Myrtle Beach for the past 3 years-- at Crescent Shores, Crescent Keyes & now Blue Water Keyes. I have been greatly impressed with all 3 places. I'm very picky about where we stay so I always view photos & reviews before booking. I could tell online that Unit 603 was beautiful, and it did not disappoint. This 3 bedroom, 3 bath condo is perfect. Everything looks like it has been very well cared for, is clean, and like new. I would definitely recommend this condo to anyone looking for a condo in North Myrtle Beach. As for complaints that I have read about Blue Water Keyes, we did not have any issues at all-- there was never a wait for the elevator (in fact we were almost always on it alone), we never had issues with not being able to get a chair at the pool, and we saw plenty of maintenance type staff in case we needed anything (which we never did). We did, however, stay at Blue Water Keyes in late August, which I guess would make it less crowded than during June/July. One more thing... this was our 2nd booking through Condolux, and they are FABULOUS!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lora H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

Thank you for the kind comments and we appreciate you taking the time to share your positive experience with others! It was our pleasure to have you and your family as our guests again this year at the beach & we look forward to seeing you again next year :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

This is our second stay at Blue Water Keyes, Unit 703. We were very impressed and pleased in 2011 that we booked the same unit in 2013. While the unit is still nice-- beautifully decorated- think British Colonial tropical chic, not flip-flop paintings and typical white wicker. The first time we had a great time and this time, we wanted to leave early. I'll break it down in pros/cons.
Pros:
Unit is nicely decorated, was clean upon arrival and nicely stocked with kitchen ware and towels. Good location, nice beach area and plenty of parking
Cons:
WiFi is very slow and spotty.
People smoking on the balcony. Smoking isn't allowed in the units so there is smoking on balconies. Every time we sat outside on our balcony, someone was smoking on their balcony. Every. Single. Time. We couldn't enjoy sitting outside at all.
The carpet in the unit could use cleaning.
Because there is minimal management presence on site, the pool is a free-for all. Pool opens at 9 and by 9:30 there are towels and bags at every lounge chair being saved. Ridiculous. Smoking, a radio blaring... by 3pm it was like a public pool.
The building is looking a little worn and could use some cleaning (stucco is dirty/moldy in areas), exercise equipment a bit old.
This experience was bad enough that we won't return. How disappointing to pay for oceanfront views and balconies, only to not be able to enjoy it because of smoking.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KParrishVa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Blue Water Keyes. Unit 703, where you stayed is managed by Condo-World and I am very sorry to hear you had a poor experience with them. However, we will take the issues you had with the building, and forward them to the HOA, which manages the building. Blue Water Keyes is one of the more popular buildings in the North Myrtle Beach area, and we want to make sure everyone who stays there, has a positive experience! We hope you will give Blue Water Keyes another chance, we will save you a spot on the beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Just stayed at PH3 Unit in Blue Water Keyes. Our visit started with very dirty condo. The tile floor which is in the entire condo was filthy and not cleaned. There was hair on each of the beds in each room. Film on the kitchen counters and bathroom and hair on bathroom sinks. This is the second time this has happened when we have rented through Condolux. The housekeeping supervisor sent out 3 people to clean within an hour and half, the one cleaning person joked about the hair on my mom's bed and said one of his could be left behind.. Not funny or appropiate. Also, the dishwasher was broken a service person came out to fix it but couldnt. Condo-lux was unable to get there service company to look at it all week long.... very disappointing. didnt travel 12 hours to wash my own dishes all week. The Owners of PH3 in Blue water keyes need to update- very small couch, creeky beds, water stains on wall and one toilet ran all week. Wouldn't recommend this unit and we will not rent from Condo lux again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2013

I'm disappointed to hear that you had a least than pleasant experience with us during your stay. I assure you - this is not common practice with CondoLux, as over 80% of our guests are repeat customers who've stayed with us multiple times.

Unfortunately, the issues you referred to regarding the on-site amenities and the smoking policy are handled by the Home Owners Association. However, I will be forwarding your comments directly to the HOA president.

Although you did experience a few minor issues during your stay with us, I hope we are able to earn your trust and business again in the future & thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in a unit on the 8th floor at Blue Water Keyes. Had to go to an office first to get the keys for the condo down the road. The exterior didnt look nice or welcoming. From the beach, you could see the balconies rusting.The unit was a nice size and newer. However, each room had only one bed!! There was lots of paint chipping and dirt and filth behind and near the beds. Wasn't properly swept. One of the bathrooms had a rusting light fixture and a large hair on the sink. The tile grout needed cleaned. This place is dead!! The 6th floor pools were "closed for the season" according to the sign. WHAT?!! The elevators took forever even though there is like no one here. I know why now!! The outdoor pool was tiny and so was the lazy river. There were KIDS OUT OF CONTROL in the lazy river!! Jumping in on rafts, screaming, making waves, hanging rafts on palm trees!!! There's also no seating except for two tables and a few lounge chairs. Baby pool was gross. Only two hot tubs outside. The indoor pool was freezing cold and small. With ONE table!! Not to mention smokers everywhere and cigarettes in the lazy river. The one man who worked there just checked for wrist bands the whole time. Public restroom floors were slippery the whole time. I WILL NEVER STAY HERE AGAIN!!! ESPECIALLY FOR $2400!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travellover43952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to voice your concerns, I'm sorry to hear you had a less than positive experience at Blue Water Keyes. Our records indicate you were not one of our guests, and we have no record of any issues of this nature being reported to us. It is possible you stayed with another company and reported your issues with them, however we will also forward your concerns with the building to the HOA of Blue Water Keyes. We have been notified of the 6th floor amenities being shut down, and no longer advertise this as an amenity. Despite the 6th floor amenities being closed, Blue Water Keyes still remains one of the best choices in accommodations for the area, and we want everyone who stays there to have a positive experience, we hope you give Blue Water Keyes another chance in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We rented Ph16 at Blue Water Keyes condos in North Myrtle Beach for one week in August. It is a very nice two bedroom condo in a well maintained building. Our unit was on the 14th floor and overlooked the beach from the south side of the building.

The kitchen was well equipped and the unit was a good size and nicely furnished. We enjoyed being right on the beach and we also made good use of the ocean front pool, lazy river and hot tubs. The pool area was busy at times but never got over crowded and we were always able to get a seat by the pool.

Although Myrtle Beach is not a very walkable community we liked that at Blue Water Keyes we could walk to a nice mini putt, a few beachware stores, an ice cream stand, parasailing and an ocean front pub.

We found this rental on VRBO and the property management company, Owner Direct Vacation Rentals, was professional, friendly and easy to deal with.

The only things this unit did not have that we would have liked was a dining table on the balcony and a place for outdoor grilling. The listing did not say these were available so we can't complain.

I would definitely recommend this unit at Blue Water Keyes to a family looking for a relaxing place at the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ottawa_Family_2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2013

We're excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay in North Myrtle Beach as well as the experience you had with Blue Water Keyes. We look forward to seeing you at the beach again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We stayed in PH-8. It had a great view of the ocean and the city at night. I spotted a lighthouse by the North Myrtle Beach water tower off of the balcony. The recliner was awesome. We were disappointed when we found no stake knives, 1 pot for cooking, the master balcony door DOES NOT LOCK! We called about the knives and the door but no one came after 3 days. Other than that, it was a good stay. It was a good location and not far from stores and restaurants. For a pent house pricing the unit should be more well " equipped". We booked though "condolux".

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bugman721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CondoLux-Rentals, Guest Relations Manager at Blue Water Keyes, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience with CondoLux and Blue Water Keyes PH 8. I want to assure you that each and every minor issue you've mentioned has been addressed and corrected since the time of your departure. Also, I would like to apologize that our response time to your concerns was unsatisfactory. We will continue to use the feedback we receive from our guests to improve the product and service we offer to our future and repeat guests. Again, thank you for choosing to stay with us - and we look forward to earning your business again in the near future. Until then, we'll save a spot on the beach for you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these North Myrtle Beach hotels
2.3 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#2 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,356 reviews
4.5 mi away
La Dolce Vita Villas
La Dolce Vita Villas
#1 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
242 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seaside
Seaside
#14 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Atlantic Breeze Ocean Resort, Oceana Resorts
Atlantic Breeze Ocean Resort, Oc...
#3 of 42 in North Myrtle Beach
851 reviews
2.1 mi away
North Beach Plantation
North Beach Plantation
#1 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,757 reviews
0.4 mi away
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach Resort
Best Western Ocean Sands Beach R...
#4 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
1,672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Water Keyes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Water Keyes

Address: 2001 S Ocean Blvd, North Myrtle Beach, SC
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 42 Speciality Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range: £135 - £232 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Blue Water Keyes 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Blue Water Keyes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Water Keyes Hotel North Myrtle Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing