We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a joke”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in North Myrtle Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Barefoot Resort North Tower
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a joke”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

The pictures of the outside of the resort are great. But that is the only thing good about this resort.
In fact they shouldn't use the term (RESORT). The room is a 2.5-3 star at its best. There is no customer service. Bad service would be a step up. We made arrangement for 10 days. We hoped to get out of the last 3 days at least , sorry no chance. The beds are 2 star hotel beds. No small refrig. No microwave. Management is not on site, you have to drive to go talk to them. This has been the worst stay we have experienced in probably 20 yrs. FYI , we have never given a review like this. But this place deserves this and more.

Room Tip: If you stay more than 4days you might need a room with a washer and dryer, since management does not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jc K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barefoot V, Manager at Barefoot Resort North Tower, responded to this review, 11 April 2015
Thank you for your review. Unfortunately the unit you describe is not one that is offered at the North Tower at Barefoot Resort, so we feel that you may be off in your criticism. All units at the North Tower are three or four bedroom condos with fully-equipped kitchens and they would all have the items that you indicated were missing. If you booked through a third-party it is possible that you may not have been given the most accurate information on what you were reserving. We would love to have you back for a future stay and if you were to reserve direct through our agency I'm confident that we will provide you with a top-notch vacation experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    4
    2
    5
    1
See reviews for
14
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was a terrible "resort" . Stayed from 7/21-7/24. One of the bedrooms was locked which I believe was the master bedroom.

Two bedrooms had an adjoining toilet/ bath. The dumpster was located right beside the bedroom and when you went out to sit on the balcony facing the packing lot it absolutely stunk! The noise form the dumpster outside being emptied could be heard all over the condo. The washer and drier smelt of sewage, and sometimes the same smell could be perceived when the dishwasher was on.

This was definitely not what I expected , extremely disappointed would never stay here again.

The pool was nothing like what was in the photos. The photos looked much better.

It is definitely not worth what we paid for it. For $500 more we could have stayed at north beach plantation which would have been much better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gjaoa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barefoot V, Manager at Barefoot Resort North Tower, responded to this review, 11 April 2015
Thank you for your review. We're sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay at the North Tower. Unfortunately trash removal is something that must be done to ensure the property is in good working order but I'm sorry that it interfered with your stay. After reviewing your reservation it does not appear the issues you mentioned regarding the washer/dryer and dishwasher were never reported to us. The only concern listed as being reported was regarding a crack in the microwave. If the problems you encountered were reported to us we certainly would have dispatched maintenance personnel to remedy the situation, but if we are not notified of a problem it is tough for us to fix it. Regardless, we are sorry that your expectations were not met and we hope that we are able to provide you with a better experience in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

My mother and her husband rented a condo in the North Tower for all of February 2014... I visited for the last full week of February. We were on the 5th floor, to be honest I don't remember the unit number but it was a 3 bedroom, 3 bathroom, absolutely beautiful unit.

The building was very secure, with keypad entry for the parking lot. There were 4 elevators for the building, which was convenient because it meant you never had to wait for one more than 30 seconds or so. Everything from the hallways to the landscaping outside to the pool area were perfectly maintained and there were staff working on things daily to ensure it was perfect.

The view was great - overlooking the little river and boats and a lift bridge to the far left of the buildings. There was plenty of afternoon sun on the deck and it was a great place to hang out. There was free wifi for the whole building, unsecured, and then our unit had their own secured wifi for our own use. It was nice to have the open wifi while we were down at the pool area.

There is also a hot tub near the pool, but I didn't really use it... the week I was there, it was quite cool.

I would recommend staying at this property to anyone! It wasn't a party environment, definitely more suited to snowbirds but I still had fun (and I'm 30). Plenty of great restaurants a short drive away, lots of bars to go to happy hour at, and enough shopping within a 15 minute radius that you'd have plenty to do if you're there for a week or so.

Loved it! My mom plans on going back again in 2015 and I plan on visiting again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barefoot V, Manager at Barefoot Resort North Tower, responded to this review, 11 April 2015
Thank you so much for the stellar review! We're glad the the waterfront locations and accommodations of the North Tower were perfect for your Grand Strand vacation, and we hope to see you again soon for another fantastic stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The resort grounds were beautiful, and always being maintained..the condo we had was 1009, it had a great view of the Harbour and boats, off in the distance you could see the Atlantic Ocean. There was a balcony off master bedroom that connected to living room balcony, also a balcony
Off the bedroom on the far right of the condo. Master bath was huge had a 2 person jacuzzi tub and separate shower and private toilet...the kitchen was well stocked and very clean as was the entire condo...there were some scuff marks on lower walls from probably suitcases in foyer area..over all nice and clean no mold no Dirt no bugs...also close to house of blues, and other eateries ..

Room Tip: If checking in after 6 you must get keys from rental office lock box, after you come across bridge t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rieanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, New York
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We absolutely loved it. We normally stay in a hotel with a free breakfast when we travel on vacation but this year we traveled together as a group 2 families with kids so we rented a 3 bd 3 bath condo through hotels.com. Unit 808 was perfect. The master bath was so big and the Jacuzzi tub was spectacular. Loved sitting out on the balcony every day to drink my coffee and look out over the harbor. Kitchen could have used some baking dishes and serving bowls, food leftovers storage, but it was fully equipped for the most part and when we figured out we needed a new blender Beach Vacations was right there to deliver us one. Walls near breakfast area had a few paint chips scratches dings from the bar stools scratching walls and the columns in the dining room could have some paint touch ups at the bottom of them. But our overall experience was terrific and I couldn't have asked for a better place to stay for the price we paid. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Loved Unit 808 in the North Tower Best place to watch the fireworks over Barefoot Landing on Monday...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frank-roodfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

Where do I start? We were very disappointed with Barefoot Resort. We stayed at the resort from June 8-15 and were meet with disappointments every day. The condo that we rented through ODVR was actually okay overall very spacious nice layout. So the actual condo was okay. However the property was poorly managed. One of the highlights for us when considering the resort was the huge pool since I am 6 months pregnant, have a 5 year old that loves the pool, and we were traveling with another family with a 9 month old baby. We walked down to the pool the first night only to discover that the pool was going to be closed all day on Monday and Tuesday for repairs. So we thought okay there is the beach cabana and parking for the beach so we will try that. On Monday we drove to the cabana to park because I was not riding a shuttle and trusting a shuttle to pick me up should I get sick while pregnant. We were rudely informed that only owner's could park in the parking area and we couldn't even use the cabana which was advertised. We go back to the resort the staff tells us oh no problem just drive over to Omni and they have something worked out for our guests to use other pools. Wrong again. The Omni said that they didn't have anything worked out. Once again another lie. Finally we found some public parking and stayed on the beach for the 2 days to return to the pool and discover that all they had done was put some tiles in the center that said no furniture allowed. Seriously? This had to be completed during the Summer? Really? It couldn't have been fixed during the winter. Also the bathrooms at the pool were closed for part of the day on Wednesday, water was off for several hours on the 7th floor, they sprayed for pests on Wednesday during our stay, the grass needed to be mowed, the staff was rude, the pool was always filthy, no rules were ever enforced around the pool. We will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Monica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ossipee, New Hampshire
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2013

Beautiful!

To be honest did not use room service or any type of service. BEAUTIFUL condo. Views of the bridge, large pool, yachts and Barefoot Resort was outstanding!!

We have visited MB many times and usually stay oceanfront but it was so chilly this year we backed away a bit from the Ocean, so very happy we did. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank mtngoff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Myrtle Beach
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Myrtle Beach Barefoot Landing
4.6 mi away
Avista Resort
Avista Resort
#5 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,223 reviews
1.1 mi away
Edgewater Inn
Edgewater Inn
#15 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
88 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Center
Bay Watch Resort & Conference Ce...
#7 of 52 in North Myrtle Beach
2,260 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn Myrtle Beach North
Fairfield Inn Myrtle Beach North
#85 of 209 in Myrtle Beach
123 reviews
0.2 mi away
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
Barefoot Resort Yacht Club
#33 of 40 in North Myrtle Beach
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barefoot Resort North Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Resort North Tower

Property: Barefoot Resort North Tower
Address: 4801 Harbor Pointe Dr, North Myrtle Beach, SC 29582-9401
Region: United States > South Carolina > Coastal South Carolina > North Myrtle Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 40 Speciality Lodging in North Myrtle Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barefoot North Tower is a highrise located in Barefoot Resort in North Myrtle Beach featuring 3, and 4 bedroom condos overlooking the IntraCoastal waterway. It is considered among the most luxury resort hotels in North Myrtle Beach. For splendid accommodations in Barefoot Resort, reserve your next stay at the luxurious North Tower. Located waterfront along the Intracoastal Waterway, the modern villas at the North Tower offer relaxing views views. Each unit features a private balcony that overlooks the Barefoot Marina and is sure to be a perfect spot to unwind at the end of a fun-filled day. The villas of the North Tower provide guests with contemporary decoration and more than enough space to accommodate any group size comfortably. Three and four bedroom layouts are available, with the largest condos measuring up to 2,200 square feet. Luxury touches like granite counters, designer decoration, deluxe bedding and plush seating will impress even the most discriminating traveler. All North Tower condos provide standard conveniences like fully-equipped kitchens, washer/dryer combinations, multiple TVs with cable and complimentary WiFi resort-wide. On-site, numerous amenities are available to all guests. Grab a frosty drink or fresh seafood from Dirty Don's Oyster Bar, conveniently located at the Barefoot Marina. Guests also have access to the Jasmine Spa and fitness center, featuring a well-trained staff for massages and beauty treatments. Around the property, basketball and tennis courts are available, and a sand volleyball court is sure to be perfect for friendly competition. Barefoot Resort is also home to four of the finest golf courses along the Grand Strand, featuring design by architects like Pete Dye and Tom Fazio. The Callaway Performance Center is also on property and will help you fine tune your golf game. Finally, guests can enjoy the largest saltwater pool in South Carolina and a soothing outdoor Jacuzzi. Located in scenic North Myrtle Beach, you are only a short drive from the peaceful shoreline and sparkling Atlantic Ocean. Nearby, an abundance of shopping and dining choices are waiting at Barefoot Landing and the Tanger Outlets. All the attractions of the Grand Strand like Broadway at the Beach and the Myrtle Beach Boardwalk reside with a quick commute south. Golfers will be delighted by the over 80 area courses available to tee off on. When planning your next Grand Strand getaway, reserve first-class accommodations at the North Tower and see why guests return to this special place year after year! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing